We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Housekeeping out to get us?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Altona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altona
Ranked #1,391 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Housekeeping out to get us?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

hotel is 15 min walk from gare du nord, if you get the directions right. the room smelt of mould, have to open the windows even though it's cold winter day. wifi is bad in my room (0.3 kps) and was down for an entire day when i was there. the housekeeping is strange - 1st day good. 2nd day bad - no refill of shower gel. 3rd day worst - only 1 badly washed-out big towel for 2 of us. no other towel given. no shower gel refill. no toilet paper refill. what did we do to deserve this?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poh1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    179
    185
    83
    159
See reviews for
177
225
47
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marsascala, Malta
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights, I found the staff very helpful and friendly. the room was really nice and clean.It is conviently located near Gare du Nord and a metro station, that was so useful to get to the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We arrive this hotel at 9.30am from Airport and the hotel let us check in early, the staff who work at the counter is nice and friendly..Say the magic word "Bonjour" and most of french will help you.
Our room located in 3rd floor and room are small but comfortable for 3 people. The room is basic and very good for budget traveler and located near to Barbie station and about 150meter from Ga Du Nord. The bathroom is clean and the hot shower work perfectly. Breakfast that they provide is good with bread,cereal,milk,coffee and tea is acceptable for the price we pay.The free wifi service is good if you stay outside from the room or at the hotel lobby. From this hotel is easy to move around as all the transport is near and from this hotel to Effel Tower take no 30 and stop at Trocadero and Effel Tower just minute away.
Overall we are happy to stay at this hotel, we got what we pay for the price.

Room Tip: To get better wifi ask for 1 & 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmatnajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the Altona Hotel for three nights in early October,although the hotel is in desparate need of updating ,we found it suited our needs perfectly,it was in a really good position about ten minutes walk from the train station and about ten minutes walk to the Montmatre district,there are also plenty of good quality restaurants close by.
On checking in we were greeted by a very pleasant man on reception who couldnt do enough to help us with all our questions,the next day we realised he must have a twin brother as at breakfast he was in the kitchen and 30 seconds later he was on reception as we passed by so yes it was being run by a couple of very helpful brothers.
Our room although quite large for three of us,was very old fashioned and a bit worse for wear but the beds were comfy and after having a very busy day on your feet these were most welcoming.We had a corner room at the back of the hotel it was lovely and quiet at night and a good nights sleep was had by all.Complimentary basic toileteries were also available to us.
Breakfast in the morning was served in the basement of the hotel,it was a basic continental breakfast of croissants and bread rolls brought to you in individual baskets by the lovely lady who seemed to look after the breakfast room,cereals,fruit juices and coffee were all self-service.We found breakfast to be more than adequate for the busy day ahead.
Overall a cheap basic hotel,but what more do you need when you are out from early in the morning until late at night,All three of us had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 4weeksaintenuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

i stayed in this hotel just for one night with a friend and i found the staff really friendly and helpful. The room was really really nice, confortable bed with a little terrace and a very clean bathroom. As a budget hotel i was expecting something completely different but i got a pleasant surprise!
It is conviently located near Gare du Nord and a metro station, that was so useful to get to the city centre.
The breakfast is poor, just bread/ pastries with marmelade and cornflakes but we didn't mind really, we kept light to have a good walk!
Recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

It is what it is, a well located hotel to the station and when we were in Paris for just 30 hours we had to make every second count.
The hotel decor may be a little tired, but you are in Paris get out and walk around enjoy and savour every moment.
The hotel room is clean, the breakfast room is extremely well run by a very cheerful young girl.
I have stayed in way worse hotels in Paris and paid a lot more money for it. I would highly recommend The Hotel Altona for a couple of nights.
The staff at the desk are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the courtyard, no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissElainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grüningen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good located Budget Hotel. It's simple but functional. You have free Wifi and a small TV with a handfull of stations. Personal is friendly and its clean. Breakfast is poor, no protein at all, no joghurt no cheese, no eggs, no meat, just croissants or bread with chocolate/marmelade.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Avenir Hotel
#1,242 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,601 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Nord et Champagne
Hotel Nord et Champagne
#1,475 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
#1,551 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#908 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
#893 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altona

Property: Hotel Altona
Address: 166 rue du Faubourg Poissonniere | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,391 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Altona 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Altona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Altona Paris
Altona Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing