We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Hotel Paris
Ranked #1,072 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Arrived on the Sunday night and due to leave the following Thursday morning. 5th floor via a very small lift the room allocated was small in comparison. Was awoken in the morning at around 8.00am to the sound of a digger ripping up the cobbled street outside the window. Ok, this is a working city and you have to make allowances. Would of been nice to have been informed from the hotel that this was occurring but....Very close to metro so the location for exploring Paris is ideal. Lots of restaurants in the locality so evenings were spent in the same area. Went back to the hotel Monday night and the smell in the bathroom of raw sewage was too much. Complained to the desk and they said they would sort it. Arrived home and Monday night it was hard to sleep because of the smell and Tue morning the road works started again. This looks a big job and will be there for several weeks. I complained about the smell and the noise and said that I should not be charged for the Sunday and Monday but they refused to refund. Said I could have a free breakfast which I declined. Went back to the room an they phoned to say I could have a room on the 6th floor to the back of the hotel, bu I must move ASAP. We packed and took the luggage up the lift to the next floor with no assistance and unpacked again. Room was sound, no smell but could still hear the roadworks early morning. Paid nearly £500 four nights. It is more a 2 star hotel IMO. Check re roadworks before you go.

Room Tip: Check roadworks and room 52 was the smelly one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 452 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Good service, the double bed is quite small (less than 160cm) but it was good for 2 person. There is additional sofa which could be use as additional bed. The room and bathroom are clean, but wish for a toothbrush and toothpaste.

Easy check in. For wifi they happily gave us 3 username for 3 devices - so it was appreciated. Sorrounding, you will find a good restaurant, bar, theatre and really close to the shopping mall.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intanparamitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent our last few nights here in Paris. The location is great and there are good restaurants nearby. It is a short walk to a couple of metro stations and a reasonable walk to a number of sites we wanted to visit. The front desk staff were extremely kind and helpful and our room was very clean and comfortable and I thought it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlaS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My review is based on a standard triple room, it does appear from other pics that the quality of the rooms vary dramatically however.

Pros:
Good service. (we hadnt inc our 5yr old on the booking we were just going to share a bed for the night, but they gave us a triple and didnt make a fuss or charge us.)
Reasonably priced.
Great location!
Comfortable and clean.
Crisp clean bedding.

Cons
Breakfast NOT included despite booking it on a b&b basis.
Building and decor tired, old and dated.
Deffo not a 3star more like a 2 star
Good for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannii H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great stay really!! Everything is so close . Excellent staff -very helpfull and friendly. We (3 of us)booked our room 2 month before so it's really reasonable price (at about 500 euros for 3 of us -4 nights) in a very good positioned hotel-my reccomodation to everybody!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunceSplit_Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is located near a central station which is very convenient if you want to explore Paris. Near the hotel you will find plenty of bistros, restaurants and a supermarket! Everything you might need is very close. There are two stations close to the hotel. The one is Montparnasse (the central station I mentioned above) and Edgar station! I think there 3 metro lines and train at Montparnasse station and one line (different than those of Montparnasse's) at Edgar station.
As you walk in, you see a poor reception hall. We thought "This isn't good!!".
The room we stayed at, is decorated in modern style and the bathroom is nice too. They seem new. The major problem is that the room is really-really tiny! Not enough space even to open the closet's door! For one person it's ok but for two persons (with two suitcases) it lacks of space!
The staff is very helpful and polite. They speak English and they are willing to answer any question.
I wouldn't stay again at that hotel because of the tiny room, but I didn't regret staying at Central Hotel Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This Hotel is really good for the price, i paid 125 euros for one night between two of us so it was 63 euros each for a twin room. The room was immaculately decorated ( it all looked new ). It had 2 wardrobes, a dressing table, and a very nice bathroom with a bath and a shower!
The hotel is pretty central, very close to Gare Montparnasse and there are plenty of Metro stops around which take you to all of the major attractions in Paris. The area where the Hotel is is very nice with plenty of bars and resteraunts.

Great Stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonmarc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#375 of 1,804 in Paris
844 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#925 of 1,804 in Paris
733 reviews
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#518 of 1,804 in Paris
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#527 of 1,804 in Paris
352 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#581 of 1,804 in Paris
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Paris

Address: 1 B rue du Maine | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,072 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $111 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located close to main Montparnasse railway station, Air France shuttle, Metro and bus lines. Our very friendly and dedicated staff are available 24/7 and will be delighted to assist you with calling a taxi or booking a show, theatre or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing