We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Hotel Paris
Ranked #1,126 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice choice”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Close to a couple of metro stops.
With a patisserie downstairs.
Clean, not very expensive to be in paris downtown.
The staff speaks english more less..
It took sometime for us to decide for this hotel but I believe that it is a quite good place thinking both about quality and price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osky1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    248
    82
    22
    12
See reviews for
85
149
60
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Very helpful and friendly staff. Cosy and clean room and bathroom. Good location, right by Edgar Quinten Metro st. No problems at all. We were only there for 2 nights and our trip to Paris was fueled by sight seeing, so we used the room to literally sleep and it was perfect for that. Sat & Sun morning a market set up right by the hotel with fresh fruits and veges and other stuff. Lots of restaurants near by and small news agents nearby also. Would def return and recommend to others who are looking for somewhere comfortable to crash for the night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T_B_ELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

After reading some of the reviews on this website, I was a bit apprehensive about having booked this hotel, but I didn't need to be. On the whole, I had a very good experience at Central Hotel Paris.

Myself and two others had booked a triple room which turned out to be nice and spacious, with one double bed and one twin. The bathroom was also quite spacious, although the bathtub was quite narrow with a short hand-held showerhead that made washing my hair somewhat difficult. I don't know what you would do if you were really tall.

Beds were hard, but I really like that, so I slept well. They were roomy and the sheets very clean. In fact, the whole room was very clean. The décor was a bit dated, but we weren't in Paris to spend our time staring at the hotel wallpaper, so we didn't really care. The only negative to the stay was that the light switch didn't work in the hallway, so when we came back to our room at night we had to feel our way to our room as it was in the corner at the end of the hall.

The breakfast was a surprisingly decent price compared to the restaurants in the area. The area itself is great -- tons of food options, and three metro stations close by so you can get anywhere else in the city relatively easily. It's also an easy walk to the Gare Montparnasse and the Tour Montparnasse.

All in all, if you are looking for a clean, well-located place that you will really just use for sleeping and maybe breakfast, it's a great, reasonably priced option.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abeille323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel is just about what you'd expect to get for the price in this city. The room and bathroom were adequate, but could do with some smartening up. The corridors and common areas were tired and in need of renovation. The staff were OK, neither good nor bad. The location is good with easy access to CDG airport on the Air France bus, Versailles from Montparnasse SNCF station, and most of the major Paris sightseeing places on foot or metro.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great hotel for a 2 day visit in Paris. Location is excellent with good eating areas nearby, and the rooms clean. And free wifi!!

The old men at the reception are very helpful and provided "service with a smile". Overall, a great experience with the family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobili P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I had an enjoyable visit at this hotel on my recent trip to Paris. I stayed there with my 5 year old daughter and 12 year old niece. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations, but this did not effect our visit in any way. We arrived at the hotel via taxi, because I had no idea where the hotel was. After getting the lay of the land, I was very happy with the overall location. It is within a 2-3 minute walk to 2 Metro stations (Edgar Quinet and Montparnasse- Bienveniue, as well as the Montparnasse Gare) and in the middle of a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants to choose from.
Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted and given the key to our room. We were on the 6th floor, which is the top and it provided a nice view of the area (predominantly the Montparnasse Tower). There is also a small elevator, so we were able to squeeze in there with our luggage and not hike up the six flights of stairs. The room had a double bed and a chair that folded out into a single bed. This was the perfect size for us. I forgot that the French prefer to take baths instead of showers. So there is a full size bathtub, with a handheld shower head that can be placed above for a regular shower. However, there is no shower curtain, just a small glass partitions, so be careful not to spray the showerhead around the bathroom and get other stuff wet (like your clothes).
The hotel offered a daily breakfast of a half baguette, croissant, juice, and coffee (or tea or hot chocolate). This cost 6 Euro per person and I found this to be very satisfactory. Not only did the food fill us up until lunch, it is very similar in amount and price to what you will find offered around the area. I would recommend to the hotel, that they offer fruit and yogurt with the breakfast . This will appeal overall to a broader audience.
In the area near the Edgar Quinet Metro stop, there is a Saturday food market with some additional vendors. We really liked this market and tried many yummy foods. On Sunday, the stalls remain up for the artists to set up. Although I did not purchase anything from this market, it is a nice place to look at local art without the hordes of tourists. I would also recommend to the hotel, that they place some of this art to not only advertise local artists, but to spruce up the breakfast room a bit.
Overall, I enjoyed this hotel and would stay here again. The staff at the desk, as well as the cleaning ladies are all very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drgnfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I read the reviews here on tripadvisor and thought, looks great at that price... but the rooms are VERY audible, so if the neighbour has a cellphone ringing or they are talking you will hear it - they also vacuum at 9 in the morning, which is not a good combo.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morten9993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est
Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
#955 of 1,801 in Paris
377 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#973 of 1,801 in Paris
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#368 of 1,801 in Paris
788 reviews
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#558 of 1,801 in Paris
444 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#446 of 1,801 in Paris
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Paris

Property: Central Hotel Paris
Address: 1 B rue du Maine | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,126 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located close to main Montparnasse railway station, Air France shuttle, Metro and bus lines. Our very friendly and dedicated staff are available 24/7 and will be delighted to assist you with calling a taxi or booking a show, theatre or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Central Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing