We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not glitzy but nice, comfortable and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cluny Sorbonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Ranked #896 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Not glitzy but nice, comfortable and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This modest but bright, and cheerfully decorated, small hotel is directly opposite the Sorbonne within walkable distance to nearby sights (Ile de la Cite, Jardin des Plantes, Latin Quarter, The Louvre, etc.), and excellent acces to a wide variety of nearby restaurants (the local intellectuals' historical favourite "Balzar" is at the end of the block). The immaculately clean and sunny room (44), was compact but comfortable and reasonably priced (approx. 95 Euros), it overlooks the street but I had no noise issues at all. The bathroom was clean and well maintained, if small. The (young), reception staff were correct, proper and professional and offered information about the area. I didn't have the breakfast, there are lots of local places for that. Wifi quality was fast and good. I commend this place as a reasonably priced, secure, pleasant and comfortable option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windowseatview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    195
    90
    20
    7
See reviews for
49
201
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cahors, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I and my wife stayed here 7th-12th April 2014. We are somewhat old (82 and 78). The hotel is well situated for access to the Ile de France (Notre Dame etc). The room was very small, and that was the only down side. Room #22 had a window onto the central open space [rectangular air space - not a courtyard] of the hotel which meant that it was perfectly quiet. We heard no road traffic or any noise at all. We found all the staff very congenial and most helpful. They told us where to get the metro tickets and advised us which buses to board to get around. They helped us in getting a taxi back to the station on the morning we left. You have to ask otherwise the person on the counter is likely to be silent and otherwise occupied.
The room and the tiny bathroom were clean and well serviced. The beds were comfortable. I would have wished that the BBC TV programs which are listed on the TV screen menu could have been available - there must be a glitch somewhere.
The accommodation would not suit people who are over-sized. The lift (elevator) would probably not accommodate them. It was only just over two feet deep. It will not accommodate more than one person plus baggage. A fat person could not easily move between bed and wall.
Breakfast was adequate and simple.
But in all, this hotel is extraordinarily well sited for a visit to Paris even for the aged as long as you are active. The beautiful Luxembourg gardens are barely 200 yds away - Pantheon also - The Louvre is within a short walk - The Seine just half a mile. Luxurious it is not! But you pay for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing onto the central open space - completely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is right next to a major university which means you won't be able to go to sleep until 1am or so. Until then there will be loud parting, music, motorbikes, and loud yelling. In the morning dumpsters being unloaded.

The breakfast was more basic than any hotel I've stayed at in France...no cheese, no yogurt, no fruit...just bread, cold cereal, and one croissant.

WiFi worked. Plumbing had a few minor problems...shower handle wouldnt stay up by itself so had to be held and toilet seat wouldnt stay up by itself.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cluny Sorbonne recently and found it to be very convenient. Close to restaurants, and many sights. We walked to the Louvre from there one day and home from the Eiffel Tower.
The bathroom is very very small and the room was taken up by the bed, but it was very comfortable. No English TV news everything was in French, but we were not bothered.
The breakfast was served in a little dining room and it was very nice with juice and coffee or tea along with the usual bread and croissants.
We found the young Irish man at reception, very helpful.
The room lacked nothing except space so is probably best for reasonably short stays, but for location it is 100%
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting value, cleanliness and good location.

Room Tip: There is a lift so there is no worry about climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippiewhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I don't think I have ever stayed in such a small hotel room before. The lift up to the 5th floor was so tiny so if you don't like small spaces I'd avoid this hotel.
The hotel room was very hot and very noisy in the middle of the night there was a lot going on in the hallway that kept waking me up.
The wifi was free and very good.
The staff were friendly and helpful but I wouldn't stay here again.
The price was reasonable but probably a bit overpriced for what we got.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Betha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Can't beat the couple-minute walk to the metro servicing the greater Paris area; it definitely helped to have a short walk home from the station on our first day with luggage and our many days with tired legs/feet.

While our room was small (by American standards), it is by no means uncomfortable or unsatisfactory, and nothing short of what we expected. Remember, you're in Paris to enjoy the city, not the four walls that provide your temporary home.

The concierges were extremely helpful, glad to provide their recommendations for food and drinks, and always cheery no matter the time of day. It really started our stay in Paris on the right foot to be hosted by such polite individuals.

I can't complain about the proximity to the major attractions; it's not within a reasonable walking distance (we tried one day), but IT IS well within train distance to every attraction you'd want to see (Having the RER B line for the airport access was really nice too).

We enjoyed many a sorbet in the Jardin de Luxembourg (a short 5 minutes from the hotel), and we're close to many fantastic restaurants and bars. The prime Latin a Quarter nightlife is also a shirt jaunt away, as is Notre Dame and the "love-lock" bridge.

Our only complaint (which really didn't have much effect on us as we were pooped at the end of each day) was the noise from the street, especially at night. That being said, it gave us the "in-the-heart-of-the-city" feel, so we didn't mine too much.

Have a good laugh at the expense of the elevator inside, take it at least once with your significant other; enjoy the location, and invest in the idea of traveling light. Hotel Cluny Sorbonne was a great spot for a budget couple, and definitely worth a return trip.

Room Tip: We had a small room on the first floor overlooking the Sorbonne (with a private bath); while I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

good hotel, excellent value for money. Very helpful, friendly staff.
It is in an excellent position for exploring centre of Paris, especially on foot - is there any other way! . Latin Quarter is a very interesting and fun area to stay, with lots of good restaurants

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#493 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Trois Colleges
Hotel des Trois Colleges
#1,091 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#280 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,261 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Senlis
Hotel de Senlis
#1,527 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Gay-Lussac
Hotel Gay-Lussac
#1,522 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cluny Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cluny Sorbonne

Property: Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Address: 8 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #896 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cluny Sorbonne 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cluny Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Sorbonne Hotel
Cluny Sorbonne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing