We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tiny bathroom, but comfortable bed.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cluny Sorbonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Ranked #884 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tiny bathroom, but comfortable bed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cluny Sorbonne recently and found it to be very convenient. Close to restaurants, and many sights. We walked to the Louvre from there one day and home from the Eiffel Tower.
The bathroom is very very small and the room was taken up by the bed, but it was very comfortable. No English TV news everything was in French, but we were not bothered.
The breakfast was served in a little dining room and it was very nice with juice and coffee or tea along with the usual bread and croissants.
We found the young Irish man at reception, very helpful.
The room lacked nothing except space so is probably best for reasonably short stays, but for location it is 100%
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting value, cleanliness and good location.

Room Tip: There is a lift so there is no worry about climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippiewhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    199
    91
    20
    7
See reviews for
50
205
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I don't think I have ever stayed in such a small hotel room before. The lift up to the 5th floor was so tiny so if you don't like small spaces I'd avoid this hotel.
The hotel room was very hot and very noisy in the middle of the night there was a lot going on in the hallway that kept waking me up.
The wifi was free and very good.
The staff were friendly and helpful but I wouldn't stay here again.
The price was reasonable but probably a bit overpriced for what we got.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Betha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Can't beat the couple-minute walk to the metro servicing the greater Paris area; it definitely helped to have a short walk home from the station on our first day with luggage and our many days with tired legs/feet.

While our room was small (by American standards), it is by no means uncomfortable or unsatisfactory, and nothing short of what we expected. Remember, you're in Paris to enjoy the city, not the four walls that provide your temporary home.

The concierges were extremely helpful, glad to provide their recommendations for food and drinks, and always cheery no matter the time of day. It really started our stay in Paris on the right foot to be hosted by such polite individuals.

I can't complain about the proximity to the major attractions; it's not within a reasonable walking distance (we tried one day), but IT IS well within train distance to every attraction you'd want to see (Having the RER B line for the airport access was really nice too).

We enjoyed many a sorbet in the Jardin de Luxembourg (a short 5 minutes from the hotel), and we're close to many fantastic restaurants and bars. The prime Latin a Quarter nightlife is also a shirt jaunt away, as is Notre Dame and the "love-lock" bridge.

Our only complaint (which really didn't have much effect on us as we were pooped at the end of each day) was the noise from the street, especially at night. That being said, it gave us the "in-the-heart-of-the-city" feel, so we didn't mine too much.

Have a good laugh at the expense of the elevator inside, take it at least once with your significant other; enjoy the location, and invest in the idea of traveling light. Hotel Cluny Sorbonne was a great spot for a budget couple, and definitely worth a return trip.

Room Tip: We had a small room on the first floor overlooking the Sorbonne (with a private bath); while I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

good hotel, excellent value for money. Very helpful, friendly staff.
It is in an excellent position for exploring centre of Paris, especially on foot - is there any other way! . Latin Quarter is a very interesting and fun area to stay, with lots of good restaurants

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Paris and we chose this hotel due to its reasonable price and location.

First impression, the receptionist was extremely friendly and spoke very good english.

The room was spotless and cleaned daily. Our room was very small but perfectly adequate. We were informed by a member of staff the rooms are typical size for hotels in the area due to the age of the buildings. We coped and hey, who goes to Paris to sit in their room!

The hotel's best quality is its location. It is within walking distance to many attractions like previous reviewers have mentioned. It is in the heart of the Latin Quarter with dozens and dozens of cafes, bakeries, restaurants, McDonalds, shops, bars, cinemas, banks and much more close by. The two closest metro stops are Luxembourg and Cluny Sorbonne each approx a 7 minute walk from the hotel and from these you are able to get to all the major attractions including Disney.

Would I return? Yes absolutely. The price is unbeatable, hotels in the same area cost per night what we paid for a 3 night stay here. All staff were very helpful and friendly and even made us dinner reservations, booked us taxis and provided us with an iron.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xhayleyxjadex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was a great choice for the money.
We took the RER train from CDG to the Luxembourg stop which was very close to this hotel. It is located right across from Luxembourg gardens and the Pantheon. It is just south of Notre Dame. Cute neighborhood with pharmacies, shops, grocery store, restaurants, near transit.

The room was small (think Japanese sized) but it had everything (closet, TV, shower, desk) and was very clean. The turnover service was very good - fresh towels and made the bed. Watch out if you get a room with just a standup shower. If you don't hug the shower curtain you can accidentally flood the bathroom floor.

The front desk was very welcoming and warm.
The price invoiced exactly how I had booked it and check in/out was a breeze. They take amex.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a bath tub if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seahop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This small hotel is ideally situated for exploring the important sites in Paris. The rooms are small but comfortable; facilities OK; breakfast is a bit sparse with cornflakes, orange juice, tea, coffee, croissant (1 each) and some bread. But, it is in a great location and modestly priced. We would go back there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobscott72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#564 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Trois Colleges
Hotel des Trois Colleges
#1,030 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#285 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1,515 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,171 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Gay-Lussac
Hotel Gay-Lussac
#1,505 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cluny Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cluny Sorbonne

Property: Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Address: 8 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #884 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cluny Sorbonne 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cluny Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Sorbonne Hotel
Cluny Sorbonne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing