We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go!!! Ever!!! PLEASE!!!”
Review of Hotel Bien-Etre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bien-Etre
Ranked #1,717 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't go!!! Ever!!! PLEASE!!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Ok so hotels in Paris are pricey - this hotel was cheaper than the average but did not expect it to be the disgusting hole that it is.

First things first, before I go into any details THIS IS NOT A HOTEL!!! It is more like a hostel.

The lobby is the size of an airplane bathroom - I am not exaggerating this. My wife and I could barely be in there together and of course our bags couldn't fit.

Full payment was required up front.

So I knew there was no lift and we had a room on the 5th floor. But these are no ordinary stairs - they are extremely narrow and it is a tight curved staircase. Carrying our bags were a nightmare - this took us about 30 min when we arrived. NO HELP, just a "good luck". These stairs in general were exhausting to walk up, we dreaded getting to our hotel because of the stairs - especially in the middle of summer.

The room size wasn't too bad, we may have gotten one of the best. There is no aircon, no where to put your clothes so you are forced to live out your bag and no safe. The mattress is a foam mattress which is obviously uncomfortable - we did atleast have a balcony room with a good view. The room, despite other reviews was cleanish - there was nothing dirty but the towels were old and tattered as well as the sheets so you did feel dirty using them.

The room and bathroom is very very old and "plasticky" - which makes it feel dirty. Especially the shower with those funky plastic sheets to close it.

Thankfully the location was good - directly opposite the metro.

The hotel as an overall was awful! Old, old, old, felt unsafe, had to carry all our belongings with us! It ruined our stay in Paris. If you can't afford the hotels in Paris don't settle on this hotel - rather don't go!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    22
    8
    26
See reviews for
3
33
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. It is not as bad as what people said. The stairs were killing, because it was narrow and it goes spiral on. I felt dizzy after walking up two flights, but the room was not too small (we stayed in Room 9, a double room). The shower was small but acceptable for freshening up. We did not stay at the hotel that much, but the room was cleaned daily and the staff was helpful.

The location is definitely a big plus to this hotel. It is seriously just outside of metro station. And it is not that far away from Gare du Nord and Gare de l'est.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evieastaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I can say when we first arrived we were pretty shock at the entrance and then we made our way up to the 4th floor in room 6. We had a great view. Felt the room was quite spacious but the bed is a little small than other hotels We have stayed in but we both managed easily. I called them out about handing back the key and when asking for it back they don't ask for any identification at all. They said "We are responsible for anything that could go wrong". Since we are safety conscious we just made sure we would know if anything had been touched. We took our passports etc with us. The staff were friendly and were helpful. As stated by other reviews you pay for what you get.

The bathroom has a good shower! And then there is a mirror with a sink. With lots of room.
I guess you get different spacings with different rooms.
I've found our room fine and it's location is perfect to Central Paris.
There is a supermarket just down the road and there is a range of fast food places about 3min walk away.

I don't think we would stay here again but for €160 for a couple for 3 nights it was perfectly fine keeping in mind we are young 21 & 20.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rigzdigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

WORST HOTEL EVER STAYED AT!!!!

I wish I read a review like this before staying and it would have saved me an AWFUL stay.

This hotel, is not a hotel. The lobby is a tight narrow space with a different guy each time that will expect you to leave your keys with them every time you leave the hotel. The lobby is the size of a washroom stall or an outhouse no joke. So when you come back you tell them room # and a new guy gives key, You can get the wrong key, and anyone can pretend they have your room and have access to it. The staff is rude, when my friend voiced a complaint, they yelled back. They are not accomodating at all!.

There are no amenities, like shampoo, wash , CLEAN towels, etc.

The hotel must be violating health and safety hazards. The stairs are narrow and dangerous and no elevetor or they will not help carrying stuff to your room. The room is not clean at all. Stained towels and carpets.

I would strongly recommend not leaving your luggage with them, as they just leave it at the end of the stairs by the door so all guests can get to it.

Arrived Happy and Healthy, Left SICK.

ALL NEGATIVES. If you value your money, sleep, cleanliness, time and customer service DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: If I could give zero stars I would.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PastaPastaPasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Wow this hotel was disgusting from the moment you see its shady blue sign outside what seems to be a skinny run down office, not even the size of a washroom that they call a Lobby. There is one guy in a tight corner where you check in. You are then to walk up 7 flights of stairs to get the room, ours was on the 6th floor. No elevator, no bell boy, You are expected to carry them all up the curvy narrow stairs of this creepy narrow place that they have the odacity to call a hotel. Completely misleading and false name. Unbelievable. After you walk up the stairs you enter a small box of a room, with the most disgusting bathroom. The tiniest sink ever made. You can try to brush your teeth there but to spit out you will miss the sink as its so small or you will hit your head on the wall as the mirror slants down toward your face giving you no room to get close to the sink - clearly not made for people. Airplane sinks are bigger. Also, one day we left the room after 11 and the receptionist was very rude saying we have to get out now or too bad your room will not be cleaned. Suprising that they even have a cleaner, but she comes up with a garbage bag holding what they call "clean towels" and she was horking and coughing the whole time, no wonder my boyfriend and I got sick after our first night there. We tried to leave early and come back late as it is not nice to spend time there. Nor do we want to waste time with those lengthly stairs. The bathroom is awful and we try to take the quickest shower and from the moment I was there was waiting to check out. We paid 168 CAD for this and it was a entire rip off complete waste of money and made our stay in Paris less enjoyable. If you can do better, you should. Only decent thing is that it is close to a subway station, Gare de Nord and has wifi. Will most definitely not return. This place should not even exist a bad excuse for a hotel and the name is complete sarcasm none of the words are true. not a hotel, not bien not bein-etre. Excuse dégoûtant pour un hôtel. Disgusting

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cioccolato18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very friendly when we arrived and wanted to accomodate any way they could. Our first clue should have been when they showed us a room that was occupied (the guests were out). Yes - you have to leave your key with them when you leave the hotel.
Rooms were in short supply so we were in a tight spot. We reserved for four days, which they wanted upfront. We were stuck and we paid. As circumstance would have it, we found out later that same day that we had to leave first thing in the morning. They refused a refund. We would be charged for all four days even though we were staying only one - no more smiles :( After much negotiation we were only charged for three days. So if you're thinking of staying here... we highly recommend against it. Oh yeah...smallest shower in the free world and 110 stairs to our room - no elevators, so we counted... several times!

Room Tip: There isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The other reviewers are all pretty accurate, whether their review is negative or positive. We loved the location for easy navigation of the Metro. The Jaques Bosergent stop is right outside the door. There is no elevator and the winding stair case is steep and narrow. The room we stayed in (number 4) was tiny. No closets, no door on the bathroom. The hotel is a bit rundown and also pretty clean. I've definitely seen American chain hotel rooms in worse shape. Boulevard de Magenta is a busy, noisy street at all hours. The staff were very friendly and helpful. You get what you pay for; it is cheap and small and well located. We only had two days for this first trip to Paris so we only took three long naps there. It was perfectly fine for that purpose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1seatravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Des 3 Nations
Hotel Des 3 Nations
#1,408 of 1,802 in Paris
151 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Garden Saint Martin
Hotel Garden Saint Martin
#865 of 1,802 in Paris
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
District Republique
District Republique
#754 of 1,802 in Paris
110 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Little
Hotel Little
#1,502 of 1,802 in Paris
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bien-Etre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bien-Etre

Property: Hotel Bien-Etre
Address: 17 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,717 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bien-Etre 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bien-Etre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing