We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not to be judged by North American Standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1,561 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not to be judged by North American Standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms are small . Washroom is tiny . Some of the staff serving breakfast lack finesse .The continental breakfast is good but exactly the same every morning . Croissants are fresh as is the bread but do not expect fruits , eggs etc . This is more typically French . I noticed that most locals seem to only have a cafe au lait and a croissant for breakfast . The front desk staff are very helpful . An older short gentleman at the front desk was very kind,affable and went out of his way to make you feel welcome . Although they have wi-fi , they do not have computers available for guests . This particular gentleman was very nice and let us use his own computer behind the desk for a short duration . The hotel is well located . The room was clean as was the washroom but they strictly ration the soap and the toilet tissue .Close to running out a few days . Bring your own shampoo and hairdryer as they are not provided . If you want a romantic place to stay in a hotel this is not for you . If you want a place to sleep that is descent and not unreasonably priced , it would probably serve you well .

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank johnny46915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    170
    265
    163
    137
See reviews for
135
367
46
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of Topdeck Tour. Room was clean enough. Bathroom clean and modern but very small. Hotel looks like it has been renovated around 5 years ago as some paint chips are starting to show previous colours. Room was okay for a couple of nights, nothing special though.

Room Tip: Try getting a room that does not face the laneway due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyMerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simrishamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Don't know much about other alternatives, though this one is considerally one of the worst hotels i have stayed at. However, the location is quite central and there are good communications from the crossing of montmarte/lafayette boulevards.
Our room was not a pleasant suprise - the opposite.
it smelled a lot like - and you could definetely see - moissy areas.
Additionally, if you find better options - i may argue they would be more preferable!

Room Tip: Do not choose roomes facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannesofsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Brussels
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Most of what is relevant has already been articulated - yes, the elevator is small.
I got in at the last minute for €110.00/night, and had it not been at the last minute I certainly wouldn't pay this for a 2* which quite removed from the downtown. It is also situated across the street from a city bus depot: and although I was on the third floor, the noise is definately an issue. Unless of course you close the balcony doors, which you won't do in the summer as there is no airco. It's located 1km from the RER which is acceptable, the area doesn't seem that bad and as mentioned, there are several markets available. The two gentlemen who worked the front desk while I was there seemed courteous enough and since I am a frequent Paris visitor, didn't have to call upon them for guidance.
However, when I initially entered my room - which seemed clean enough - I just threw my bags in and headed to the street. Upon my return later that night I opened the bathroom door and was met with a smell that was akin to a French truckstop urinal. And it stayed. The next moring, I awoke to discover NO toilet tissue and a previously used towel in the shower.
I have no idea if this was simply bad luck on my part, but am mentioning this for if there are others writing the same problem, we have a pattern.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vilvoorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is nothing fancy but for location, you can't beat it! Metro is minutes away, steps from one of the main streets. Breakfast included - croissant, baguette, coffee, juice, yogurt - tasty!

Free wi-fi in the lobby and on occasion, in the room. Very tight quarters - don't expect space - especially in the washroom. Stand-up shower only and very tight. Bring toiletries and wash cloth.

Beds were clean and room was done up daily.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szeged
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The pictures that the hotel is advertising itself with are exaggarated! Some design elements are installed but altogether the rooms are not renovated, the bathroom was in pretty bad condition. The room was quite small as well. However, as we stayed in the city all day, it was ok for one night with a moderate price via booking.com.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JZsuzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

At the southern part of Montmartre, it is close to the Opera and the Grands Boulevards. Rooms are currently being renovated. Expect very loud noise every night if you are facing the street. Kids hang out in front of hotel all evening which doesn't feel too inviting or safe. Personnel and staff however are most helpful and dedicated to help you have an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laube1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Victoria
#1,611 of 1,812 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Mondial Hotel
Mondial Hotel
#1,285 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
#1,058 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#457 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Aston Hotel Paris
Aston Hotel Paris
#1,469 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,042 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 2 B Cite Bergere, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,561 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Paris
Hotel Victoria Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing