We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bed was the highlight”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1,554 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bed was the highlight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights on our first trip to Paris. we found the staff to be pretty hostile. Room and bathroom were very small but seemed to be clean, space to put suitcase, nice tv (no english channels), small window and nice decor and lighting, and bed was very comfortable. Very adequete for what we needed - we were there to see paris and obviously spent most of our time out and about and not in a hotel!
Breakfast was well and truly below par. Unfriendly staff, limited to one croissant each and the other options were very limited - yogurt, baguette and coffee, also breakfast area is located in the basement and feels like a London tube station!

Great location, grande boulevard tube station is literally just around the corner as is stop for one of Paris's sight seeing tour buses. Neighborhood is home to many nice restaurants etc.

loud people outside at night will wake you at 3am..

best bit? - we were on the 1st floor and had access to the ground floor wifi, so were compensated for the average breakfast with different movies to watch each night :)

probably wouldn't go back but not the worst experience ever..

Room Tip: go for the first floor- free unlimited wi-fi access from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    183
    281
    176
    142
See reviews for
146
392
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I made a booking for this hotel because of the not-so-bad reviews and good looking photos. Right now I regret being there. It was 3 nights that I wanted to finish as fast as possible, The Hotel is good looking in the entrance but the rest is dirty, smelly, deteriorated. When I check in I've met the manager of the hotel and I realized that he is Portuguese, but if Victoria Hotel was in Portugal it would already have been closed by the authorities. They don't know how to clean the hotel. The stairs that leads to the rooms are big problem for human health. The dirty and smell that comes from that place goes to the rooms and during the night I had problems breading (and I don't have asthma). When I visited that stairs for the first time I felt like vomiting and I had to cover my mouth. I just couldn't believe.
The breakfast is not buffet, just a coffee and croissant or bread. The staff is very rude and they just don't listen whatever you ask to them, on the beginning they refused to talk in English, and didn't provide direct answer to my questions when i was to checking. The Spanish staff and Portuguese manager don't know how to handle the hotel because they mistake our reservation 3 times and gave us the wrong room that was already occupied by other customer. But I witnessed the same confusion happening with other customers.

Room Tip: When you enter the room go immediately to the bathroom and check if the smell is ok for you, because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jnicolau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

I read reviews and was expecting the worst. But it wasn't as bad as the reviews make it sound. The rooms are small. The bathroom is tiny. Including the shower, it is 170cm long. But it is big enough to sleep in and that is the important part. It is clean, and reasonably safe. When you (finally) work out how to open the window, the heat is bearable in summer, and in Winter there is a heater. Staff are typically French. Helpful, nice, but can seem rude as they are very abrupt. But be polite and they'll help you as best they can. Location is amazing. It is down a petty dodgy looking alleyway, but it is right next to crepe stands and the atmosphere is very nice. 100m to the grands boulevard metro stop. Make the most of it, it is very useful. Breakfast is very basic, croissant or baguette, coffee/tea, and jam. Basically, it is a room and a bed with a (very small) bathroom in a fantastic location. Which is all you need if you're on a budget in Paris. Who spends all their time in a hotel? If you're after luxury, don't bother, but if you want a place to crash after a long and busy day sight seeing, the most important thing is, the beds are very comfy, and clean. Stayed for a week and was perfectly comfortable. Only real complaint is that you have to hold the shower head. Which is very annoying in a small space, trying not to spray it towards the rest of the bathroom. But this might just have been me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrisbaneAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This place is very well located (next to Fnac in Montparnasse), but needs to be upgraded. The bedding is too uncomfortable, the towels were too old, the WIFI system so old that only one computer could barely log in! When we checked in the floor of our room was not clean! The decor is too old. In summary for a 4 star hotel, it is a little bit disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roche68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

If one is near destitute, the Hotel Victoria may be perfect. The location is great. But the amenities end there.
The rooms are miniscule, leading my wife and me to discover our respective inner "hockey players" whereby we both became quite adept in the art of the hip-check. There is space for one suitcase, so - whenever vertical - prepare to have one foot in any secondary luggage. The rooms are musty, a quality mitigated somewhat by the aging windows that cannot be properly closed.
And the bathrooms give new meaning to the term, "water closet". Ours did afford us the only available mirror, and one might find comfort in the fact that, if one slips, falling to the floor is a physical impossibility. The towels were adequate in number, but threadbare.
Many (most?) rooms abut an alleyway which tends acoustically to magnify the irrational exuberance of French youth late into the night. Rolling suitcases on the cobblestones bring to mind overladen ox-carts.
But the small darkened hallways do offer ample perspective on the interior of Moscow's Lubianka Prison. ( I would not have been surprised to find food tray slots at the base of each door.)
Breakfast was, well...adequate, and we encountered none of the hostility among staff noted in other reviews. What, of course, remains a mystery is why the French Registry of Hotels would be so magnanimous as to afford this particular venue two stars. Perhaps, they are dwarf stars.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RHL1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

This hotel was booked by my husband as a surprise trip to paris,but although we payed upfront for our 3 nights there was no way we could stay there,The hotel is filthy with torn carpets,broken mirrors and a bathroom that had mould allover the wall tiles,the toilet had,nt been cleaned and the bedding had stains and hairs on the sheets and blankets,i asked the receptionist to contact the manager as we were leaving but he said he didn't speak english,so we asked for our credit card to be refunded but so far have recieved nothing.The only good thing i can say about this hotel is they must have a brilliant photographer to take those photos they use to recommend the place on various websites,.

Room Tip: my tip is don't use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benstead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

The images their website provides are nothing like reality. The rooms are foul smelling - damp. The bathroom air vent was shared with the next room, which meant smelling other peoples toilet habits.
Tatty shower curtain, grot and mould growing in the shower. The windows don't fully close. As I was situated on the 3rd floor, this means we wasn't able to gain access to the WiFi.
The noise from the public along the street at night woke me many times. Other people in the hotel woke us up a few times, by trying to get into our rooms and banging on the door. Also an unsafe lift.
The breakfast wasn't continental like advertised. Just a croissant, yogurt and bread. Over all, I would like to say that this hotel isn't worth the money they're charging, it is worth paying a bit extra for a cleaner, safer and warm hotel. Don't waste your money on this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank starwood_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Victoria
#1,614 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Opera / Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
#1,016 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Belta Hotel Residence
Belta Hotel Residence
#798 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Aston Hotel Paris
Aston Hotel Paris
#1,460 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#26 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 2 B Cite Bergere, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,554 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Paris
Hotel Victoria Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing