We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Cluny Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cluny Square
Ranked #384 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Afterwards, I found out that during our stay it was Paris' Fashion Week. This explained -although a month in advance- the difficulty to book a room and the high prices. We always like to stay at Rive Gauche but all of the hotels we normally stay in were fully booked. Hotel Cluny Square is a average hotel at a super good location. The price/quality ratio I found a bit lost. By example: no possibility to leave the luggage secured after checkout, shower curtain was broken, toilet roll holder was hanging loose. etc. In itself not all serious business but for a nightly rate of EUR 290, - a little annoying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamClaudia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    323
    95
    27
    18
See reviews for
109
402
32
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The location is awesome, gotta give them that. I have stayed a lot in Paris so am fully aware that everything is small but this place is tiny. Our room barely fit our bags. The bathroom was nicely done and quite efficient for its size.

What's kind of annoying is that the elevator doesn't go to the ground floor so you have to carry all your bags up to the lobby before transferring to an elevator. I was surprised to find that they didn't have anyone to help with the luggage and got a kind of dirty look for having so many bags. This next thing isn't necessarily their fault but the scaffolding on the exterior meant that we had workers at 7:30 am banging and walking in front of our window. I don't know but that seemed a bit early to start work on a hotel. We were beat and this was not a good way to wake up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The rooms were fine, modern, small but they had hardwoord floors which I liked. The building was under construction and covered in scaffolding. I am amazed we found it at all much less the front door. We arrived with two big heavy bags after a long day or travel. After finding the entrance, we were met face to face with a spiral staircase. No other options. It was bad enough that it was a staircase, but spiral? Getting my 55lb bag up that was NOT fun. I kind of took it as the middle finger to top the day off. Once you get to the 1st floor (what we in the U.S. would call 2nd floor) then you get the elevator. BUT I will say that it was a great location for just walking around and finding things to do/places to eat etc. Our room faced a McDonalds - which was a bit off putting but whatever. I would go back if I had half the luggage.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chicagonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki Greece
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

At my second night at the Cluny Square Hotel i was attacked by bugs ( "punaise" in French, κοριοί στα Ελληνικα ). I've started itching during the night and at about 04:00 i 've turned the lights on and discovered appr. 20 bugs on the sheets and pillows and another 100 or more of them between the wall and the bed. I asked the receptionist to visit our room to take a look. He did not have a another room available at this time so he called a taxi to transfer us to Hotel Dacia Luxemburg - a much lower quality hotel. We've slept there for appr. 3 hours and then return back to Cluny Square at 09:00. The reception gave us another room and later that day they have send us a champagne and a letter of regret. Unfortunately the champagne cannot heal my itch and my pimples or recover my bad mood. I've had an allergic reaction from the bugs stings and the pimples were multiplied - First night were on my neck and back and the day after on my hands and face, photos of them are attached. This is UNACCEPTABLE, especially for a hotel with this price level. Healthy issues are more essential than location and decoration. Hotel Cluny Square ruined my honeymoon and i give you my word for this : if this happens on a Greek hotel i would immediately call the police and press charges.

NO ONE WANTS ITCH AND PIMPLES ON HIS HONEYMOON.

So my recommendation is simple : STAY AWAY !!!

P.S. To whom it may concern : my email is gerebakanis@gmail.com, i'm at your disposal for further informations.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 406 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gerebakanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. Service at reception was friendly and helpful. We didn't have the breakfast so not sure what that was like. The scaffolding around the hotel wasn't an issue. Access to Parisian attractions is great with the metro right on the doorstep and the hotel near the river..The entrance could be better signposted, maybe a non-slip mat in the shower (almost fell getting out) and a shower curtain would be useful. Access to this hotel might be a problem if you have a few bags or mobility issues as the lobby is on the first floor via a spiral staircase and there's no lift. Still, the the bedroom was comfy enough, and for the price is was a bargain. Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lchadwick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The main selling point of this hotel is that it is centrally located in walking distance to all of the great tourist spots and restaurants. My husband and I stayed in the "Suite Romance" room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The slanted ceilings minimized the actual walking space, so we had to crouch down to access some parts of the tiny room. The most off-putting part of this hotel was the woman who was working at the reception desk. She was extremely unhelpful, disinterested, and rude. For the price, I would expect better hospitality and a larger room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank junebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Cluny Square for 3 nights in Sep 2011 and boy was I impressed! This hotel is boutique style with beautiful Parisian furnishings and is in one of the best locations in Paris. I can't recommend it highly enough. Great value for money, we booked through booking.com and only paid 116 euros a night! Thats a bargain for Paris.

Location
Located on the Boulevard Saint Michel just near Rue de la harpe and where all the tiny cobbled streets of the Latin Quarter are. One block from Notre Dame and the Seine River. About a 20min walk to The Louvre. There is also a Metro a few steps from the hotel. You couldnt ask for a better location. It was a little noisy at night, but once you closed the windows it was quiet. The Luxemburg Gardens are close by also. it is a safe area to walk around at night, we walked from the Champs-Elysee all the way back to the hotel, it took over an hour but we saw lots of the city at night when it is most beautiful.

Rooms
The rooms are small but this is typical for Paris, but they are beautifully decorated. The bathrooms are modern. We had a room at the front of the hotel that had a little balcony and a great view of the Eiffel Tower. This room was kindly given to us as an upgrade and we were so grateful to get it. Safe located in the room also.

Hotel Features
We had free Wifi which was great. Be aware that there is no lift from the ground floor to reception on the 1st floor, just a staircase. Lovely little lobby area with a computer and internet you can use. Lounges to sit at and a TV as well.

Food
We didnt eat at the hotel, there were plenty of choices surrounding the hotel. There is also a bakery across the road for a cheap breakfast. You must wander down (along side the hotel) Rue de la Harpe where all the restaurants are. Just beautiful.

Staff
The staff were helpful with directions and maps and they also helped us with the computer. Spoke english also.

When i return to Paris i will definately stay here again, it was a delight!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view of the Eiffel Tower, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#247 of 1,801 in Paris
669 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#188 of 1,801 in Paris
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#189 of 1,801 in Paris
1,142 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#634 of 1,801 in Paris
550 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cluny Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cluny Square

Property: Hotel Cluny Square
Address: 21 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#304 Business Hotel in Paris
#557 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cluny Square 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cluny Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Square Hotel
Cluny Square Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing