We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, maybe access difficulty”
Review of Hotel Cluny Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cluny Square
Ranked #367 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. Service at reception was friendly and helpful. We didn't have the breakfast so not sure what that was like. The scaffolding around the hotel wasn't an issue. Access to Parisian attractions is great with the metro right on the doorstep and the hotel near the river..The entrance could be better signposted, maybe a non-slip mat in the shower (almost fell getting out) and a shower curtain would be useful. Access to this hotel might be a problem if you have a few bags or mobility issues as the lobby is on the first floor via a spiral staircase and there's no lift. Still, the the bedroom was comfy enough, and for the price is was a bargain. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lchadwick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 702 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

The main selling point of this hotel is that it is centrally located in walking distance to all of the great tourist spots and restaurants. My husband and I stayed in the "Suite Romance" room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The slanted ceilings minimized the actual walking space, so we had to crouch down to access some parts of the tiny room. The most off-putting part of this hotel was the woman who was working at the reception desk. She was extremely unhelpful, disinterested, and rude. For the price, I would expect better hospitality and a larger room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank junebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Cluny Square for 3 nights in Sep 2011 and boy was I impressed! This hotel is boutique style with beautiful Parisian furnishings and is in one of the best locations in Paris. I can't recommend it highly enough. Great value for money, we booked through booking.com and only paid 116 euros a night! Thats a bargain for Paris.

Location
Located on the Boulevard Saint Michel just near Rue de la harpe and where all the tiny cobbled streets of the Latin Quarter are. One block from Notre Dame and the Seine River. About a 20min walk to The Louvre. There is also a Metro a few steps from the hotel. You couldnt ask for a better location. It was a little noisy at night, but once you closed the windows it was quiet. The Luxemburg Gardens are close by also. it is a safe area to walk around at night, we walked from the Champs-Elysee all the way back to the hotel, it took over an hour but we saw lots of the city at night when it is most beautiful.

Rooms
The rooms are small but this is typical for Paris, but they are beautifully decorated. The bathrooms are modern. We had a room at the front of the hotel that had a little balcony and a great view of the Eiffel Tower. This room was kindly given to us as an upgrade and we were so grateful to get it. Safe located in the room also.

Hotel Features
We had free Wifi which was great. Be aware that there is no lift from the ground floor to reception on the 1st floor, just a staircase. Lovely little lobby area with a computer and internet you can use. Lounges to sit at and a TV as well.

Food
We didnt eat at the hotel, there were plenty of choices surrounding the hotel. There is also a bakery across the road for a cheap breakfast. You must wander down (along side the hotel) Rue de la Harpe where all the restaurants are. Just beautiful.

Staff
The staff were helpful with directions and maps and they also helped us with the computer. Spoke english also.

When i return to Paris i will definately stay here again, it was a delight!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view of the Eiffel Tower, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 4 days in July. The driver from the airport missed the location due to the exterior being covered with scaffolding and plastic. The next challenge was entering under the construction and finding the door to the spiral stairs to the first floor lobby (no elevator). Once in the hotel service was friendly and the breakfast was good. The small room was fine, but I wish that I could have opened the balcony door and taken in some of the sights, sounds and smells of the city. The best thing this hotel has going is it's location, but it is too bad that it is wrapped up in scaffolding and plastic.I hope the exterior renovations will soon be completed so other guests can better enjoy the experience. Unfortunately, the hotel's staff never once mentioned this construction or when it would be completed. I believe a discounted rate would have been appropriate, but we did not push that issue.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger54171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed at Cluny Square for 3 nights in June. What a fantastic location. Within close proximity (walking) to many of the iconic sites & attractions of Paris. The Metro (St Michel) is also located within metres from hotel – the quickest, cheapest + most efficient means of transport.
The hotel itself was charming, typically Parisian – the rooms small, but sufficient & tastefully decorated. The staff were helpful, although it must be said, the breakfast was perhaps most memorable, classically French - Delectable.
In reference to previous comments regarding renovations – I can confirm there is currently scaffolding on the building, this information is available on the hotel website ( I would strongly recommend if you intend on booking a hotel ensure you check the website carefully) however this really won’t impact the vast majority, unless you intend on spending your days inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabelleleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Located on the Boulevard St Michelle, one block from Notre Damme, it is excellently located for walking around the city. it is also close to the 'Hop on, hop off' tourist bus stops and the metro. It has a lift but from the first floor only with a narrow spiral staircase from the street to reception, which is difficult to negotiate with luggage. The room was clean, albeit small with no room to stow luggage. The bathroom, although small, was well designed with easy access to the shower cubicle. For Paris, the nightly rate was reasonable. Unfortunately, the hotel exterior is under renovation which tends to make fine white dust a problem and the view from the window was restricted by the scaffold and netting . Despite the renovation, it is a good little hotel and centrally located, handy to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at cluny square for three nigh in July. We were very impressed by the service and rooms. With reference to some of the bad feedback on this place, yes there is currently scaffolding on the building and yes the rooms are small. My comments to this is, the scaffolding is not as much of a problem as people make out ( unless you are going to spend your whole Paris trip looking out a window) and 'small rooms in Paris...'; what do people expect? Stay outside Paris if you require space! We enjoyed our stay very much and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewhale9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#193 of 1,802 in Paris
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#235 of 1,802 in Paris
925 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#183 of 1,802 in Paris
954 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#230 of 1,802 in Paris
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cluny Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cluny Square

Address: 21 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#303 Business Hotel in Paris
#556 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $96 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cluny Square 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cluny Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Square Hotel
Cluny Square Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing