We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and experience”
Review of Hotel Cluny Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cluny Square
Ranked #373 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Yes, like some reviewers pointed out, the hotel is under renovation works. However, my son and his girlfriend loved it and found the room, the bathroom, the staff, the breakfast and everything else, including the location, absolutely perfect. Of course, anyone knows that the rooms in Paris tend to be tiny, so there is nothing new about it. I will go to this hotel on my next visits to Paris and will certainly recommend it to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linusiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 700 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel has one of the best locations in Paris. Direct service to the airport, subway at the door, most of the attractions are an easy walk. The rooms are now renovated and all done in a traditional french decor. This was our 3rd stay here and the staff has always been very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel, no view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greymanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Cluny Square for six nights. We wanted to walk out immediately when we saw the construction the evening we arrived; we had no notice other than a note from Travel Guide that there would be contruction on the outside of the building but that it would not be noticeable. Really. It was quite discomforting to have a worker three inches from our faces if we opened the curtains in the morning or to listen to the workers before 8 am removing the facade from the area surrounding our window with their tools or to open the window to have all of the discarded building material on the sash. We were afraid to breathe.
The room needed either a good painting or cleaning. The back of the bathroom door was extremely dirty, as were most of the white wall surfaces. The dresser had no handles so we had to leave the bottom drawer open to push the upper two drawers open. The glass covers on the nightstands had such sharp edges that had we turned into them, we would have been cut. And how easily we could have bumped into them. The one of us who slept by the window could not get to the bathroom because the frig blocked the tiny space for walking - that person had to climb to the bottom of the bed to get out.
We had a tiny terrible room in a great location; we did not move because of the penalty we would have to pay and the fact that in June, with no notice, other hotels did not have rooms for six nights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pansygunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This Hotel is in the perfect location of Boulevard St Michel and on the doorstep of the metro which is very handy and made it easy to get around Paris and to the Airport. As previous people commented the Hotel is under construction and there was no pre warning about this so I was not very happy about this as you can't even look out your Hotel window, all you see is is workman and scaffolding. The rooms are absolutely tiny and not any space at all but it was very well decorated and clean which is all we wanted really, we were out most of the day. We got a really good rate which for a Paris Hotel is not bad. We visited Paris, Germany and the South of France and the rooms was the smallest by far. We had breakfast 1 of the mornings and it was really good, great coffee. I would say if it wasn't for the building works it is a good hotel, nothing beats the location and I would stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindselt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

It was a great location with a short walk to Notre Dame and a very short walk to cheap restaurants of the Latin Quarter. There was good access to the Metro. The staff were friendly and enjoyed my attempts at speaking French. The free internet was good and the decor was cute. As with any other Paris hotel, the room was small...however, the main problem (which could be aided by the hotel management), was that the furniture (desk, chest of drawers) were oversized for the room. It meant it was a tight squeeze to get around the room, particularly to get into the bathroom! There was general street noise, but nothing excessive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon vacation. I chose the hotel since its in St Michel so very close to the metro and RER station, and very central. The rooms are small but cosy and clean, which is all we needed since we wouldn't be spending much time in the hotel anyway ! Breakfast is served individually and consists of croissants, coffee or hot chocolate, orange juice and baguettes served with jam or butter and cheese. Its not an continental breakfast but personally I liked it and was more than enough. On the downside there is no lift from the entrance to the lobby so you have to carry the baggages through a narrow staircase and they have no room for left luggages which you have to leave in the lobby. Otherwise its a nice cosy hotel which I will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pacard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

It took us a while to find the hotel depsite exiting the Metro right next to it. This was because it's completely shrouded in scaffolding with covers over the top. We struggled up the spiral staircase with our bags to reception to be given a very cold greeting. Dispatched to our room we found it tiny, but clean and tastefully decorated. However the noise of the drilling, sanding & scraping directly outside our room was unbearable. My husband had to fight for us to be able to change room, despite the male receptionist being able to hear the drilling quite clearly down the phone line! We eventually did get a different room, but were made to feel as if we were being unreasonable. The new room was slightly larger, again clean and well decorated and the noise level was tolerable. There were construction workers directly outside the window so had to keep the curatins closed.

We declined the opportunity to breakfast at the hotel as it looked like a very claustrophobic affair. You would expect for the price of the hotel that breakfast, which costs extra would be taken at tables, rather than on laps. You have to sit in the reception area on small chairs and balance your items on coffee tables and knees. All this is while other guests are checking out under your nose with all their cases, and as everyone was complaining about not being pre-warned of the noise, check-outs took rather a long time. The breakfast looked a bland offering of cereal, fruit & tea/coffee/juice laid out on a buffet table. It's easy to find better elsewhere for a similar price.

Again on checkout we were dealt with rudely, and not even a customary thank you as we paid up. I would never consider staying there again. Manners cost nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#188 of 1,803 in Paris
1,250 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
#484 of 1,803 in Paris
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#240 of 1,803 in Paris
777 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#263 of 1,803 in Paris
808 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#187 of 1,803 in Paris
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cluny Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cluny Square

Address: 21 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#304 Business Hotel in Paris
#557 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $127 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cluny Square 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cluny Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Square Hotel
Cluny Square Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing