We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value walking distance for the train station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Ranked #719 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value walking distance for the train station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

In a short visit to Paris, this hotel was convenient. The room was clean and cozy. The service was very good and the breakfast was decent and always on time. The employees were helpful too.This is a little hotel with a great location with bakeries, restaurants and small shops nearby. In winter there is no air conditioning, but that will not be problem because the room has a great place to enjoy a little cold breeze window for a while. The big plus??? It's right across the metro!! Definitely it was a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanJuanIcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le55montparnasse, Responsable hebergement at Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the 55 hotel montparnasse
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your enthusiasm is a real recognition of the work of the team, who tries to exceed the guest's expectations every single day.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Nadia / Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    245
    109
    20
    15
See reviews for
52
259
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were recommended this place by our Flight centre travel agent as she had stayed with her mother while in Paris. Everything she said was correct.
-close to Pernity station (easy transport via the Metro)
-great little patisserie on the corner and a green grocer across the road for fresh fruit (basket of french strawberries)
-friendly staff at the hotel and in nearby shops.
-clean neat room with what i called 'dreamy French touches' like a balconette with wrought iron and planter boxes :)
The room and facilities themselves were fine, nothing special but comfortable.

Would stay here again. As others have said you feel a little more like you are in the real Paris, away from the stock standard hotel room that could be anywhere in the world.

It may not be as dreamy as having a view of the Eiffel tower but it was lovely enough for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buddenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Positives - efficient front desk, location (very close to a metro station, walking distance to Gare Montparnasse, €20 taxi to Orly), on a lively street with lots of eating choices in the immediate vicinity, appeared to be a very safe area.

Negatives - for the price we paid there wasn't anything to fault in particular

All said and done, I would definitely class this hotel as extremely good value and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulKaitheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le55montparnasse, Responsable hebergement at Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
we really appreciate the time your took to share your impression regarding your stay at the 55 hotel Montparnasse.
Your were satisfied with the front office team, and the location and it's very important for all of us. thank you so much.
Waiting to welcome you for your next stay.
Nadia / Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The staff was great, the rooms were adequate. Good value if you can book in advance when they are offering discounts. Being right across the street (30 meters) from the metro is a huge plus. There is also a great little patisserie, to the left as you exit the hotel which is nice for a quick bite.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in November as part of an anniversary trip. I loved the location (neighborhood and close to the metro). I felt like I was a part of Paris and not in an overly touristy area. The staff was very helpful. One tip, try to speak the language. Even if your french is horrible they will appreciate that you are trying. The room was very small and basic however this is Paris and if you want to enjoy Paris like a parisien then this is what you are going to get. Even though we were on a low floor with the windows closed I found it to be very quiet. Only noise was from the street when the windows were opened. Overall a great place to get some rest after a long day of sight seeting. I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taimata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le55montparnasse, Responsable hebergement at Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear Taimata,
Thank you for this lovely feedback and the kind comments about your stay at the 55 hotel Montparnasse. We’re glad that we fulfilled all your expectations, for this very special event!
I will definitely share your comments with the whole staff, who will be pleased to be rewarded for his daily work and attention to guests’ wellness.
We look forward to welcoming you on your return trip to Paris.
Nadia / Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I came to hotel during first trip to Europe with my mother and my sister in July 2013 after reading the reviews here on TripAdvisor and was fairly pleased.

This is a small hotel but for the deal that I obtained on their actual website, it was a steal. I wanted to make sure that we all had our own bed to sleep on and le 55 Montparnasse delivered. The rooms are small yet clean. There was no AC located in our room but the staff assisted us in providing an extra fan. My mom did have a problem when she found out there was not air conditioning in the room but I continuously had to remind her that we are not in America. We also were able to take advantage of the breakfast buffet due to it being included in the deal we obtained on their direct website so had a variety of options to start our day.

The staff did what they could in order to help us become better accommodated at the hotel. They helped us find a good currency exchange location in which we could obtain a great rate of exchange from dollars to euros. They all spoke English well so we were communicate effectively and they did what they could in order to make our stay in Paris enjoyable.

One downside of staying at the hotel when we did was there was construction going on next door so some days during our week stay, we woke up to jackhammers at six o'clock in the morning (not fun). It was difficult to find this hotel if you do not know where to look for the street was closed off due to construction and the sign of the hotel was high up on the side of the building. We had to circle around the block a few times before we found were the hotel was located.

As far as the sites, we either took the taxi, walked or took the bus to and from the major sites. There were plenty of restaurants and bakeries close by along with breakfast and meat options. There were a couple of malls, retail and grocery stores within walking distance so my sister and I went there to do some shopping and pick up some items. We also did walk to and from the Eiffel Tower which took about us about 30-40 minutes from the hotel but were able to take in and appreciate the city.

If you want a hotel that is not located within the touristy areas of Paris, I would recommend this hotel. I would stay at this hotel again. Thank you le 55 Montparnasse for making our stay stress-free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Hi i was in room no-404 from 01-03dec-for 02nts
Hotel is descent 3 star_ with lovely reception guy_A black Guy who is very Warm & friendly
Room is small but nice-Hotel is 10 seconds walk from Pernety station-staff is very friendy-Reception Guys are with full Knowledge & helpfull-Hotel owned By Indian Gentleman-Descent hotel at a little expensive Price in Residential area_Outside the hotel is Fruit shop where u can get water & coke--Good 3* & cozy hotel for Couples
More than 2 people cannot fit in the room_-Extra bed cannot be acomodated in the room

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANKUR205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#361 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
#1,347 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
#704 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Hotel Orchidee
#421 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
9HOTEL MONTPARNASSE
#277 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Property: Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Address: 55 rue de Plaisance, 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Kyriad)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#162 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#543 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 55 Montparnasse Paris
Hotel Kyriad Montparnasse
Hotel Le 55 Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing