We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, rude staff, but clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Ranked #782 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hard to find, rude staff, but clean room”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We tried to find this hotel by car, but between the one-way streets and road construction it was very hard to find. The parking (15 euros/night) was a few blocks away. The positive: it was underground and secure. The negative: it was so secure we were almost locked inside because no one chose to inform us that you had to be double jointed in order to slide your arm around the locked gate and use your pass to unlock the gate, in poor to no lighting. A very intimidating thing to do alone at 11 pm at night. As with most things in Paris this hotel is best for a skinny person. Everything is a tight squeeze – the elevator, the stairs, the room and especially the bathroom.
The night staff person was exceptionally rude. The morning person on the other hand was very nice and accommodating. The rooms are small but clean. We found the room to be quiet, although in the morning the street cleaning crew outside was a bit loud. I choose to look at the bright side – it was a wakeup call to get moving. This was a decent price for Paris, and I might consider staying here again, but never with a car. The restaurant selection was not a draw but you are in Paris and can easily go around another block and find something else.

Room Tip: Do not bring a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    253
    114
    22
    16
See reviews for
54
271
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Quick Summary: Clean, cheap (for Paris) and decent location next to a metro stop, but walls are paper thin. Would give a 3.5 if i could. Would stay again. Make sure you bring earplugs.

The Good:
-Very clean rooms and comfortable bed.
-Metro station (Pernety) directly across the street.
-Good value (for Paris).

The bad:
-The walls are paper thin. I could have joined into the conversation with the people in the next room. Good thing we always pack ear plugs. There was also a slight "BOOM BOOM" coming from the bar next door. If we were on a lower floor that would have probably been even more annoying.
-Have to take the Metro to go any of the tourists destinations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rush1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely little boutique hotel. Very clean, modern, quiet, bedroom size adequate. Lovely breakfast area and good selection. Lovely to wake up to a bakery smell from the Bakery underneath. Hotel management very efficient and want you to enjoy your stay. Montparnasse itself is teeming with restaurants, but this hotel is on the 'outskirts' of the Montparnasse area so it is about a 15 minute walk if you want a choice of restaurants. Only 2 or 3 restaurants close to hotel but an excellent bistro opposite. Opposite Pernety metro which gives good access to the city. About 15/20 minute walk from the Catacombs. I would recommend this hotel and enjoyed our stay. However, if it was the summer (and it was very cold in March) you may enjoy a stroll along the Seine or major tourist areas in the evening, and you would have to take the metro if you wanted to do that from this hotel. It depends on what matters most to you - the Hotel or the Location. For me, I could not fault the hotel and would stay again, but on this occasion one of our party could not walk very far, so we were a bit restricted in the evening. Tip for Visiting Versailles - take the Metro straight to Invalides (on the same metro line, no. 13), and then get on the RER straight to Versailles. Very easy journey and your metro tickets can be used on the RER too.

Room Tip: We had Room 306 on the 3rd floor at the back, which was good and quiet and I think straight above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I took a trip to Paris to celebrate being together 5 years, and I booked Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel after reading reviews on here. The hotel itself was around 20m from the entrance to Pernety Metro Station, which was fantastic for access to the City, as Pernety is a maximum of 20 minutes away from all the major attractions. Not right in the middle of the typical tourist areas, but not miles outside of everything. Easy transfer from Gare du Nord too, line 4 from GDN down to Montparnasse-Bienvenüe, then a few stops on line 13 to Pernety. The hotel itself isn't large, there are 40 rooms split over 4 floors, and we stayed in room 303 on the 3rd floor, overlooking Rue du Plaisance, with a lovely bakery underneath. Breakfast was included, which was handy, and consisted of croissants, bread, fruit, cereals, ham, cheese, jams, hot drinks, fruit juices, etc. The food was a good start to the day, fuelling us just right for our exploration of Paris. The staff were all really friendly, and all spoke English too, which was a bonus, although we tried our best to speak French! Our room was perfect for our needs. It wasn't especially large, but then what else do you need in Paris but somewhere to set down for the night? The bed was comfortable and we both had good nights sleeps, no noise from outside disturbed us, as I was worrying about this after I read some other reviews. The bathroom was nice and simple, came with a few nice little toiletries, and the bath was surprisingly comfortable for a dip! TV in the room with a good range of channels, and there was even an electrical fan in the wardrobe that we could use, although the temperature of the room was perfect. Very clean hotel, very friendly staff, excellent price, everything we could ask for. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in Paris. If we were to come back to Paris, we would definitely stay in Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel - perfect for us!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor, and we didn't have any background noise from the streets below, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moopet_431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

As it is said, nice small hotel. Nothing special. Not specially close to anything but the area itself is nice and clean.
Rooms are a bit too small but clean and pleasant. The stuff in the hotels pretty good English, very helpful and friendly.
As a summary, nice place for short term staying for good price.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be the same. All are a bit small for my taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serzyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night break to paris for valentines, arrived in the night so got a taxi from montparnasse station which was 5 euros, hotel was easy enough to find, very pleasantly surpised by the hotel after reading reviews, rooms and bathroom were clean and bed was comfortable, not the biggest room ive stayed in but you dont go to paris to stay in the room! Area was lovely, would definately reccommend to stay here.Fab for getting the metro which is easier to work out than first thought.Staff were friendly and helpful and all in all would definately return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in January. Overall the hotel was pretty good, very clean and the front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room rate included breakfast and we found this to be adequate.

The locaation was perfect for the metro and a nice area, but did not find any where decent to eat within the immediate location of the hotel.

The one major downside for me was the noise. I could live with the noise from the binmen in the morning because I am an early riser, but on our last night the couple in the room through the wall were very noisey from about 1.30 - 3.00 and the walls were so thin we could not sleep which kind of ruined our last day in Paris. Mind you I don't blame the hotel more the very inconsiderate guests. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a very clean hotel near to the metro and you don't mind noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#396 of 1,802 in Paris
547 reviews
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
#695 of 1,802 in Paris
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Virgina
Hotel Virgina
#636 of 1,802 in Paris
293 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
#1,388 of 1,802 in Paris
26 reviews
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#238 of 1,802 in Paris
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Property: Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Address: 55 rue de Plaisance, 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Kyriad)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#132 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#542 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 55 Montparnasse Paris
Hotel Kyriad Montparnasse
Hotel Le 55 Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing