We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can use it this one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Ranked #768 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“You can use it this one”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Let's see...
Single room: double bed: great!
they didn't change the bedsheets in the 7 days I was there... and there was only a duvet, no single sheets so I could wake up in the middle of the night because of the heat.
Thin walls but seems to be a place with low noisy guests; and if you get a street view you get the regular street noise like anywhere else
Bathroom: spacefull, bathtub, plenty of good towels: great!
You get a single service of bath products, even when I was there 7 days... so use then wisely
Location: less than 50mt from Pernety metro station
Great to take the train and go anywhere. Great miscellaneous shop in corner in front. Not much to do right around it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ximena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    257
    114
    22
    16
See reviews for
55
272
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were ten people having a company trip.
It was a wonderful stay with really nice staff.

Since we were ten people, I have seen standard, superior, and terrace rooms.

Standard rooms; Nice, clean, and reasonable. Beds were big enough for 2 people and comfortable. Rooms were small, but the price is low because of that.

Superior rooms; They were nice and some of them were really nice. I liked rooms with a window in the bathroom. Rooms were not fancy but I felt like living in Paris.

Terrace room; Really nice. The room was not so fancy but you can feel lots of air. And the terrace was very nice with some plants. It was like living in Paris. I would prefer this room to some expensive 4 or 5 star hotels.

My boss says it would be better if there were a fridge. Most of Japanese hotels have fridges. I know hotels in France don't, but it would be nice if there were.

I want to stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomokorissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

For a hotel with essentially zero amenities (aside from a breakfast that is ALWAYS out of everything besides cereal and fruit, though they claim to have hot food as well) they are incredibly overpriced and with one exception, a very friendly man named Julian, quite rude and unhelpful to those not familiar with the area. The rooms are tiny, there is no storage space, and if you are unfortunate enough to have to deal with the night front desk/security guard who is the only person that works after nine o'clock, I'm afraid you're screwed. He is awful and seems to know nothing about the area, the metro, or the hotel for that matter. Nice view and close to metro, but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel as a deal with our Eurostar tickets, and we were very pleased. We stayed there for a week.
Can't praise the stuff enough for their kindness and helpfulness. We felt very welcomed and all our needs were catered for. We do travel with our little one, and he was well looked after too.
The room was immaculate and the breakfast was always fresh and offering a lot of choice to fill up your bellies before a busy day of sightseeing.
The location is absolutely brilliant, just outside of the Pernety metro stop. The area is nice and clean, with lots of local shops, cafes and restaurants.
Will be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysSpeakOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Le 55 is, above all else, clean and modern. The queen bed was a reasonable mixture of firm/soft. The bathroom tile and fixtures were new and shiny and worked. The carpet looked clean and the staff kept it that way. No strange smells. The small lobby was attractive. WiFi worked most of the time. The elevator did what it was supposed to do. For ~$150/night in Paris, you could do a lot worse.

The neighborhood is nice, safe, bustling, with some pretty good places to eat. The Au Metro brasserie across the street is probably one of the better we encountered in our extensive Parisian wanderings. The Cantine du Troquet restaurant a block away was first-class. And the Pernéty metro stop across the road gave instantaneous access to the whole of Paris' vast subway system.

The negatives:

-- No A/C in the rooms. This would be a problem in the summer. They provided a hefty, noisy fan that helped alleviate humidity, but still.
-- Walls were a little thin. We had some boisterous Italian neighbors whose laughter would wake us up at night.
-- We blew a fuse first day, but just by running hotel-provided fan, room lights, and my laptop all simultaneously. The hotel clerk who reset the fuse tut-tutted us for pulling so much simultaneous voltage. Really?
-- Minimal linens: Two large bath towels, two small hand towels, and a floor towel that was it. Never asked for more.
-- Room is obviously small. No closet, but a space-consuming armoire, into which we were able to cram most of our hanging clothes for the week. No other furniture within which to stow your random belongings. Mercifully, the bed was high enough that we could shove our unfolded roll-aboard suitcases underneath it.

Service was mixed, depending on who was on duty. One gentleman was great: Pleasant and helpful. The other seemed (in a very French way) like the whole thing was a bit beneath him. I speak French, so I couldn't really evaluate their English skills, but they seemed a little dodgy in that area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TherouxWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I am in Paris a lot for work and I've stayed in a lot of different hotels over the years but this is the one I always choose to stay in.

The staff are friendly and the hotel is clean and ideally situated for the metro. It can be a little noisy at time but that is because Pernety has some life to it. It goes quiet in the late evening.

The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. They are also of a good size for Paris.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a modest hotel in Paris and don't want to stay in a bland chain hotel giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been here a few times already. Possibly one of the best hotel if you are not "fussy" and looking for a great value. Fantastic location, safe area even at night. (No problem if you mind your own business anyway...)

Pernety Metro at the door, Brasserie du Metro, Montparnasse train station is a 10 minutes walk. You can even grab "Les bus Air France" that bring you directly to the CDG Roissy airport from Gare Montparnasse... And vice-versa. So... Location location location.

Rooms are tiny, (but very clean, no ac but a fan. Acceptable and comparable by Paris standards) Great service at the front desk, polite and helpful staff. Cheese boutique, wine boutique, fresh bread... are all around. You can enjoy the area, Montparnasse is my favourite destination in Paris, lots to do and so many good restaurants, cinemas... The cimetery is a must, so relaxing and you can pay a visit to my "friend: Serge Gainsbourg.

Once again, not the Ritz or Fouquet Barrieres... But, you know what, I like this 'quartier". I would sincerely recommand this hotel for the price, fair deal mon ami!

Room Tip: Room with a view on "Des Thermopyles" street are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8chase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#379 of 1,801 in Paris
552 reviews
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
#729 of 1,801 in Paris
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Virgina
Hotel Virgina
#630 of 1,801 in Paris
296 reviews
Terminus Orleans
#413 of 1,801 in Paris
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Property: Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Address: 55 rue de Plaisance, 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Kyriad)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#159 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#542 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 55 Montparnasse Paris
Hotel Kyriad Montparnasse
Hotel Le 55 Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing