We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISY !”
Review of Hotel Le A

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le A
Ranked #77 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“NOISY !”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Hotel is a small boutique hotel, not much in the way of luxury and the constraints of space are not unique in Paris to this hotel, but the location, whilst close to the Champs Elysee is "convenient" it is also almost on top of an African Nightclub, which means crowds of screaming and whistling people in the street ALL NIGHT LONG, cars beeping and honking like their horn is a "status symbol", police sirens trying to move them along, car doors opening and closing as passengers car-hop and jump continuously between vehicles...and that most irritating of all..the revving engines and loud awful music with windows all down allowing all within 4 blocks to to "appreciate" their god awful taste in music with volume on the max!
And...this finishes on a Monday morning at 0630 !
The bathroom completely flooded after my first shower, soaking the carpet and leaving an awful mouldy wet-dog smell for the next 2 days...
Breakfast was expensive, limited and uninteresting, with little or no service whatsoever.
The bed was indeed comfortable, but nothing could compensate for the extreme noise all night - and the windows ineffective ability to dampen such.
Until the neighbourhood quietens down, this one is a definite PASS.

Room Tip: Anywhere away from the street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank EmaJayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Le A for your recent visit to Paris.
Your are right about our very "convenient" location: we are in the heart of Paris, a lively and entertainment district with many shops, bars, restaurants and clubs.
We feel sorry if despite our quadruple glaze the noise from the street, which is completely out of our control have disturbed your sleep.
Regards
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    153
    34
    17
    18
See reviews for
56
261
46
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location is extremely convenient, right near shops and centrally located between two metro stops. The staff were extremely welcoming each time we came in and recommended a great Italian restaurant for us as well as booked the reservation for us. The room was small but very clean and functional. Breakfast was extremely expensive especially for the lack of options. All and all wonderful experience, I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Le A for your recent visit to Paris.
We highly appreciated your kind comments about our property and feel very happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.
Also we will do our best to improve our breakfast selection.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
The managing director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel Le A is a boutique hotel (think Malmaison in the UK) in a fabulous location, three minutes from Champs-Elysees. Rooms are predictably small but smart and breakfast is low-choice but high-quality. But the place has too few staff doing real work and too many on reception.

I checked in at 3.05pm and was told my room would be 20 minutes, then five minutes. After a stand off (and spotting six people working at reception and bell-hop) I got in at 3.55pm.

A disaster? Of course not - but unnecessary hassle when I'm spending 260 Euros for one night.

A shrug of the shoulders and blaming other guests and "impossible housekeeping" is something the many managers should have managed before I arrived.

I shouldn't have to complain just to get in my room at 3pm!

Room Tip: The ones ending "2" have at least one, sometimes two, windows on to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Propertyjourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Le A for your recent visit to Paris.
We highly appreciated your kind comments about our room and location.
We apologize if the room was not ready at your arrival, please contact us direclty for your further stay, I will personnaly take care of your booking.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a fantastic location but that's pretty much all I liked about it. Some of the staff were welcoming but can't say I felt the same for all. As some of the reviewers have also noted, a small flood was created everytime I showered so it was very uncomfortable. I thought a 4* hotel would vacuum the carpets daily but this wasn't the case...and my room was barely cleaned on the last day of my stay. Definitely will not stay in this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Two nights in Paris and an extremely convenient location. Very friendly front desk welcome and a helpful concierge. The standard room was small but very modern and functional. The lounge area in the foyer has an extensive collection of art books and it was a serene place to relax after a busy day in Paris. We had breakfast (included) in the small dining area and the selection was adequate. This hotel is a great choice when looking for a convenient location in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wal15130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Le A for your recent visit to Paris.
We highly appreciated your kind comments about our property and feel very happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel Le A is a beautiful boutique hotel minutes from the Champs Elysees, and the rooms themselves are great value (we had a large room at around £220 a night through Mr & Mrs Smith, compared to a "rack rate" of €525 displayed in the hotel). We absolutely loved the room, which was calming and comfortable, and we had a fantastic night's sleep - the street was relatively quiet (except for a couple of car horns at night) and the bed was perfect. Staff are welcoming and friendly, and were consistently helpful, booking us restaurants and remembering that we were staying for our anniversary.

The one negative is the prices of any additional extras. We would have drunk more than our free Mr & Mrs Smith cocktail if they hadn't been €16-€18 apiece, and we didn't eat breakfast in the hotel either night as €24 seemed extremely steep for what was a fairly basic menu. However, there are plenty of better value options nearby, including a French breakfast for €11 and cocktails for €8-9 literally just across the road!

Room Tip: Don't go for the smallest possible room! It's worth paying the extra for a bigger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Le A for your recent visit to Paris.
We highly appreciated your kind comments about our property and feel very happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.
We also keep in mind your comment regarding our breakfast menu, and we will work on it.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I always like it.
Pros:
-Location: 2 minutes walk to Champs Elisees
- rooms are clean and hotel is modern and well maintained.
- price: I usually get €130 when booking on booking.com (always make reservation even if it is a same day one. If you get there with no reservation, you will pay twice the price.
- grocery store/convenient store a block away.
Cons:
- standard rooms are tiny. So, bring as little luggage as possible or get a bigger room if you plan to stay for a few days.
- hopefully you won't be received by some of the front desk ladies that sometimes are rude:(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Negroycanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for always choosing Hotel Le A for your visits to Paris.
We highly appreciated your kind comments about our property and feel very happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.
However your comment regarding our rate is surprising as our offers are always the same for direct or internet booking.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Le 123 Elysees - Astotel
Champs-Elysees
Le Marianne Hotel
Le Marianne Hotel
#201 of 1,801 in Paris
275 reviews
Champs-Elysees
West-End Hotel
West-End Hotel
#45 of 1,801 in Paris
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Bradford Elysees - Astotel
Champs-Elysees
Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel
Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel
#90 of 1,801 in Paris
661 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#55 of 1,801 in Paris
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le A

Property: Hotel Le A
Address: 4 rue d Artois | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#80 Business Hotel in Paris
#205 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#233 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le A 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the 8th arrondissement, interior designer Fédéric Mechiche master hands has created a “lieu de vie” in a 4 stars with subtle mix of sophistication and elegance. In the lobby, where a bookcase harbours many artistic books, you can admire a large wall tapestry by Fabrice Hyber. In all 26 rooms you will find a discreet luxury where the artist’s paintings will evoke singular and enigmatic symbols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le a Hotel
Le a Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing