We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chance or destiny brought me here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Du Pain et des Idees

Du Pain et des Idees
Ranked #1 of 289 Bakeries in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Canal Saint-Martin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chance or destiny brought me here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I wasn't looking for this place. Didn't know of its existence. My Eurostar train was cancelled the previous evening and I had to find a place to stay so found somewhere not far from here, and close to the Gare du Nord. Walked past this place and as the baguettes I had bought the previous day to take home to London were going to go stale sooner now, I thought I'd buy some fresh stuff from a boulangerie to take on the train with me. There are tons of boulangeries everywhere in Paris, but this one takes the cake, so to speak. You open the door, and it just smells sensational. Everything looks artisanally executed. Everything just perfect! I bought one savoury bread which tasted as if it had nigella seeds on it but I couldn't spot any, and some other herb/spicing. Amazing stuff. A pain au chocolat of course, crusty on the outside and soft inside, quite delicate and wonderful. Decent value for money. You won't regret it, this is perfection!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    95
    41
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“rather disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We visited this bakery looking for a very nice breakfast during our stay in Paris, but were sadly somewhat disappointed.
Buying croissants and a pain au raisin on monday morning (9.20h) apparently means you still get the older stuff, and not the freshly baked goods.
The quality seemed nice and the preparation authentic, so i imagine it would be excellent when fresh; "mais hélas"...

ps: if you like brioche, they only do large breads, 250g minimum;.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must visit boulangerie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This bakery is Paris as you imagine it. It's a small place, with a long line of local people waiting for their fresh croissant. The pastries are delicious, especially the one with the pistachio. You can buy something and eat it with a coffee at the cafe just next to it. It's common there to come to a coffee shop with your own pastry. You should visit at the morning or afternoon. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Or M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great selection of breakfast pastries, the pistachio and chocolate escargot hot from the oven wow!, and the Pain Des Amis brought home for Sunday breakfast make this worth it alone. It will be my breakfast of choice over the next few weeks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Riceycbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Patisserie in Paris!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you are visiting Paris, or are lucky to live there, you must try Du Pain et Des Idees! It's simply the best patisserie I have ever been in Paris or France! Their pastries and bread are as fresh and as tasty as they can get! My husband and I both agreed their pain au chocolat banane, tarte fine aux pomme caramelisee (caramelized apple tart), and pistachio escargots were scrumptiously good! You will want to go there more than once.... there will most probably be a line when you visit, but service is fast. As busy as they were, all customers were greeted kindly with a smile, and freshly baked pastries seemed to come out of the bakery often to replenish supply. One of my new favorite places in Paris!!! Fantastique!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaritereCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Du Pain et des Idees also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Du Pain et des Idees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing