We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable hotel near Notre Dame” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du College de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du College de France
Ranked #186 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel near Notre Dame”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

A very clean and comfortable hotel very moderately priced. The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. The breakfast was good. The hotel is very convenient for buses and for the Metro. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kafrin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    341
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
121
437
81
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend in early Feb. Hotel very clean and strong Parisian fee. Room was small but central location made it more than adequate for a short stay. I would far prefer a small well run family run hotel to a large impersonal chain. Very convenient for RER from Gare Du Nord or Airports.

We did a meal and show at Paradis Latin about 10 minutes walk away. Being out of season and booking in advance we got a very good deal through Viator.

We also had a two day pass on the open top busses. Not so cleaver at the begging of February, but gave us something to do and we saw some the the districts I have not visited before.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beanbag112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel was recommended to us. The service was pleasant, the rooms large enough, and clean, the bathroom was clean and modern. There was adequate room for two large suitcases (sometimes a problem). The breakfast was decent and not expensive. The hotel is near large boulevards on the Left Bank near two Metro stations. It is not on any travel sites. There is a sign that says something like, once you stay with us, you are a client forever.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulyJ201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

now that i am writing the review, i am missing this itsy bitsy gem of hotel that was my abode for a week in Paris!! The location of the hotel wins hands down.. a two min walk to the Saint Germain Boulevard and a further three minute walk to the Notre Dame which is the centre of the city. Cafe's, restaurants , souvenir shops, everything is just at a walking distance. I was welcomed by Mr Santa Ana and being a solo traveller i was concerned regarding the safety of the hotel, but i have to say it was super safe even when i came back at 3 in the morning!! The front desk team is very helpful and ever ready to assist :) Looking to go back there on every visit to the city of Lights!!

Room Tip: i loved the higher floors ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sharmisthaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed there two nights in January. The hotel room was very nice, and clean. Just what I needed for a comfortable well located stay in Paris with easy access by RER to the airport and the train stations for other cities in France. However, the first night as I was going to bed and felt very cold, I couldn't fall asleep, I asked him if he could heat up the room, he said that it is a central heating system, and was set to 19 degrees and that turning it up any further would be 'unhealthy'. I therefore covered up, wore another sweater and tried to go to sleep, but my face and nose were getting cold. I couldn't sleep that night until 4am. Later at night nobody answered the phone, so I couldn't renew my complaint. I woke up and had to go to the airport and a half sleeping state which i am sure was less healthy than sleeping with heating at 23-24 degrees. The room cost is also not cheap.
Otherwise, another older man was at the reception in the morning, he was very apologetic and even offered me coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msnimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

i found this hotel too on trip advisor after reading many reviews. the location was a plus and it was certainly wonderful to have everything in walking distance including the shopping over near Chatelet. The hotel is beautifully presented and reception very welcoming.
however
the only thing i would like travellers to be aware of is that if you are a light sleeper dont ask for a room to face the street..check this before going! (if you come for more than 2 nights you may be stuck in a particular room and not able to move)
we stayed as a family for 5 nights and there was noise every nite. there is a discotheque very close and people were leaving 4-5 am and more than slightly intoxicated ..yelling and laughing..i heard one of the guests telling Mr Santa Ana the next day that it was disturbing and he remarked it was normal..For the rest of the stay, starting from 5.30 am on, it was still noisy from cars beeping and trolleys cluttering and being wheeled across the road for laundry and food delivery trucks early in the mornings which were parked out in the street. i asked if we could move rooms and we were told they werent available. Strangely enough two sets of young couples came in off the street with no reservations and they were given rooms for the night.
sadly added to the noise are the paper thin walls of which it is easy to hear some toilets and bathrroms next door.
Also, the breakfast is adequate but it would be nice to have some fresh fruit.

Room Tip: while streetfacing rooms have juliet balconies they are not very quiet. ask for the quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clueyvooton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this lovely hotel over 13 times.We usually go in the winter and get a corner twin room. The staff, Mr. Santa Ana and Mr. Sadr, are very friendly and helpful. They make your stay very pleasant. The hotel is located close to the metro and many major attractions. It is quiet and the long doors overlooking the street just add ambience to the whole experience. We wouldn't stay anywhere else, It is a bargain for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexander.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#296 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#138 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#286 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#161 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#200 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du College de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du College de France

Property: Hotel du College de France
Address: 7 rue Thenard, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#176 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#311 Family Hotel in Paris
#331 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#437 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du College de France 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel, run by Monsieur MARC , and Monsieur SADR, Chef Concierge here for 33 years, we will always be handsome with you and happy to provide the best service ! In a very quiet street, in the heart of the Quartier Latin, discover a charming hotel ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du College de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du College De France Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing