We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is this hotel so highly rated????” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du College de France

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du College de France
Ranked #183 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Why is this hotel so highly rated????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile


Wrong Room:
When we arrived first night, they gave us a room smaller (no bath tub) than what we booked, so up and down the stairs several times and we finally got the room we booked.

No Heat:
The second night we returned to hotel around 11pm it was a very cold night, so our room was about 50F. The front desk guy was very helpful. He came up to our room tried to fix the heater but no luck, then he got us some blankets and offered hot tea and apologized about 10 times. The morning came, heaters started to work and room wormed up around 10am. Our third night the heaters were off again!!!!!! So I asked the same front desk guy. Will the heaters work tonight? His answer and I quote "The heaters are on timer and only will be on at certain time in the morning, but I hope you won't feel cold tonight because its not so cold outside tonight." Wow I really didn't know what to say to that....

Noise:
Other people on trip advisor site have mentioned that the hotel can get noisy and yes 2 out of 3 nights were noisy. We could hear people in the hallway, next room's TV and general street noise.
When my wife was using hair dryer that hooked up on the bathroom wall, next room complained the noise from hair dryer. Front desk guy knocked our room and told us "finish using dryer as soon as possible". We paid for comfortable stay but obviously we weren't as comfortable as we hoped.

Do Not Disturb Sign:
Sometimes we don't feel like letting anyone in our room when we are not there so we leave "Do Not Disturb Sign" on our door. We do appreciate mades cleaning our room but we also appreciate if they would respect our privacy especially when the sign "Do not disturb" is hanging on the nub.

Checkout:
Be sure to have your booking printout handy. When we were ready to checkout they charged us 10? more and they were not going to even listen to us until I pulled up our reservation on my email.

Helpful?
3 Thank Dato513
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DirectionHCF, Propriétaire at Hotel du College de France, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, accept our apologizes for your disappointment during your stay with us.

« Wrong room » : Please note that in your confirmation by email, we never promise you to get a bath, but a bath or a shower cubicle... Anyway, as always, Mr SANTA ANA arranged it immediately for you to get a room with bath for your stay.

Please also remember that you had booked 2 rooms online, and you cancelled the second room at your arrival without paying any fee, just to show you we try to arrange everything for our guests, all the time !

« Heater » : The new night auditor Bastian , tried to be kind with you, but he did a very big mistake , because he should know how to heat manually, and at least he should have offered you to move into another room with warm heater !
He's been warned by me and might be fired if this happen again, but make sure he will know what to do next time !

« Noise » : Of course in our small hotel, using the hair dryer after midnight can disturb your neighboors, or you can hear this kind of noise, but even in a 4 star hotel is the same !. Sorry for this.

« Do not disturb » : I talked to the cleaning lady to remember her to respect it next time, but she answered that the week before, a guest forgot this sign on his door and complained that his room hadn't been cleaned !

« Check out » : You finally met Mr SADR who returned from holidays when you checked out , and he apologizes ten times to you for your troubles and for the mistake of 10 euro in your bill, due to a very special promotion rate you had for the last night. Mr SANTA ANA did the mistake in your bill, and he recently suffered several private troubles which can explain at leaset his lack of concern...

I would be extremely pleased to welcome you again, to proof you that we are a handsome team, working hard for many years to make our guests happy, and we've been successfull for many years, explaining our good ranking in Tripadvisor, which is a very good Website .
Yours very sincerely, Mr MARC, Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    330
    55
    16
    9
See reviews for
117
424
76
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Encouraged by good ratings on tripadvisor we picked this hotel - quite a bit cheaper than 3star fully renovated hotels. We didn't expect luxury - but we did expect a somewhat warmer welcome. Why? because the hotel's website suggests so. As does the confirmation e-mail, and reviews by other travellers. Also, for 110 euros a night, you'd expect a moderately decent bed. Instead, what we got was
- extremely unfriendly gentleman at the reception who would't even look at us
- poor beds - old mattrasses, dirty linen, and too little of it, so the actual matrass was visible
On the plus side: good location, decent shower.
All in all I would't recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchthirtysomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionHCF, Propriétaire at Hotel du College de France, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Sir,
I am Mr MARC, the owner of this hotel, and I never had to comment tripadvisor's comments, but from now, I need your help to improve our quality and services...
Would you be kind enough to let me know your room number (if you remember) so I could change the beds ?
Please note that in our rooms, on your desk is a book with quality formular that you could have fullfilled and droped into my private mailbox , in front of the reception desk on the main floor.
As well, I can be joined any time directly on jmt@hotel-collegedefrance.com
Since January, Mr SANTA ANA who usually work on week ends and worked more during Mr SADR's holidays, got private troubles which can explain his lack of concern. He's gone for few weeks off from now to fix his troubles, and will be back soon with his usual good mood !
Please let us a second chance by visiting us again next time, and you will realize that we can provide a very good service !
Best regards, Mr MARC, Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

If you want perfectly located and quaint, this is perfect for you. Located only a few minutes walk from Notre Dame, the Pantheon, Brasserie Balzar, Cluny Museum, Shakespeare & Co Bookstore, the Latin Quarters and several bus and subway stops, this place is a gem of a find. It's perfect for a long weekend or weeklong stay. Jesus Santa Ana is a great help and had become a friend. The cafe au lait and croissants at breakfast are fantastic. The place is what you would expect for a building that is decades older than the US. It adds to the while Paris experience. It's a great place and a great value. I highly recommend it any time you want to get away in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We had one of the top floor rooms. We had to climb a flight of stairs after the (tiny) lift, but the view was worth it! We could even see the Eiffel Tower over the rooftops. I chose it because we wanted to stay in Paris, and feel like we were staying in Paris! The room was small, but with the lovely view and charming sloped roof with exposed beams, it really did feel like we were somewhere different.
They claim 2 stars but it felt better quality and value than other 3-star hotels we've stayed in in Europe. The front desk is 24/7 and the staff were all very friendly and helpful to us. They have free wifi and we had a good signal all the way up on the sixth floor! We didn't have the breakfast (10 Euro pp) as we could eat for way cheaper from the many patisseries nearby.
Location is great- easy walk across to Notre Dame- and the area has a variety of cafes, restaurants and bakeries. We walked everywhere on the first day but there are two metro stops nearby and a bus stop just around the corner.
We had a nice stay in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012. The staff is very friendly, and never made fun of my beginner french! It is in a wonderful location in the 5th Arrondisement, steps away from a Metro, and a 10 minute walk to the Luxembourg Gardens, where we ran every morning. The big drawback is there is very little storage space -- a closet with a shelf. Although the room was small -- very French -- that wasn't really a problem - we had a lovely balcony. But lack of storage was problematic. Be sure to try the restaurant across the street - Le Pre Verre -- make a reservation -- it's wonderful!

Room Tip: If you decide to splurge and get a room on the top floor --which is very roomy. The elevator doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyfep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

as it not easy to find a good price in the area the choice was good. 5 minutes from Rer and subway . 10 from notredame. if location is important for u . u can consider this hotel. small breakfast . silent room atmleast on 4th floor

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank claudio f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were delayed due to weather conditions on the Eurostar line. My friend who booked the room e-mailed the hotel to let them know we were still arriving, just that we would be significantly later than planned. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and very available to help with any questions you might have. The rooms were small but I never felt crowded. The bathroom was very spacious considering the room size and there were two windows that opened up to give you fresh air if you needed. The heat worked very well in the room. The room we booked had two small twin beds that were next to each other. The beds were comfortable. The rooms contain a safe, desk and a television as well. A heads up should you decide to stay, the hotel does indeed have a lift but if you have bags it is a one at a time sized lift. All in all I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycatdmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#285 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#186 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#136 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Marignan
Hotel Marignan
#449 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du College de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du College de France

Property: Hotel du College de France
Address: 7 rue Thenard, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#167 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#312 Family Hotel in Paris
#332 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#437 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel, run by Monsieur MARC , and Monsieur SADR, Chef Concierge here for 33 years, we will always be handsome with you and happy to provide the best service ! In a very quiet street, in the heart of the Quartier Latin, discover a charming hotel ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du College de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du College De France Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing