We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Location - No storage space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du College de France

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du College de France to your Saves list
Hotel du College de France
7 rue thenard, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Location - No storage space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012. The staff is very friendly, and never made fun of my beginner french! It is in a wonderful location in the 5th Arrondisement, steps away from a Metro, and a 10 minute walk to the Luxembourg Gardens, where we ran every morning. The big drawback is there is very little storage space -- a closet with a shelf. Although the room was small -- very French -- that wasn't really a problem - we had a lovely balcony. But lack of storage was problematic. Be sure to try the restaurant across the street - Le Pre Verre -- make a reservation -- it's wonderful!

Room Tip: If you decide to splurge and get a room on the top floor --which is very roomy. The elevator doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyfep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    320
    55
    16
    8
See reviews for
107
408
74
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

as it not easy to find a good price in the area the choice was good. 5 minutes from Rer and subway . 10 from notredame. if location is important for u . u can consider this hotel. small breakfast . silent room atmleast on 4th floor

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank claudio f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were delayed due to weather conditions on the Eurostar line. My friend who booked the room e-mailed the hotel to let them know we were still arriving, just that we would be significantly later than planned. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and very available to help with any questions you might have. The rooms were small but I never felt crowded. The bathroom was very spacious considering the room size and there were two windows that opened up to give you fresh air if you needed. The heat worked very well in the room. The room we booked had two small twin beds that were next to each other. The beds were comfortable. The rooms contain a safe, desk and a television as well. A heads up should you decide to stay, the hotel does indeed have a lift but if you have bags it is a one at a time sized lift. All in all I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycatdmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you like quiet neighborhood during sleep than College de France is what you need. It's located near College de France and Sorbonne, the teaching facilities of Rive Gauche, left bank of river Seine, however, you can reach Notre Dame in maximum 10 minutes walk. The hotel is well maintained, kept extremely clean. The room is reasonable in size, you'll get much smaller room in London for the price. The internet worked fine at my room. There is a pedestrian street nearby that is full (!) of different restaurants, I don't remeber the name, seems like it's rue de la Harpe ['arp] (you can ask the personnel).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radio303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

For the price, I found this a good find. It's situated in a great location but quiet enough for a good sleep. The room was simple and had all the things you need. The only thing i would complain is that the bed was a bit squeaky and old. Overall, I had a good stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moshimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Yes, this is the tenth time we have stayed at this hotel. We love the friendly staff and the great location. Mr. Marc, the owner, Mr. Sadr, and Mr. Santa Ana try to make sure all of your needs are met. We obviously wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexander.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

While we didn't think the price was too bad on this hotel room, it was a bit cramped with very dated accessories and decor. The hair dryer looked like it was from the 1950s and was taped together. The bathroom was cramped and moldy. When we called to reserve we were told there was "parking available" - it is located in a park garage a few blocks away that will cost you an additional 28,50 Euro each day you are parked there. My email confirmation of the booking said "all drinks complimentary 24h a day". When we checked out they tried to charge us for two breakfasts that we didn't have and then told us that the coffee we had in the morning was not free, and we ended up having to pay for it. The staff (other than the owner) was very friendly and helpful, but that did not make us feel any better about our stay.

Room Tip: Just don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#274 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Marignan
Hotel Marignan
#389 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#370 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#127 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#163 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du College de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du College de France

Property: Hotel du College de France
Address: 7 rue thenard, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#141 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#311 Family Hotel in Paris
#331 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#436 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel, run by Monsieur MARC , and Monsieur SADR, Chef Concierge here for 33 years, we will always be handsome with you and happy to provide the best service ! In a very quiet street, in the heart of the Quartier Latin, discover a charming hotel ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du College de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du College De France Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing