We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Paris”
Review of Hotel Muguet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Muguet
Ranked #163 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Paris”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic hotel, very clean, very good sized rooms for Paris. Location great close to metro and walkable distance to many sights in Paris. There are some lovely restaurants in the area as well as being very close to the Rue Cler with some great cafes and shops. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    506
    72
    13
    11
See reviews for
297
557
81
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights over the Easter period. We liked the location of the hotel, in a pleasant residential neighbourhood within walking distance of the river and major sites such as the Tuileries, Eiffel Tower and Musee d'Orsay. The weather was unseasonably cold while we were there so we also appreciated the proximity to the metro station. Our room (room 16) was a quiet room on the first floor facing the inner courtyard. The room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke, despite being a non-smoking hotel. It was also very small - the bed took up most of the space, and the shower cubicle was so tiny that I'm not sure a large person would be able to get in there - I was thankful that neither of us is overweight! Having visited Paris before I know that this is normal in hotels of this class, but I'm mentioning this because our expectations were a bit higher having read the excellent reviews on this site, and as such we were a little disappointed in the room. We were there for my birthday, and I was hoping for something that would feel a bit special. My partner actually contacted them a couple of days before we arrived to request a room with a bath (mentioning that it was a special occasion), but he was told that no such rooms were available. We did sleep well which is the most important thing, but it wasn't a room I wanted to spend any time in. I found the service polite but fairly impersonal. We did not eat breakfast there because we resented paying an additional EUR13 each - again, I know that few hotels in Paris include breakfast in the price but it would be really nice if they did! There are plenty of cafes in the area where you can get a simple breakfast for less than the hotel price.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inner courtyard are particularly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IceandIndigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brush Prairie, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Upon our arrival in Paris, we were so looking forward to our stay at the Hotel Muguet. We were traveling as a family of five, with two adults and three children. We had made our reservations about five weeks before our trip and had spoken to the owner's daughter via phone to confirm them, specifying the number of people in our family.

Sadly, when we arrived, we were greeted with the news that we would actually not be able to stay in their hotel, due to their fire policy and told that the rooms will only hold a maximum of three people. What??? We were absolutely devastated to say the least! Even though we had explained that we had made the reservation for five and were never informed that one room was not an option, the staff, including the owner could care less! When we asked if the owner had any compassion for us, considering the fact that we were traveling with children, she promptly said no and that she could not (we think would not) recommend any other options. Keep in mind that this is the owner of a hotel in Paris telling us that she hasn't any recommendations, even though she presumably is well aware of many hotels and contacts for us to try...shame on her! She saw our children sitting on their luggage, looking very confused and upset; she even saw our 5 year old crying and yet showed no emotion, empathy or compassion towards us. When I asked the owner again if she would help us, she simply replied that she couldn't and that we should have specified that we had 5 in our party, which as I said before we had done. Feeling extremely tired, and quite frustrated at this point, we were about to walk out, hail a taxi and simply try our hand at finding other hotels when one of the employees offered a lifeline. Without the prompting of the owner, he had actually found us another hotel option and gave us the number. We were able to make reservations there and were off in that direction and out of Hotel Muguet as quickly as we could.

This was not our first traveling experience, as we have stayed at and made numerous hotel reservations around the world. And yet, this was the first time that we had ever been treated with such rudeness and coldness, with no offer of help or compassion by the manager/owner. On the contrary, we have been met with outstanding customer service in most cases and plenty of good old fashioned help.:) On our next holiday in Paris we will certainly NOT be staying at Hotel Muguet! Shame on the owner!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank ElizabethW121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muguetmanager, Directeur général at Hotel Muguet, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear ElizabethW121,

first I want to thank you to have taken time to write this review.

I am very sorry that our welcoming was not as faboulous as you thought.
I am Charline, the owner's daugther and I can tell that you never called me or anyone else at the hotel to precise you would ne a party of 5. If you have had done so, we all would have let you know that it is not possible to have more than 3 people in a room at the Hotel Muguet.
And so, we would have proposed you to reserve 2 rooms: 1 double and 1 triple as we always propose for this type of family party.

Plus, as we always do when we receive a reservation thru our website or thru a distributor's website such as Venere, we send an email to reconfirm you reservation. You answered to this email and asked many, many questions about us but you never, ever told or wrote anything about being five!
Also, as you may know it is possible to leave a note to the hotel while you're reserving the room but you didn't mentioned anything about being 5 on your reservation.
You simply booked a triple room for 3 people.

So you can understand easily that when you arrived, we couldn't accept you.
And you are right: it is mostly because of safety reason in case of fire - the insurance wouldn't work if they realise we didn't respect the safety policy - and because our room are simply too small for such a big family.

While the owner, my mother Catherine Pelletier, was trying to make you understand that you were not quite honest telling her you had told me about your situation, Georges, our great front desk manager, was kindly trying to find a hotel for you. He found it and we were glad because finally you would have had somewhere to go and rest after you long trip.

Again I am sorry about this, but you never told us anything about your situation and you should be ashamed to say we did a mistake when we just did our job and did it very well.

Best regards.

Charline Pelletier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed four nights at Hotel Muguet in a room at the end of the hallway (#49). Despite this, the noise of other doors opening and closing was enough to wake us up many times. I was surprised how well these sounds echoed into our room. And even with the do-not-disturb sign displayed on our door, we were woken up just after 8 am one morning by housekeeping staff who were chatting just outside our room. After several minutes, I did get up to ask them to be quiet. Unfortunately, we couldn't fall back to sleep afterwards.

The room was exactly as pictured on the website – simple, small, and nicely decorated. The corner of the armoire to hang clothes was not handy, but the shelving on the other side was easy to access. There was an alarm clock and small TV, but no in-room coffee or tea. A sign on the desk indicates that soda and coffee are available downstairs – either will cost you 2 EUR – and that eating in the room is forbidden.

It was a tight fit in the bathroom which was equipped with a shower (no bath). The door for the shower did not close properly, and there was a gap inside the stall (or outside, depending how far you tried to close the doors). The floor did get wet, but not too badly. Also, the sink stop leaked.

Although I understand it is common at hotels in Paris, I didn't care for the practice of leaving our room key with the front desk when heading out for the day. When we would return and were greeted by staff we had not met yet, they never asked for ID or our names when giving us our key. The hotel quotes safety and security as reasons for the practice, but I ended up feeling less safe and secure, and did worry a little about our belongings that couldn't fit in the room's safe.

The location was great. You can find the hotel on a quiet street, just once block from Avenue de la Motte-Picquet and a short walk to the Ecole Militaire Metro station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Muguet on the recommendation of a friend and it was great. The location is super!! I spent 5 nights with my son on vacation and we walked everywhere or took the subway it was totally convenient. Many good restaurants near-by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Muguet for 9 nights in February and found the staff friendly and helpful. The room, which had an ensuite, was very clean and a reasonable size for an extended stay. The location is fantastic with easy access to the metro, restaurants, rue cler markets for easy food, eiffel tower views and services such as laundries. The hotel breakfast is not necessary as there are plenty of french take away options along Rue Cler.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrBally12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were at the Hotel Muguet for a full week, and very much enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly, the room was large, clean, and nicely appointed, and the location couldn't be beat. On top of it all, it was a great price for what we got.

Room Tip: We were on the courtyard on the third (American fourth) floor. No view, but nice and quiet. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverGateCyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Empereur
Hotel de l'Empereur
#255 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#143 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#68 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#72 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#128 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muguet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muguet

Property: Hotel Muguet
Address: 11 rue Chevert | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Paris
#166 Business Hotel in Paris
#191 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muguet 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel Muguet takes its name from the French for lily-of-the-valley, a theme reflected in the hotel's yet refined decoration. Located between the Eiffel Tower and the Invalides, our hotel is very charming and parisian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Muguet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muguet Hotel Paris
Hotel Muguet Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing