We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulously friendly and helpful staff, sweet location, pretty room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Ranked #40 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
kula
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fabulously friendly and helpful staff, sweet location, pretty room”
Reviewed July 21, 2009

wonderful small and personal hotel, clean and classy, quieter location next to Luxenbourg parc, Xavier the young day manager is wonderfully friendly, cheerful and informative. Great intro to France and Paris. Everything is within a mile or 2 . nice boutique reception and cocktail area. comfortable and very clean. A great little library/sitting area..........recommend this to everyone. abientot !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taowow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    222
    28
    5
    5
See reviews for
182
812
44
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Booked largely on the strength of the reviews here but having been, I'm a bit puzzled by some of the gushing reports....

This is a good, small hotel in an excellent location for St Germain and the left bank generally. 10 min walk from Luxembourg metro and train to CDG and Paris Nord. On a busy road, most of the rooms face the much quieter side street, so relatively peaceful. Superior room was small but well furnished. En-suite all marble and well equipped. Air con was welcome.

Staff were friendly and helpful. However only one serving breakfast and the kitchen unable or unwilling to poach eggs...The breakfast was disappointing in terms of choice and quality. Really very basic, choice of two uninteresting cheese slices and one of poor quality ham. Some yoghurt cartons, croissants, pain au chocolat and bread. What was left of fruit salad was OK, had to ask for the bowl to be replenisehed. Coffee OK.

Didn't sample dinner or use the bar which looks smart and is in the small reception area. PC available with internet in the small library and a gym in the basement.

Nearby Brasserie Lipp on Boulevard St Germain was fabulous...great food, fantastic traditional style setting and service that was pure theatre. Again like the hotel, expensive but this felt more like value for money.

Overall, nice hotel but did not get the "wow" I was expecting from earlier reviews. Seemed expensive for what is was.....but maybe that's just Paris and the € at the moment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rothesayisexotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Stayed for 5 nights July 4 - July 9 2009, We chose the hotel based on location and excellent reviews and we were not disappointed. The room was very comfortable and peaceful. The breakfasts were excellent. Jacques and Andreas took care of us with excellent directions and restaurant reservations. The location of the hotel was perfect for us with its proximaty to Luxembourg gardens and all the highlights of the 6th. We hope to come back for another trip to Paris and would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, Ca.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Checking out briefly and have no qualms about leaving. Hotel was well located and room was attractive. Bed and bedding not that comfortable. Two smaller beds placed together for a king size not that unusual but odd small covers for each person- a nuissance. Bathroom is nice with marble floor and good bath/shower.

I was unimpressed with the service pretty much from checkin. Smeone brought our bags up, dropped them, said "welcome to Paris", then turned and left. In many years of travelling have never experienced anything like this (yes, I have been to Paris before) and was pleased not to offer a tip. Another person working the front desk during the day was cordial but dismiisive and slightly patronizing (she is not French BTW). I always felt like a bother although perhaps I am. I did find Xavier at front desk to be pleasant and helpful. His dinner rec to us was quite good and he was helpful with planning metro stops- subway here quite good and very efficient.

Lobby is small and unimpressive. Did not have the breakfast but it looked very average compared to other hotels he have been to in Europe and the U.S. Not sure of the cost for the breakfast but there are many places nearby to eat.

Our room (#11) overlooked a small courtyard with a fountain- not bad and generally quiet with exception of some occ noise from nearby elevator shaft. Internet in room never worked properly and issue was not fixed despite several requests. I was able to log on to a weaker signal via hotel's library. Access point dedicated to room never connected.

OK, so the hotel is decent but in my opinion has some flaws. I am going to re-examine my relliance on trip Advisor because it does not typically factor in "star" or "diamond" rating system. This is a nice boutique type hotel but I did not find it as comfortable or service oriented as a chain hotel (Sofitel Arc de Triomphe) I stayed in two years ago.

As I am aware that opinions are subjective (age, gender, education, income) for reference I am a 51 yo physician from La Jolla, Ca.

I would not recommend this hotel to my friends but to each his or her own. Too bad for me as my travel agent has suggested I stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Aus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Loved this hotel. Location is great, very central. The staff, from desk clerk to the cleaners were very friendly and made our whole experience memorable.
The rooms are of a good size for Paris. Would recommend this hotel to any who ask.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank benchtalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

It was our first trip to Paris and the hotel was in an excellent location in a quiet area.. We enjoyed immensely the breads, cheeses etc. for breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful especially Jacques and Lauren at night. We had an early taxi arrival for our departure and Jacques made sure he had breakfast for us before the taxi arrived. I would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziskinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in....and, indeed, we both have done a lot of traveling. This boutique hotel is impeccably clean, beautifully appointed, perfectly located, and the staff is unbelieveably helpful--what a gem!!! We stayed for a week from June 1 to June 8: Loved our charming room looking out to the park and the bathroom was all done in marble, and we could walk to Notre Dame, the Louvre, Invalides (there is a fabulous new military museum there), the D'Orsey, etc. etc. But, it truly was the incredibly helpful and nice staff of this hotel that will keep us coming back. Jacques was a tremendous help to us each evening and he would even greet my husband each morning in the gym with a glass of fresh orange juice at 5:30 am. The ladies at the front desk were wonderful to help with our daily itinerary and it was always a joy to come back to our cozy hotel in the evening before dinner and be greeted by the bartender Lauren with his fantastic cocktails---he is a real charmer. And, Xavier, who is on the late afternoon shift at the front desk, was phenonominal in helping us connect on the Metro to Le Grand Colbert for dinner and in recommending and booking restaurants--he is young and well educated in hotel management and will go a long way in this business. And, this hotel is in the St-Germain-des-Pres district in the trendy LEFT BANK which is rich in culture, nightlife, and an endless variety of restaurants. We booked this hotel through Tripadvisor and will continue to use this service. THANK YOU, THANK YOU Hotel Luxembourg Parc--we will be back! Debbie & Alex Saucedo, Santa Barbara, California

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank golfdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#22 of 1,802 in Paris
1,803 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#27 of 1,802 in Paris
701 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#31 of 1,802 in Paris
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#95 of 1,802 in Paris
364 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxembourg Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxembourg Parc

Property: Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Address: 42, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#23 Family Hotel in Paris
#36 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#77 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxembourg Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Luxembourg Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxembourg Parc Hotel
Luxembourg Parc Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing