We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet little gem in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Ranked #64 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I spent 4 wonderful nights at the Luxembourg Parc recently and was impressed with what a great little gem this hotel is. The small hotel is located directly across from the Luxembourg gardens. The front desk speaks French and English and is so very friendly and helpful with maps and reservations for restaurants around the hotel, which is a must. There was a lift to our room #11, which had a beautiful marble bathroom, gorgeous window treatments and the very best bedding for a comfortable 4 night's stay. There is a TV and mini bar in the room and a safe. Our room faced into the courtyard, but others on the upper floors overlooked the park. Downstairs there is a lovely breakfast room in a mint color, with everything you could need or want for breakfast, so you won't have to look elsewhere . There is also a small attrractive bar close to the reception to enjoy a cocktail or read. No other meals are served on the premises, however there are several good restaurants within walking distance. Many English speaking people were staying there .

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the upper level, overlooking the park. Take advantage of the advance purch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jocar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Friendly and welcoming team,always smilly, a real "plus" in this charming boutique Hotel.
you can walk from there to anywhere else in Paris,
Simple but good and fresh breakfast, cosy library when you are tired to walk, It's the place where you have to go.

Room Tip: rooms with park view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a Superior Double room on the 4th floor for 2 nights. Nice & spacious, and comfortably furnished.
Nowhere to park outside hotel, so had to drag our cases from the underground Vinci car park at San Sulpice, but luckily not too far away.
Hotel is in a great location just south of San Sulpice and opposite the Jardins du Luxembourg.
All the staff we encountered at the hotel were very friendly and efficient.
Good working shower unit in bath, albeit a bit cramped. Plenty of towels, face flannels, bathrobes etc. Free Wifi throughout hotel.
Nice little bar for a drink before going out to dinner or a night-cap before bed.
Breakfast - basic continental, but quite acceptable.
Lift ceased to work during our stay, which was a pain, but clearly not the fault of the staff. They let us off our modest bar and mini-bar bill by way of compensation, which was a nice unsolicited gesture.
Hotel is not cheap by any means, but had a very nice ambience - I can see why it scores so highly on TripAdvisor on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papa_Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Booked for romantic getaway based on reviews and pics, and they did not disappoint. Wonderful room and bathroom. Very quite to the park side thanks to great windows. Staff made experience excellent. Elevator was out, breakfast came free for the trouble. Not inexpensive, but great considering the large chain hotels charge even more for a lot less charm. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The restaurant down the street is just wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staff we encountered at Hotel Luxembourg Parc were all very friendly and didn't seem to mind at all that we didn't speak French. They were very courteous and helpful, providing restaurant recommendations, sight-seeing recommendations, and even directions on how to get to certain places. I did not ask for her name but there was a lovely woman, originally from Germany, working the front desk that was particularly pleasant. I reserved an executive suite with a view of the cute courtyard -I think that's what it's referred to as, and it was roomy and lovely - quaint, clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. Surprisingly, the water pressure in the tub/shower was decent! I must say that by European standards, the size of the bathroom in the suite was more than adequate! Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

The hotel is also just across the street from the lovely Luxembourg Park - the loveliest spot in Paris! Don't bother with the cafe in the park though, they serve cold coffee and we actually encountered a rude waiter there(the only one we encountered). My husband and I witnessed this same waiter harassing a tourist for taking a seat at one of the outside tables within the cafe perimeter. This tourist made the "mistake" of getting something from the "to go" counter - owned and operated by the cafe - then assuming he could sit at one of their tables to enjoy his treat. Apparently, that's a no-no but I think there are other ways to let someone know that instead of being a rude, belligerent jerk about it.

Back to the hotel! A couple of minor negatives would be that the floor that we were staying on (3rd) had a stack of towels on a movable rack and the extension hose for the built in vacuum cleaner blocking the lift (it wasn't working at the time). They probably did this on purpose so that no one would attempt to use the lift but it wasn't a pleasant sight to walk past. Also, since the lift was broken, there were two mornings when we woke up to the sound of someone going to town with a hammer. To their credit, they didn't start the racket until 9:00AM local time but since we came from a different time zone (8 hours behind the local time) we weren't quite ready to be awoken at 9AM.

This hotel is ideally located for great cafes, the park, Saint Sulpice, and shopping. A few of our favorites - Cafe Louis (bar and cafe), Cafe Henri (this might be referred to as a Bistro), Cafe Lucia (an Italian place that's comparable to any restaurant in Rome and gets superbusy at around 7:30 local time), Cafe Phillippe (literally right across the cobblestone street from the hotel and serves great soufflés!). If you're into shopping and like classics with an edge, go to the Eleven Paris Shop - rad stuff! All of these places are within 3/10s of a mile walk from the hotel!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, book a room with a view of the courtyard and the street! You get twice the num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhseril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived on Friday afternoon by Eurostar into the Gard du Nord and used the Metro to St Sulpice as recommended by the Hotel website and it was then a 5 minute stroll to the Hotel.
The Hotel is beautiful and well kept both outside and in. On the ground floor there is a small bar beyond the reception area and just off of this is a small library with an open fire which must be very cosy in the winter. There is also breakfast room on the ground floor and on the lower ground floor there is a gym.
The receptionist was very friendly and booked us in quickly and efficiently.
We had booked an executive room and were very impressed by the size (especially for Paris), comfort and cleanliness of the room. The bed is a proper kingsize, and the marble bathroom is large and well appointed with not only a bath with shower over but also a hand held shower. The only downside was the hairdryer - one of those horrible hotel numbers that was heavy and only worked if you kept your finger on the button, I will definitely take my own hairdryer next time. There is ample storage space in the bedroom and plenty of space in the bathroom for toiletries. There is a small in-room safe and free wi-fi connection. Our room overlooked the small internal courtyard so not much of a view (and to be fair I didn't request a room with a view of the Parc) but there was also no traffic noise from the road outside.
The only slight problem was that the Hotel lift was not working during our stay - we were only on the first floor so this caused us no problem at all, but the hotel is 5 storeys high so if you are less able and on a higher floor there may be a problem for you. The hotel, which I booked directly so they had my contact details, did not let us know in advance about the lift. The hotel did offer us complimentary breakfast as compensation for the lack of lift which was lovely but would not have helped if one of us had not been able to manage the stairs.
The breakfast was very nice, the usual yoghurt, meat, cheese buffet as well as fresh bread and pastries, hot drinks and fresh orange juice served by friendly and attentive staff.
The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of the attractions - now this is subjective and we do like to cover cities on foot so walking 12 miles in a day is quite usual for us - but it really is possible to reach many of the main tourist areas on foot. The hotel is also situated close to the Metro at St Sulpice (line 4) but we only used it once to get to Montmatre. The Eiffel Tower, the Trocadero, the Arc de Triomphe, the Louvre, Notre Dame etc can all be reached at a gentle strolling pace and of course you should never visit Paris without stopping at the roadside cafes to people watch.
Sunday was spent in and around the Luxembourg Gardens where you can watch the children sailing their boats, tai chi being taught under the Chestnut trees, listen to jazz or watch the park keeper ticking off the people who disobey the unwritten rules and put their chairs in the wrong place. From here we walked to the catacombs at the top of Montparnasse (be prepared for a 2 hour queue) and then returned via the burial ground where you will find the graves of Andre Citroen, Jean Paul Satre and Simone de Beauvoir among others.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel and as frequent visitors to Paris we will be using this as our base in future.

Room Tip: Our room, number 11, was at the back with a view into the internal courtyard and utterly peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YbMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel Luxembourg Parc may be small but it did not lack in style, ambiance, or luxury. Our room was small (according to US standards, not Parisian) but elegantly appointed and felt larger due to the high ceilings with exposed wooden beams. The bathrooms were wonderful all decorated in marble with hot water on demand in the tub/shower. There was a magnifying mirror for those of us with less than perfect eyesight, and a place to put everything. There is a nice library/sitting area with a fireplace (nice to sit by after touring on a cold day) that's perfect for having drinks before or after dinner. Very cozy and warm.

The breakfast was nice, as well, with a good selection of cold meats, fresh breads, croissants, cereals, fruit, juice, jams, and coffee or tea. The hotel staff was super helpful and friendly.

Luxembourg Parc is directly across the street and gorgeous. People come and sit in the park after work just to relax and "people watch". The metro stop is not too far, just a casual walk through the park to the other side. Elegant shops and excellent restaurants are walking distance.

Hotel Tip: Bring your own blow dryer. You have to hold down the "on" button on the supplied dryer to keep it on. Bring a converter for US 110V appliances.

We loved this place so much that we intend to stay here every time we visit Paris!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lennybig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#21 of 1,802 in Paris
1,908 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#83 of 1,802 in Paris
705 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#59 of 1,802 in Paris
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#93 of 1,802 in Paris
680 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#99 of 1,802 in Paris
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxembourg Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxembourg Parc

Address: 42, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#23 Family Hotel in Paris
#51 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#76 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $213 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxembourg Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luxembourg Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxembourg Parc Hotel
Luxembourg Parc Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing