We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you meet the weekend night reception guy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Ranked #41 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Make sure you meet the weekend night reception guy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

We have stayed at many 5 star hotels all over Europe and have to say that the hotel itself is beautiful and wonderful but what really made this stay the best of our many years of traveling is the gentleman that works the front desk at night on weekends.
He spoke perfect English and was not only extremely helpful but very kind to us as well when we came in exhausted from a day in the rain. And hes a great bartender too!
He completely made us feel welcomed and we will always recommend this hotel based on this gentleman's truly *above and beyond* performances.
I believe he works the weekends only as we didn't see him when we left on that following Wednesday morning.
We are already planning our next trip and are looking forward to another visit with this *Wonderful Parisian Ambassador*.
We are older and can pick and choose where we stay and with whom we speak and this guy is a gem.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — the night front desk man on the weekends
  • Disliked — had terrible rain this december but the cheerful man at the desk made it all seem ok
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank crownenvy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    221
    28
    5
    5
See reviews for
181
805
44
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

We went to Paris for a long weekend and know three words in Fr. . .all hotel staff were tri-lingual and were incredibly helpful, warm, fun. This is a classy, sm hotel, w easy access to the Seine, across the street from the Luxembourg Gardens and Museum, lots of great little restaurants nearby. II t was perfect in every way.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NjRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

Stayed here for a few nights in Jan 2008. It's a lovely hotel in a very good location for cafes, restaurants and shopping. The area around is nice and quiet. Great location for touring the Latin Quarter. Staff are very friendly. We had a lovely room and there is a cosy room downstairs beside the bar. Could not find one fault with this hotel. Have stayed in other hotels in Paris before which were terrible. Will return to Luxembourg Parc again. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank maximilianIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights earlier this month in an executive room, No31, we got a nice deal with the hotels 4 for the price of 3 offer.

Our room was very nice, quite large, beautifully decorated with two windows out onto the courtyard, we chose a room here as some people had mentioned noise from the road. We did experience a little noise from other rooms, with people moving things on wooden floors etc.

There is a good sized bathroom incorporating a nice deep bath ideal for a soak after a long days walking. Shower was over the bath and nice and powerful, if a little low. I am about 6'2 and I would think anyone taller would bang there head on the shower head.

The hotel was lovely, beautifully decorated with very helpful and always friendly staff. In an absolutely perfect location as far as we were concerned.

We would return!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Noise from other rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank worz666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Luxembourg Parc (HTP) for four nights at the beginning of December 2007 -- it was absolutely lovely, cosy, and an incredible retreat from the city. Having stayed at other 4 and 5 star hotels in Madrid (the Ritz, for example) and Rome (an overpriced, horrible hotel) -- we definitely thought HTP provided a good value for a high quality accommodation.

What is great about this hotel?

The rooms are beautiful...absolutely beautiful, well-maintained, and offer lovely details. For example, our Executive Room (which is picture at their site, www.hotelluxparc.com ) still retained much of the original wood-beamed ceiling. It was astonishing to look at it looking up from the bed as the ancient timbers showed a distressed past (termite damage), but they were perfectly restored and integrated into modern, clean stucco ceiling. Simultaneously, you could appreciate the age and hand-crafted nature of building, as well as enjoy the modern conveniences of a perfectly functioning climate control and a clean marble bathroom. The bed's decorative duvet cover was clean and crisp -- and it was not a polyester cloth with a print, but actually a woven cover with embroidery. The walls were handsomely decorated with tasteful art work as if the room were inside a home that had slowly accumulated art treasures from travel. The parquet wood floors were well cared for and dust free.

What could be improved?

The morning breakfast buffet, as others have noted, was relatively spartan given the price 15 euros per person. But, it is ideal for two occasions. The first morning after your long flight over the Atlantic Ocean from the USA and the last morning before you depart. It provides a dependable, substantive meal in a quiet dining room.

And the staff?

Almost all of the desk staff are native British English speakers. They are very sweet and as attentive as you wish them to be. They never thrust themselves at you, but rather readily greet you with a Bonjour and quickly pickup on if you need something or simply provide you with a generous smile and send you on your way to enjoy the city. As the weather was a bit cold and rainy during our stay -- they also made sure to offer us the use of their hotel umbrellas.

Also, when I originally planned our trip I had accidently booked the wrong dates. This was totally my fault, but after a quick email exchange with the staff before our arrival into Paris -- they efficiently made the booking changes and notified me via email. And, Sara, the front desk lady that assisted me with the booking change, knew who I was when we checked in the first day. I was both touched and pleased to know that she remembered.

One more item, there was a mix-up on the mini-bar tab. We did not consume anything from the mini-bar, but the cleaning staff had noted we had drank two beverages. Again, Sara did not even hesitate and took us at our word and did not charge us for these beverages. Sara, and her colleagues, are the ideal hotel staff that all travelers hope for -- attentive, kind, trusting, and friendly. I promise you won't be disappointed.

We couldn't speak more highly of the Hotel Luxembourg Parc. We cannot wait for an excuse to stay there again.

Lastly, do know that the staff at Hotel Luxembourg Parc is very attentive to reviews at Tripadvisor. After checking out, we mentioned that we had located them through Tripadivsor and again, Sara, noted they were disappointed to learn that a prior traveller had been unhappy with their stay. If you look for that review -- you will see it -- the one relating to an open or unlocked door for three days. Sara very quickly brought up this bad review, which surprised me. I hadn't read it as had been written during our stay at the hotel. She noted that the hotel had not been aware of the issue that the traveller recorded in their review. Further, she was disappointed that the hotel did not know about the problem until after the fact. Her honesty was astonishing because it demonstrated that the staff was (1) genuinely interested in following up on guest reviews and (2) desired to correct the situation. Again, I think this is further evidence of a well run hotel that is intent on keeping its guests happy.

  • Liked — The lovely room, excellent location, and attentive staff
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SpanishHistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
347 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

We found this hotel thanks to TripAdvisor - the reviews were so favourable that we could not resist booking here. We got an excellent rate by booking early through the hotel's website and treated ourselves to an executive room. This was beautifully furnished and overlooked the inner courtyard so was very quiet at night, although our friends, in the standard room opposite, overlooking the side street, also found their room very quiet and although it was smaller than ours, it was equally well-appointed. Service was fantastic throughout our stay, and one evening, when we came back with friends to have tea in the library, the staff rushed to light the fire for us which made it even more inviting. Our room rate included breakfast which set us up nicely for the day's sightseeing. Only the weather disappointed us, as it rained most of the time - the hotel thoughtfully provided umbrellas which could be taken from the lobby as needed. The evening turn-down service was a nice touch - no chocolates on the pillow but towels and toiletries were replaced and replenished, and the bedside lights were left on to welcome us on our return. Definitely one to revisit.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Antal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2007

Stayed for 3 nights in late November at the HLP. We emailed the hotel direct and reserved a Superior room at 310 euro p/n, about 2 weeks in advance (think in hindsight we might have got a better rate using their websites ‘internet’ or ‘last minute’ rates). Room 35 is a corner room (lift to the 3rd floor) with two windows – the front overlooks Rue de Vaurigard and the side Rue Servandoni (with the Kiwi restaurant on the corner) and nice views. Reasonably sized and tastefully decorated with writing desk, soft lighting and closet in the entrance hall with aircon control. The traffic noise is quite noticeable if you leave the windows open but it was November so we had them closed most of the time and the room was very peaceful. There is a tv, mini bar and safe in a cabinet in the corner. Bed was comfortable with two single duvets (interesting idea, no-one hogs the duvet!). The bathroom was large, bright and clean with a modern heater and a nice deep bath with shower overhead.

Reception was always staffed and very helpful, especially Miguel and the French/American chap who also doubled up as barman on the Sunday evening and made my partner a couple of perfect Margarita’s. He also put on the fire in the library for us and always checked to make sure we were comfortable – great service. There is a pc with internet access in the library and free access from the rooms if you have a laptop with you (lan and wifi), although we couldn’t get a wifi connection from our room on our iTouch. Breakfast was 15 euro each and selection included fresh squeezed juice, tea/coffee, croissants/pan chocolat, cold meats & cheese, yogurt & cereals and cooked (bacon & egg) available for extra supplement (2.50 I think). Went for hotels recommendation of nearby restaurant on first night that was very good.

The hotel is in a great location for shopping/restaurants & well positioned for exploring most sights on foot. We walked over to the Marais in about ½ hour at an easy pace. The metro is nearby if you need to go further afield and taxi’s can be called by the hotel in 5-10 mins. Imagine having the park on your doorstep in springtime would be just perfect.

The only mini-gripe for me was that the website listed there was a radio in the rooms but it is actually just some preset stations via the tv (about 6). If I’d known, I would have brought my little portable radio with me because I was looking forward to hearing the local stations, but the presets on the tv were very bland.

It was my third trip to Paris and by far the best hotel choice (thanks Tripadvisor!). Would definitely stay again (but maybe try an Executive Room next time, and try to get a better rate).

  • Liked — Location, classic french style decoration in rooms, Library
  • Disliked — No radio! One on the bedside table would be lovely.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kbhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#23 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#91 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#43 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxembourg Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxembourg Parc

Property: Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Address: 42, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Paris
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#33 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#77 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxembourg Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luxembourg Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxembourg Parc Hotel
Luxembourg Parc Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing