We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small, but worth it”
Review of Hotel du Bresil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Bresil
Ranked #1,206 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“small, but worth it”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

As a single traveller, I had one of the smaller rooms, but believe me, in Paris, I've had smaller (and far less pleasant). Everything was very clean and looked newly reburbished -- the bathroom was actually surprisingly trendy for an old hotel. That said, the shower in this particular room is very tiny, with a sliding door that only opens about a foot. Fine for me, but I don't think a very large person would be able to get in it at all, even sideways, let alone move once he had. However, that was really the only negative -- wifi worked great even on the upper floors and I could even plug a USB stick into the telly and watch movies, which was a rare and very very welcome surprise for France (I've stayed in 4 star hotels where you couldn't do that. And the showers were equally small :) If you want something affordable in this location, a tough search if you're travelling alone, you really can't do better (Hotel de Senlis, which is around the corner and about the same price, isn't terrible, but I'd definitely choose this over that.)

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms have no view, but are wonderfully quiet. May be worth it if you're a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    109
    67
    29
    14
See reviews for
38
87
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at Hotel Du Bresil in July of 2013.

Pros:
-Fantastic location (walking distance to Notre Dame and the Lourve
-Clean room with a beautiful window looking out onto the streets
-Friendly and helpful reception workers (however we had some language barriers)

Cons:
-Small rooms (we couldn't really find a space big enough to put both of our bags on the floor)
-Very small bathroom- but fine
-Broken shower head

Overall a very a wonderful stay in Paris and very good value for money. I would recommend a room on the first floor- its much more convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Travelled with friends. We had 4 rooms and all had seen better days. The carpet smelt terrible and none of the rooms had space to swing a cat. Room security was key locks. Rooms did not have a safe. Reception staff totally inattentive as too busy watching Jurassic Park. Continental breakfast was pathetic. It consisted of a baguette, a croissant and a yoghourt. The staircase was awkward and curved, the lift outdated and could only carry two persons. Renovation works were being carried out through the night. The shower was smaller than than a coffin. Avoid like the plague!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Addicks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great location: Latin quarter is perfect, clean streets, cultural people, a lot of different cafe and restaurants around. Hotel is enough close to the main Paris sights. Nice staff, which always was ready to help us. Rooms were small, but very clean and rather comfortable. Is is not the cheapest hotel in paris, but it worth the cost. I'll stay here if I'll visit Paris again.

Excuse me for my English)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Solegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for three nights the rooms are small but very clean and the staff is wonderful. You could not get a better location in Paris, walking distance to all of the major attractions. Great location for restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was my second time in this hotel and I visited with my family. Our stay was perfect, the hotel is very well located, people from the hotel is very friendly and warm. I strong recommend this hotel to visit paris, of course is not a Hilton but for a good price it is ok.!!! This will be my permanent hotel to visit Paris

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel F A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is a very centrally situated 2** within a stone's throw of the Luxembourg, The Pantheon and the University of Paris IV- Sorbonne. The service is pleasant and a single room with shower and lavatory costs about 90 euros. Not rock-bottom. When I stayed there there was no wi-fi, the telephone in my room could not get an outside line, there was no heating (in January) and no hot water. When I complained , the person on the desk was sympathetic but nothing was done.

Room Tip: the hotel is very quiet but it helps to for a room on one of the higher flloors not overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irene099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#901 of 1,802 in Paris
410 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Senlis
Hotel de Senlis
#1,498 of 1,802 in Paris
103 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#798 of 1,802 in Paris
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Gay-Lussac
Hotel Gay-Lussac
#1,420 of 1,802 in Paris
121 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
#1,107 of 1,802 in Paris
167 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#625 of 1,802 in Paris
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Bresil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bresil

Property: Hotel du Bresil
Address: 10 rue le Goff, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,206 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Bresil 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Bresil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Bresil Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing