We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Ranked #589 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff. Friendly helpful and efficient. Clean rooms. Bit dated could do with refresh.
Fine for business. Would want more for personal travel.
Wifi free and fast. Breakfast fine.
No fitness.
Good restaurants in walking distance.

Will use again mainly due to staff and location

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mr Bill_Fareham,

We are really pleased you enjoyed you stay in our hotel. We have shared your feeling with all our staff who is sensitive and thank you for your comments.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Kind regards
Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    681
    212
    57
    24
See reviews for
282
456
99
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and when I left there for Brussels in the morning the hotel would not let me leave our luggage there for longer than 24 hours. Their excuse was because of security reason. This rule was not written down anywhere in the hotel leaflet. The staff was EXTREMELY not helpful. How would 24 hours be enough for any traveler who has a train to catch? I could leave our luggage at a train station but that would mean spending another half an hour there and risk missing our train. I was advised that I could raise my complaint to the hotel management. But what good would that do? The best way is to write a review in all the traveling websites e.g. hotel.com and agoda.com.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Joseph1333,

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay in our hotel.

We are really sorry the luggage service didn't meet your expectation. Indeed the first reason why we don't keep the luggage more than 24 hours is security but also for spaces reasons.

We provide a room storage service during the day for customer who wants to use their last day visiting Paris and have a plane or train in the evening.
This information is available on the lugggage's room door.

In order to help,our staff has to advise clients to use train station storage room as they did when you requested.

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in our Mercure Network.

Best regards
Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherwell
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

we stayed here for the weekend 11/10/13 -13/10/13 and enjoyed our stay very much , the location is excellent for paris with the metro close by the staff were very helpful and pleasant ,we had breakfast both mornings and their was a good choice of food on offer , we will definately return to this hotel in the future ,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmacdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear jmacdo,

It's always a pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.
Be ensure we will share your nice comments with our team members.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Kind regards

Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my recent stay in Paris. Although I had to keep my suitcase on the table, the room was larger than in most European hotels. The bathroom was fine and had adequate storage space. The bed was to my liking - not too hard (like many hotels I've stayed in throughout Europe) and not too soft. My only complaint was the pillows were very hard and very high, leading to a stiff neck every morning.....too bad they don't have some that are softer! The room was equipped with a kettle and some coffee supplies which was a pleasant surprise. The room and hotel were very clean and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a great location and is close to 3 metro stations and about a 10 minute walk to the bus to Orly airport. The neighborhood had a wonderful vibe to it and felt very safe and comfortable. There are a lot of great restaurants close by and if you love crepes then you're in luck since there are a number of excellent crepe restaurants within a 2 minute walk. It's also 2 minutes from a huge Monoprix that has a huge supermarket so it was very easy to buy groceries there to keep in the fridge. There's also an amazing cemetery close by in which some significant historical figures are buried. The hotel is also within walking distance to the many shops along Rue de Rennes and Bon Marche. Actually, if you love to walk in Paris (and who doesn't??!!) then it's within walking distance to almost everything! All in all a great hotel and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromMyWorldToYours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for 9 nights. I was pleasantly surprised especially since I wasn’t at all familiar with this particular hotel or the Montparnasse area. First off, the star system for hotels in Paris is different than what one is accustomed to in the United States. This is not a luxury hotel by any stretch of the imagination. If one is in Paris to hang out in your hotel room, you’re in the wrong city!! I found the staff to be extremely courteous, helpful and patient. Although I would have preferred a room in the back of the hotel, my street facing room wasn’t so bad in terms of noise (though it did get a bit louder on Friday and Saturday evening). The room was quite comfortable and clean. The small refrigerator in the room came in handy for keeping bottles of water and other items. Free WiFi was a definite bonus. The continental breakfast was a bit pricey, but was very good and definitely was in asset for an early morning bite before heading off to Versailles. The hotel is conveniently located to the Metro, grocery stores and a variety of restaurants and shops. I would not hesitate to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDottie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane wa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed four nights in early October, paid $135 per night on Hotwire. When we initially checked into our room, it was smallish with a shower only. My wife has a bad knee and enjoys a soak so we returned to reception and asked if a room with a bath was available. Young man at the front desk was very courteous, very helpful and hooked us up, no questions asked. Good sized room with great amenities (superior?), but bathroom, while quite adequate is still rather small, less than two meters wide, the length of the tub. Very firm, very comfortable bed, four pillows including two very firm foam. If you want to iron some clothes, there is a maid room on the 4th floor with a small iron and board they let you use. If locked, they give you the combo to the cypher lock. CNN and BBC news are the English TV channels. Free internet, but you must log every time if your computer shuts down. If you have an IPad, you must log in again if the IPad shuts itself off after 5 minutes.

Monoprix is 200 yds away, Galleries Lafayette with a small mall is 400 yds. Easy access to Metro. There was an art market near the Edgar Quinet Metro station (200 yds away) on Sunday and it was a standard fruit, veg, meat, ect market on Tuesday. Lively area where inexpensive eateries abound. Several Creperies crowded with young people 300 yds away. Two nice bakeries within 200 yds for those wanting to forgo the 17.90 E per hotel breakfast.
My wife got some very nice Italian shoes on sale for 30E (regular 90) at a shop 20 yds from the hotel. We walked back to the Hotel from a restaurant next to St Germain des Prix and it took about 30 minutes.

Overall great stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIA B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Agedude,

We have paid a large attention and want to thank you for your comments.

Indeed our rooms are mostly equipped with showers and we have been pleased to give you the opportunity to try our "privilege" room which offers larger amenities.

Our technical services has been advised about the settings of the Ipad in order to extend the 5 minutes off.

Hope to keep your confidence with Mercure Network.

Kind regards

Patricia BRIMBEUF
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#370 of 1,801 in Paris
788 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#557 of 1,801 in Paris
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#546 of 1,801 in Paris
328 reviews
Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
#949 of 1,801 in Paris
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse

Property: Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Address: 20 rue de la Gaite, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#329 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#450 Business Hotel in Paris
#521 Family Hotel in Paris
#579 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Montparnasse station to the south of the centre of Paris in a modern building close to the Montparnasse business district and the Porte de Versailles exhibition centre. Close to the popular tourist areas of Saint Germain des Pres and Saint Michel, the hotel is next door to the legendary cabaret club, Bobino, the only place in Paris where you can enjoy a drink, see a show, dance and have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing