We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not what I expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Ranked #510 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

In booking this hotel, I had the understanding that it is a 4star hotel. Once I got there, it was brought to my attention that a 4star hotel in Paris is not comparable to a 4star hotel in the US. I would categorize this hotel as a 2, maybe 3 star (on a good day) hotel. It's comparable to a Best Western, or Holiday Inn Express hotel. Came to the hotel while on vacation in Paris with my Mom. When on vacation, it's nice to get greeted with a smile and all those pleasantries. Upon checking into the hotel, we received none of that. The front desk staff weren't rude but they weren't very pleasant either. Only 1 elevator was working during our stay, there was shotty paint throughout the hotel, the paint in the hotel room was chipped, the furniture was cheap looking and worn, the soapdish in the bathroom was dirty. Overall, the hotel just had a "cheap" feel to it. The saving grace to the vacation was the location of the hotel. It's on a street with tons of cool restaurants and bars, walking distance to shopping, and close to the metro. I would love to visit Paris again. But the next time I go, I definitely will not be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeems819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    597
    174
    52
    17
See reviews for
242
389
93
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Close to Montparnasse station. Lots of good restaurants and bars close by.

Very comfortable. Particularly welcomed being able to make a hot drink in the room - not usually a feature of hotels in France.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candjsait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is located 5 minutes walk for gare montparnasse tube station & also has the edgar quinet tube station at the bottom of the street.

Hotel check in was quick & staff were helpful.

When we arrived in our room there was no cot for our baby however a quick call to reception solved that & within a few minutes a lovely gentleman arrived in our room with a cot.

Housekeeping came everyday & were very friendly.

Did not eat at the hotel - went for breakfast to fab place on the square at the bottom of the street which did amazing pancakes.

Edgar quinet tube station is at the bottom of the street which takes you to the eiffel tower within around 7-8 stops. We also went to Disney which again you go via edgr quinet to nation. then change there for disney.

Would defiantely stay here again if i return to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becks_nez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

just returned from a five night family holiday here and would fully recommend this hotel for anyone wanting comfortable, modern accommodation in a safe and buzzing suburb of paris. reception staff spoke fluent english and our room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The cooked buffet breakfast was excellent. We were able to eat locally every night from the wide selection of restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel is also within a five minute walk of three different metro stops giving direct access to all the key tourist areas of Paris.

Room Tip: our room at the back of the hotel overlooked the garden and was very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnhird2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is neither great nor horrible. It's good. For those coming from the states it's similar to an upscale Holiday Inn. Solid location, near 2 train stations. But the train stations don't go directly to any locations of interest. You will need to switch lines. Lots of options for well priced eating surround the hotel, but there's very little shopping of note. The included breakfast buffet is very nice and a welcome treat. The hotel has wifi throughout and the connection was strong. Nicely sized rooms, but cramped bathrooms and the worst shower system known to man. It's a stand up shower with a removable head. Ok that's not bad, right? What is bad is the shallow floor in the shower, which creates a flood every time. The staff is pleasant and attentive, which compensates for the slowest elevators in the world. Please note, there is 1 iron and ironing board for the entire hotel. It sorta works. This isn't nitpicking, it's reality. The experience was good, but upon coming back to Paris, I'd look elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank adamkmiec
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here with my parents as included in our package deal tour of Paris. Unfortunately we left our luggages in the airport due to a Strike going on with Airport Employees ... Staff at front desk has been really helpful, ABOVE and BEYOND for following days trying to retrieve our luggages from airport ... finally being delivered after 2 days of our stay. It was the holidays, frustrated and stressed from uneventful experience of those luggages, this hotel is an EXCELLENT place to stay in Paris. Bus stations are nearby, as well shopping areas and restaurants.

Main lobby has been decorated nicely. Rooms are comfortable, pillows and beddings are splendid, bathrooms are clean and marvelous. We could see Eiffel Tower from our bedrooms, excellent view. Buffet breakfast is included in the package, great accomodation being given to my mom in her wheelchair. Hot breakfast of different assortments are available.

We'll definitely recommend this hotel to friends and families. Thank you for making our Trip to Paris very memorable !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N122198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place comes in a solid four out of five in our books, probably closer to 4.5 out of five. This is based on size and comfort of the room and hotel, and hotel location.

We wanted to stay in the Montparnasse area for the first time, having been in that area a couple times for trip up to the top of Tour Montparnasse and once to catch the Versailles train. Gare Montparnasse was also the start and return point for our overnite trip to Chartres to kick-off this vacation, so it was really handy when we got back from our overnite in Chartres to take the very short stroll from the station over to the Mercure. Accor group's Noon check-in time nice amenity to factor into decision.

This is a comfortable Accor hotel they call medium range, a solid tourist class hotel with such amenities as a pair of very good sized well-programmed working elevators, air conditioned rooms, ample space in the double room for a couple and their bags, sitting area in the room. fridge in room (not a minibar) handy to keep cold beverages, good in-room wi-fi - GREAT large double-bed. Our fifth floor room had a splendid view of Tour Montparnasse and even a partial Eiffel view. Housekeeping was perfect and the desk/breakfast staff were impeccably courteous, friendly, helpful. One bone of contention comfortwise. The bathroom, while being generally stylish and comfortable, had the same cockamamie shower set-up (no tub) as their Ibis chain room we had stayed in the nite before in Chartres. You climb up onto a deck and then step down into the small shower basin which is only partially enclosed, so you have to take reasonable precautions not to end up with water all over the bathroom floor. Cheap tiny bath towels, but hey they did give us hand towels which told us we had stepped up from the Ibis. Still no washcloths.

The location of the Mercure Gare Montparnasse was splendid in a number of ways. There is a metro stop at each end of the block, a mere couple minutes in either direction, and from either stop the whole of Paris is your oyster. Lots and lots of dining, entertainment, street-scene, supplies opportunities.

The half block between the hotel and going toward Gare Montparnasse is a shade seedy, with some numerous adult entertainment venues but nothing shocking or offensive in public view that might require explanation to younger family members. And from the hotel headed north toward the Seine it just gets classier and more interesting, with many sightseeing, exploring, and shopping opportunities. We walked to The Pantheon, Luxembourg gardens/palace, and Latin Quarter. So great location from which to explore left bank afoot.

We were able to arrange a "summer special" type of prepaid deal a few weeks before we left for Europe which included daily buffet breakfast and free unlimited wi-fi. Previous TA reviews of the breakfast led to somewhat of a minor disappointment as follows: the scrambled eggs were inedible watery soup. They did have good softboiled eggs at the ready which were preferable. The sausage was inedible to the taste. They did have bacon, but not nice crispy strips, mostly lard, so that you had to heap several large chunks of lard onto your plate to be able to trim off just enough cooked crispy stuff to satisfy. I will echo others' praise of their orange-juicer. This thing is like an industrial strength OJ machine, with the breakfast crew pouring in big beautiful oranges by the BUSHEL through the hole in the top, and Yes! - you get a very tasty glass of fresh squeezed OJ with just pure juice and a perfect bit of pulp.

Do not get me wrong - you can get a very satisfying buffet breakfast with outsanding choices - but the decision to stay in this case should be based on the comfort and quality of the hotel and rooms, and desireability of location. On these important points, Mercure Gare Montparnasse ticked the essential boxes for us. We would definitely return and would not hesitate to bring family.

Room Tip: Want a smoking room. Booking.com will tell you there is no such thing. We stayed on their smoking FL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myomayaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#330 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#666 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#658 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse

Property: Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Address: 20 rue de la Gaite, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#274 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#449 Business Hotel in Paris
#522 Family Hotel in Paris
#580 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Montparnasse station to the south of the centre of Paris in a modern building close to the Montparnasse business district and the Porte de Versailles exhibition centre. Close to the popular tourist areas of Saint Germain des Pres and Saint Michel, the hotel is next door to the legendary cabaret club, Bobino, the only place in Paris where you can enjoy a drink, see a show, dance and have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing