We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa d'Estrees
Ranked #331 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and Location”
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Villa d'Estrees is a wonderful small boutique hotel. It has only 10 rooms. It is centrally located, a short walk from the Seine and the metro (St. Michel). The rooms are spacious with king sized beds and beautiful decor and very clean. The staff is absolutely wonderful -- helpful, patient and speak English very well. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.
Cafe Latin (owned by the same family) which is very close, serves great food.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    78
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
58
166
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton On Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Before our trip to Europe I thoroughly researched all the hotel booking websites, hotel websites and tripadvisor. If you read between the lines in some of the feedback you see, you will realise that some people simply cannot be pleased. When you book a hotel room in/near the Latin Quarter DO expect to have a Latin night.

Upon arrival per Metro you will find yourself near Fontaine Saint-Michel on a Boulevard with the same name. The easiest way (5-10 minute walk) to find Villa d'Estrees is to follow the Seine going West on the South side of the street Quai des Grand Augustins and look for Rue Git-le-Coeur on your left. There are shorter routes, but they will be more confusing on your first time finding this hotel.

Villa d'Estrees was a perfect choice for us. Lots of action just around the corner on Rue Saint-Andre des Arts where you can also find all kinds of food options including take out pizza, Middle Eastern food, wine stores and a grocery store - look for Champion.
In the bustling Latin Quarter on Rue de la Harpe just East of Boulevard Saint-Michel and North of Boulevard Saint-Germain you will find many restaurants to choose from. All within walking distance to Villa d'Estrees.

The staff at the hotel is friendly, they speak English; just make sure to say Bonjour or Bonsoir as a courtesy. Check-in was fast. Internet access is complimentary. The hotel's Cafe Latin is accross the street; unfortunately we did not eat there; our days in Paris were over before we knew it.

We were very pleased with the room and bathroom; the bed was large and very comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean. And for Paris standards the rooms are spacious. The decor is rich in colour and definitely has a French flair to it without being frilly. The windows have double glazing and you can choose to open or close (keep the street noise out) them while you sleep. The street cleaners and bottle collectors do come early in the morning, but hey, just get up and go for breakfast. Paris is waiting.

Breakfast is 12 Euro per person. The average price for breakfast in European Capitals is 20 Euro. Breakfast is served in the lobby and consists of croissants, baguettes, butter preserves, muesli, yogurt, choice of juice and coffee or tea.
If you feel like Bacon and Eggs and North American coffee you can go to Breakfast in America at 17 Rue Des Ecoles (advanced walkers walking distance) or 4 Rue Malher www.breakfast-in-america.com 20.90 Euro for two.

And fellow Canucks, for some Canandian fare (when you are fed up with frites and baguetted out) The Great Canadian Canadian Pub www.tgcparis.com is only a stone's trow away on 25 Quai des Grand Augustins. Beware; a can of Molson's is 8 Euro.

Villa d'Estrees has a sister apartment hotel accross the street; they are equipped with kitchenettes. These are an option if you do not want to eat out (ie gain weight or spend too many $$$) or if you travel with small children.

In addition, the location of these gems is central to many attractions which can easily be reached on foot or by public transportation. We had a very nice introduction to Paris the first morning we were there by means of a pre-booked escorted bicycle tour.
www.bikeabouttours.com - Thanks for the lovely pain in the butt Paul!
We met with them at the the statue in front of Notre Dame de Paris which is walking distance from Villa d' Estrees. It was a very personal and informative tour and if gives you an idea of what you would like to see in the next few days. Plus they show you things that aren't mentioned in any of the popular tourist guide books.

All in all staying at the characteristic Villa d'Estrees was a very positive experience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannagotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Lovely small boutique hotel in 6th. Walking distance to Notre Dame, Ile Saint Louis, St Germain de Pres shopping, metro, Seine and much more. Reasonable size rooms (by Paris standards), well appointed, small bathrooms, wi-fi, friendly staff, always ready to assist. Our advice-go out for breakfast, more space, better value, and rub shoulders with the locals.

  • Liked — Room Decor
  • Disliked — Showers
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BaikieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

What a shame! The location can NOT be beat for the 6th, and yet the staff, specifically the one at the front desk most of the time man, is so incredibly inept and rude. We were basically told things like "get it yourself," or "I've already told you where that switch was located," and "why are you calling to ask for the restaurant location? We gave that to you last month." We were glad to pay the high prices for small rooms, but felt completely let down by the rude, snippy front desk guy. We checked out and I asked to go back up to the room quickly to use the toilet with my son, and he said, "that's all done. it's not your room anymore." Truly Paris at its worst. Not to mention the horrible rash my son got all over his body after staying there. We're praying it's not from the hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff and services
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gog27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Just a step away from the St. Michel metro stop (easily reached from the Gare du Nord) in a historic sidestreet, next to an Irish pub and opposite a small cinema, with many restaurants and cute shops nearby and walking distance from the Seine.

The first floor suite we had was very clean and tastefully furnished in traditional style. While not American-scale, there is plenty of space in the room. The bathroom, with its black marble surfaces, boasts a very narrow, deep bath that anyone over size 14 will get stuck in and a magnificently powerful shower. Just remember that on a French tap, 'C' stands for 'chaud' (hot - not cold!).

The bed was king-sized as advertised, although the mattresses were two singles (not the softest) and next time I will remember to take my own pillow. More comfortable than many I have slept on in Paris though.

Don't stay here if you mind about being woken up by noise! - you are guaranteed to be, if you face the street and sleep with the window open. The accoustics of the narrow street are perfect and after the last of the evening revellers have departed there are but a few short hours until the cheery chorus of the street cleaners.

Reception staff were polite and helpful, with very good English.

  • Liked — Location and style
  • Disliked — Rather hard mattress.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EffraSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Very central location - but a noisey street with pubs at either end.
Both the bedroom and the bathroom were rather dark and the bed was like a rock. Tiny reception for breakfast which was fine, but again, dark. No atmosphere there at all - and really just a b&b -
Bedroom was a deluxe, spacious enough, but the bathroom with a handshower over the bath was so narrow you could not turn around in it!
Not sure what 4 stars are for - just an ok place and staff were friendly enough. Nothing awful, but would not stay there again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank abkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

Just back from a three night stay at this gorgeous little hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. Our room (102) was called a suite although it is really just a larger than average bedroom but its warm decor made for a perfect, comfortable winter break. The bathroom is small but stylish. For 12 euros a lovely breakfast can be had in the hotel lobby or in your room at no extra cost. The hotel is well situated and within minutes you can be strolling through the narrow streets of St Germain de Pres. The Cafe Latin opposite the hotel is great for a nightcap on the way home. There's no passing traffic to speak off but those Parisian dustbin men don't care how much noise they make in the wee small hours! We would recommend the hotel and we would return but probably ask for a room on a higher floor as that may be a little quieter than the first floor.

  • Liked — charming comfortable atmosphere
  • Disliked — noisy dustbin men in the early mornings!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therobertsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#441 of 1,802 in Paris
374 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Residence des Arts
Hotel Residence des Arts
#710 of 1,802 in Paris
235 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
#955 of 1,802 in Paris
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#639 of 1,802 in Paris
545 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Eugenie
Hotel Eugenie
#1,050 of 1,802 in Paris
288 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#188 of 1,802 in Paris
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa d'Estrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa d'Estrees

Property: Hotel Villa d'Estrees
Address: 17 rue Git le Coeur, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#176 Family Hotel in Paris
#217 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#275 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#370 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa d'Estrees 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa d'Estrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Estrees
d Estrees Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing