We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart Place, Paris”
Review of Smart Place Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smart Place Paris
Ranked #17 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff were very helpful and pleasant. For what you pay it is well worth the money....it is just yards away from the Gard Nord .....directly across the street there is a great place for a good coffee without tourist prices. The room was very small, but most of us are out all day....it had clean sheets and towels, and the bathroom, though small was perfectly adequate.The stairs were fit for a goat but that keeps ya fit! and there is a small escalator. Yes, there was noise of people slamming doors very late at night, but hey, we're in Paris! All in all, give it a go.....it's really a hostel with plenty of young people around. I could have been their mother! But that was perfectly fine....give this place a chance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newzealander44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 409 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hostel is very close the the Gare Du Nord also to bars and shops. I stayed in dorm room 25 in Feb, it was very clean and warm with new beds (4) and sheets. The room was very small but it did have a wc and shower. The hostel is a work in progress with building work going on on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Room 25 was good but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldbackpacker1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you are staying more than 2 nights in Paris, look elsewhere. This place is only ok for 1-2 nights. I stayed in 4 bed dorm for female with ensuite (1st floor). Very small room! It was clean. Cons: you can hear noise from just about everywhere, pipes running water, people talking down stairs ground floor, people next door flushing toilet! Disgusting kitchen (ground floor), really really dirty. Common area (ground floor) really poor and dirty. Maybe there is another common area upstairs somewhere???Hence why if only staying 1-2 nights and you don't need to use the kitchen then you are fine here. It's really close to the station (2-3 min walk), staff there do seem v. polite & helpful. The room is clean and you get very fresh clean sheets. (But they do seem to be upgrading the place so perhaps in 6-12 months could be in better condition) Tips for Paris: pickpockets everywhere!! (seriously) you are constantly getting young girls asking you to sign up for a charity and then looking for money - they are fake! while you could be signing up, someone behind you is nicking something out of your bag! Met girl in hostel this happened to. These young thieving girls are at all tourist spots! .... I did a walking tour with Culture Fish Tours I would sincerely recommend! They are free and it's up to you if you want to tip/pay at the end. Walking tour last's approx 2.5 hours and you get to see most of Paris top sites. 11am @ Citie Metro is meeting point. They really are very good!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maeve689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on my way home from 1 month in france. without a doubt one of the best hostels i've stayed in during my travels. door is open all the time, and staff will help you with anything. lots of guidebooks in the lobby for you to borrow. eventhou there was some redecoration going on in the lobby, it is a nice social area with a football table, a kitchen and some tables.

Room Tip: bring a towel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pistasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

All I can say to clarify the rating is because they stole my money. First, they had a problem with booking, i give them my payment on internet with my credit card. They said, they haven't received it. So, I give it back again and they said that they will keep it as a guarantee. But when I came back to Canada, the payment occur. So I paid twice.

Also, the bed was the worst bed I have ever slept on. It took me 1 to 2 hours each night to sleep.

Finally, I would not recommend. No Wi-Fi in every room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sebastien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Awesome stay , free wifi , next to gare du nord, close to tourist attraction, heaps of restaurant and bars around the area, friendly staff and room was all I expected in a hostel. Was very noisy if the window was open as its located on the corner of a busy intersection . McDonald's across the road made an easy meal on the run to the train at 5am :)

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are tiny & the beds squeak with every move, other than those negative statements, I thought the place was ok. I would recommend staying less than 3 days tho, it's location isn't the greatest & the tiny room space would get on my nerves after a while.
Wifi is only on the ground level, so don't even try if you're staying higher than the 2nd floor.
It's really close to the Gare du Nord metro station & close to the moulin rouge, So its great for that as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiaCola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#4 of 190 in Paris
802 reviews
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vintage Hostel
#13 of 190 in Paris
784 reviews
Arty Paris
#12 of 190 in Paris
639 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre
#10 of 190 in Paris
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Place Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Place Paris

Address: 28 rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $36 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Smart Place Paris 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Place Paris is the perfect budget hostel to experience the most of Paris. Located few meters to Gare du Nord and close to all the popular areas where the day and night life is quite animated, you will discover the most beautiful places of the french capital while enjoying a local city life. Surrounded by bars, theatres, you can easily walk to the Grands Boulevards, Opéra and Galeries Lafayette. Chose between the modern private, double or triple rooms, or share a dormitory with your friends (mixed or not). Prepare a meal in the common kitchen, relax in the lobby, stay connected with the free wifi and ask anything you need to the friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Smart Place Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing