We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
Ranked #142 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is how I rate hotels: 5* - outstanding, breathtaking, in any case the hosts really went the extra mile to please their guests. Everything is close to perfection.
4* - very good, they did the job as they should, nothing less, everything is nice, you feel you made a good choice after departure.
3* - average, nothing too bad or too good, some things are ok while others are rather poor.
2* - a place that should be avoided unless there are no other choices, most of the things are bad or disappointing.
1* - avoid on all means, it is so bad you can feel sick, insecure or worst

Now, Apollon Montparnasse is somewhere between 3 to 4 in my list. For a 2* star hotel it has its ups and downs.

Ups: - good location (close to metro station, relatively close to Montparnasse tower), nice bathrooms, decent breakfast, good bed, air con, fridge, large LCD TV, extremely nice staff with good to excellent English abilities, elevator.

Downs - not so many, but there are: very small rooms (it's Paris and it is a 2* hotel, so it is normal I would say), cleaning is good, but not perfect (old dust could be found on the dresser). Some windows might need to be reinspected: in the winter you can feel the cold air coming in. Is not cold inside the room, but the windows show their usage.

For a 2* star hotel, it is a pretty good place, better than most of the 3* star hotels I have been to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ov M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    324
    51
    14
    4
See reviews for
156
454
92
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and totally enjoyed our stay. The friendly English speaking concierge will be able to give you much recommendations on food, places to visit. The room and bathing facility is adequate. The breakfast is decent with some variety (but have to be paid for).

Room Tip: Higher floor have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrancisYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Good morning from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel, dear guests.

Thank you so much for the kindness of your comment.

It is very rejoicing for us to learn that you were very satisfied with your stay at our hotel.

Satisfying all our guests' expectations is our main priority.

We are looking forward to welcoming you among us for your next trip to Paris.

Best regards,

Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here in early December for 4 nights and enjoyed our visit very much. The hotel staff was wonderful. Our room was small, but we weren't there much except for sleeping. The bathroom was really nice. They didn't have a computer available for Internet access when we checked in, but the next day there was a brand-new computer set up in the lobby, which was very helpful. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, but there was a cute breakfast room downstairs. The hotel was only a block from the Pernety Metro station, and on that same street there were several little patisseries, cafes, restaurants, etc. Even a little supermarket. We used the Metro everyday, and even walked from the hotel to the Arc de Triomphe and Eiffel Tower (although it's a LONG walk). One tip: if you have luggage and are taking the Metro to the hotel, be warned that there are lots of stairs and few escalators in the subway system. And if you have to connect lines, the connections can be arduous, with lots of stairs and corridors. We would definitely stay at the Apollon again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Braniff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Good morning from Apollon Montparnasse, dear guests.
Thank you very much for your excellent message, very encourageing for our whole work team. We are very happy to learn that your stay at Apollon satisfied all your expectations.
Our team always does his best to care for our guests' well-being with a quality work at every level: welcoming, breakfast and room cleaning…. Another advantage you cannot neglect, and that our guests appreciate strongly, too: a subway station very close to our hotel, with many restaurants and shops all around.
Regarding the size of the rooms and all the stairs inside subway stations: these are typical aspects of Paris, independent from our willing.
We will be very pleased to welcome you again at our hotel, for your next trips to Paris.
Best regards, and… Merry Christmas too
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We took our first trip to Paris in August. Joel and team did a great job of arranging for a cake for my husband's birthday which we celebrated the day after we arrived. The rooms were clean and we had a good time. We will certainly return to this place again! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0ve2travel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Good morning from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel, dear Sir or Madam.
Thank you very much for your kind message.
We are very happy to lean that you had appreciated your stay at our hotel, and we had managed to satisfy all your expectations.
"Hospitality", "Quality", "Cleanliness" are highly important criterions for us to satisfy our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel when you are coming back to Paris.
Best regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Staff very kind, Manoel in particular, who gave us loads of very cool information about paris.
gay-friendly!
Room was cleaned everyday. housekeepers are lovely and organized.
Near the metro, which is very handy.
Nothing to complain!
Great choice!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Good morning from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel, dear guests.

It was very kind from you to write for us this excellent comment, and thank you so much for it.

It is a very good new for us to learn that we have satisfied you expectations.

Anytime our guests come to stay at our hotel, they are sensitive to hospitality of our work team and the cleanliness of our rooms too.

Yes, a metro station very close to our hotel is, also, a great advantage, too; it is easy to join the center of Paris by around 5 or 10 minutes by metro.

We wish to see you again among us for your next stay in Paris.

Very kind regards,

Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
245 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The rooms are small, but adequate and clean.

The staff is very helpful and kind. Wonderful service that you don't get easily in Paris. BUT I would NOT go with a taxi that is called by the hotel. I had to take a number of taxis to get around in Paris as the metro was a bit too much for my travelling partner and never had a problem. But both times that a taxi was called by the hotel, they cheated -one added ridicious extras like baggage, which we didn't have, and the other included the cost of him getting there on a delayed route which somehow started at €8. The service staff responded nonchalant about this and only use a particular taxi company. There are rules for which basic/time & distance tarriffs can be applied at which times of the day and what extras are added and when. As an alternative, there is apparently a taxi halt by the metro where you could get your own.

Breakfast is good in the basement and saves you from starting the day hungry.

The location is fairly good and close to the metro, but I would not recommend it if one of the party has mobility issues as the nearest metro station takes you to Montparnasse Bienevenue, which is a maze of stairs that go up and down and you'll probably be dependent on taxis to take you to the sites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Good afternoon from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel, dear guests.
Thank you very much for you message.
Our team always does his best to let rooms clean, in spite of their size, which is common in Paris.
Moreover, we insist on cleanliness, comfort, hospitality.
We apologize to you for the disturbance about the taxi, but we will do our best to avoid the same situation you have just experimented those days.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel
Best regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Mrs. and I spent a couple of nights in Paris and found this property online. Front desk staff was very helpful - and spoke plenty of English - and gave us lots of information about the local area and the typical tourist spots. Only perhaps 200 yards from the Pernety Metro stop, which was handy (Helpful hint: at departure, if you are looking for the RER B to CDG, take the Pernety Metro and transfer to RER at somewhere like Gare du Nord -- suggest that you NOT make the walk to Denfert Rochereau, where you can get straight to the RER. With luggage it's a good hike, and some of that station's entrances don't have ticket machines.) Rooms are, as others have mentioned, a bit on the small side, but no matter -- it's Paris, so you need to be out seeing the town! Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Good evening from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel, dear Sir or Madam.
Thank you very much for your kind message, and we are happy to learn that you appreciated your stay at our hotel. We renovated our rooms, in order to improve our guests' comfort. Our team always does his best to help guests during their. Regarding the subway and RER stations in Paris, we recognize that they have many stairs, and we can understand that is sometimes difficult if you have several suitcases, but this is, also, an aspect typical from this city. The very close subway station Pernety is a great advantage for our hotel. RER is easy to reach from our hotel by around 10 minutes walk.
We hope to see you again among us when you come back to Paris.
Best regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Fabe Hotel
#101 of 1,802 in Paris
1,149 reviews
Home MODERNE
#268 of 1,802 in Paris
1,053 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#72 of 1,802 in Paris
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#96 of 1,802 in Paris
605 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#113 of 1,802 in Paris
553 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#159 of 1,802 in Paris
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apollon Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apollon Montparnasse

Property: Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
Address: 91 Rue De L Ouest | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#63 Family Hotel in Paris
#112 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#112 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apollon Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent and family owned hotel, located near the metro Pernety (line 13), the Montparnasse station and the exhibition center of Porte de Versailles, the Apollon Montparnasse welcomes you in a cosy and refined atmosphere. Our 33 rooms are all equipped with high-end bedding, a mini-fridge, a safe box, air-conditionning, free high speed wifi (optic fiber), TVs with thematic channels (Canal +, BeIn Sports, Disney Channel) and bathrooms either with a shower or a bathtub, with toiletries from Couvent des Minimes. For family stays know that we offer connected rooms. Our buffet breakfast with its delicious handmade pastries, is served in our charming vaulted room, typical from Paris. The House offers car parking places in a secured car park, under request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Apollon Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Montparnasse Hotel
Apollon Montparnasse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing