We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Aida Marais
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveler rating
254
480
165
57
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
480
165
57
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacques bonsergentrepublique stationchateau d'eaurepublique areaplace de la republiquewalls are thinnice hotelrooms are smallbars and restaurantsminute walkfifth floorquiet streetmain attractionsbudget hoteldouble bedthe hotel staffnotre dame
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 975 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is a bit outside of the main Tourist stuff, but nicely located to access anything you want in Paris. Short walk to the metro station and some nice restaurants and bakeries nearby. It is also close to Gare Est train station.

The staff at this hotel are wonderful. Very friendly and extremely knowledgeable of how to get to all the things you want to see and places to eat etc. They speak English very well and are HAPPY to speak in English to you.

There is an elevator to take you and your things up to your room. The hotel is clean and bright.

The Rooms are small (like all the rooms we had in France). Came with Tea pot and tea/instant coffee. It was clean and made up everyday. If you can, ask for a room that is not next to the neon Aida Marais sign outside the hotel. Our room at night had that twilight blue glow at all hours of the night and we kept thinking it was always about 6am. (the curtains are thick enough to block out all the light if you close them well enough).

The only con was that the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors well, including their romantic escapades. I'm glad they were clearly enjoying themselves, but I don't need to hear it at 3am. Thank god it was only 1 night.

The breakfast..we honestly didn't even look at it to see what it was. There are so many bakeries to sample around town that we tried a different one every day on our walk to sightsee.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Healinghiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophiePrevost, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Aida Marais, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back in the the hotel Aida Marais soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Good price but breakfast not included, in Republique area about 2 minute walk to metro in an area in transition to improving but still a little rough, very small room, strange newly renovated decor (stark walls with no art, two tiny lights above bed, gaudy shiny gold nightstands). No washcloths - apparently the French do not know what they are - we tried to describe it to two different staff and they looked at us like we were crazy. Each day we had a different problem, so by the end we almost felt our room was jinxed! The issues over a series of 4 days included T.V. remote control not working (battery dead), wall light burnt out, shower towel missing, and a small metal carpenter's nail in the bed between the sheets. The staff responded to and addressed each issue, but it was like a comedy of errors. During the online reservation process it was confusing whether there was a refund for cancellation - we understood there could be a refund, but the hotel manager we communicated with via email was not friendly in responding to our queries for clarity - she did not respond when we pointed out the inconsistency in their online statements about refunds. Fortunately, we did not need to enforce the refund clause. We would probably look elsewhere for a hotel next time and if nothing else was available, then we would stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeizeTheDayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophiePrevost, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Aida Marais, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We thank you for your comment. We took note of your remarks to improve our hotel and services. Looking forward to welcome you back at the hotel Aida Marais on another occasion.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here recently in May. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They keep the door locked and have to buzz you into the hotel every time you enter but the extra security was nice to have. The lobby and atrium area had good decor and a nice place to relax. We were on a budget and got a really good deal to stay here but the room surprised me a bit. The layout was awkward, and I expected it to be small so that was okay. The bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Thankful for a good elevator in the hotel to the fifth floor, we had a small staircase to the 6th. The room got very hot from the skylight window, ask the front desk to turn on the air conditioning and it cools down really quick. There are 3 metro stops close by that we used to get all over the city (Republique, Jacques Bonsergent and St. Denis). We also walked all over down to the Marais and Latin quarter. The canal is very close and several nights we hung out there on the bank with many other Parisians doing the same. There are several places in the area to eat open late for those who have jet lag and are hungry in the middle of the night. The boulangerie next door is great to grab a quick breakfast! I do recommend this hotel to the budget traveler (book online) and for the convenience to get around the city. Overall we had a good stay and experience here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiveLoveLife84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophiePrevost, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Aida Marais, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We thank you for your comment. We are happy you had a nice stay in Paris. Looking forward to welcome you back at the hotel Aida Marais on another occasion.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a short trip to Paris. We knew from earlier reviews the rooms were small but I don't think I expected it to be quite so small! Beds were large & there was about an 15" clearance around two sides of the bed with a 3' clearance in front of the window. The en suite was adequate but again very small. That said, it was clean, a little tired generally but with very comfortable & clean bed & pillows (which was really all we needed)! We didn't have breakfast in the hotel (E12) but round the corner for E3! Generally speaking all was fine - the hotel is near the metro stop of Republique so very handy & giving easy access to everything. The weather when we were there was warm & as we were on the first floor slept with the window open. I think in mid summer heat & noise in our particular room would probably be a problem. There did appear be some sort of air conditioning unit on the wall but it was not on. I would check air conditioning if using this hotel in the summer months! All in all an adequate hotel with very small room.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaCrotelloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophiePrevost, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Aida Marais, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We thank you for your comment. We are happy you had a nice stay in Paris. We took note of your remarks to improve our hotel and services. Looking forward to welcome you back at the hotel Aida Marais on another occasion.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spent quite a while researching hotels and found that we wouldn't get anything decent and affordable close to the major landmarks (eiffel tower/notre dame/arc de triomphe) wanted to stay 4 nights for £400 maximum, this hotel ended up costing £320/335euros. As we would be arriving by Eurostar we searched for hotels near Gare du Nord and this was perfect. This hotel is walking distance from 5 metro stations with good links. The room was a little small but very clean and had simple but not plain, decor. Room and bathroom was modern. It was absolutely fine and I actually enjoyed returning to the hotel after a day of sightseeing due to it's comfortable and cozy atmosphere. The staff were all very helpful and English speaking - very accommodating - Wifi was provided upon check in - they have a luggage room free of charge to keep your bags on the day of check out. There is a lovely bakery right next door and many other good restaurants/cafes/bakeries around the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophiePrevost, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Aida Marais, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are very happy you had a nice stay in Paris and at the hotel Aida Marais.
We hope to see you again.
Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews