We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced hotel in a fun neighborhood”
Review of Le Mareuil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Le Mareuil
Ranked #127 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Mareuil during a short vacation to Paris. We didn't really take advantage of any services offered by the hotel, including the very expensive breakfast or the "oxygen bar", but the room was very clean and well furnished and of adequate size. The staff was friendly.

What we really liked about the hotel was its location. We were looking for a neighborhood with some interesting character and the Republique/Oberkampf area definitely provided. We had breakfast each morning at the patisserie at the end of the block and enjoyed several wonderful meals at local restaurants. Despite being a little removed form the crowds in the center access to all of Paris was very easy thanks to the nearby Republique metro station.

Room Tip: There was a problem with the bathroom door in the regular room we had booked so they moved us into a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasmsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 587 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We've recently returned from a weekend stay at Le Mareuil, and it was really enjoyable from check-in to departure. The receptionists were warm and friendly upon our arrival and showed us to our room. I agree with other reviewers that the rooms are on the small side, but we stayed in a twin superior room with a bath and it suited us perfectly, as we would be out sightseeing for the majority of the day. Everything in the room was spotless, and the bathroom was very clean. Hot water wasn't a problem either. Breakfast was just right and you are given two options. We chose the express berakfast and it was more than enough - cereal, toast, yoghurt, fruit, pancakes and pastries, as well as hot and cold beverages. If we ever had the chance to return to Paris, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Le Mareuil again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley_xox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice and clean close to Republique. Really helpful Staff who helped us in à tough situation. Ok breakfast and small gym and hamam. The area has really turned out to be nice with lots of good restaurangs on rue jp timbaud.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Mareuil for three nights and the room was small but given we were there only to sleep this was fine. It was clean and very comfortable complete with robes and slippers. Staff was very helpful with reservations and recommendations for restaurants (thank you Berg). Free wifi throughout the building was fast enough for video calls back home.

The only complaint was breakfast. We were under the impression that it was included. It was delicious, but at checkout came a 45€ bill for us for three mornings that was basically coffee, cereal, and pastry. If you took eggs it suddenly became the "buffet" rather than an "express" breakfast. So, in hindsight, go have your breakfast at one of the many cafes or boulangeries around. In fact, the place they get their croissants from is at the south end of the city block, and they make excellent pastries and coffee. So I would recommend just going there for breakfast.

Otherwise was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank huntsvilletri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel! It's cute, clean, stylish, functional and the location is fantastic - especially if you're arriving on the eurostar... it's just a couple of stops from the Gare Du Nord! Staff are very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beebbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I booked the hotel based on what I had read on Trip Advisor. The room was an average size room that you would find in a Paris hotel. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms very clean and well appointed. It would be nice if the rooms had tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfasts were perfect and the mini croissants were fantastic. We arrived very early and were told that our room was not ready so we have 6 hours to kill. We were expecting this so we set off to explore Paris on foot. Quite something after an eleven hour flight from South Africa. on returning to the hotel, we were informed that the room was in fact ready when we arrived. That was the only disappointment. The day time front desk staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us navigate around Paris. They organised us a taxi and made a number of restaurant suggestions and reservations. This is definitely a hotel to recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank satrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel was a pleasure from the moment we booked. I emailed a few questions before our stay, and the responses I received from the staff were always quick and thorough. The hotel itself is a cool, modern boutique hotel, conveniently located near the Republique and Oberkampf stops. It was also very easy to walk to the Marais. In addition to the great location, the rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The bed was so soft it made it difficult to get up in the morning. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and attentive. One tip I would offer to the hotel is to provide irons in the rooms. The hotel only had one on hand that didn't work very well. But, a very small issue in an overall great stay. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leahnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#250 of 1,803 in Paris
443 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le General Hotel
Le General Hotel
#326 of 1,803 in Paris
159 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Gabriel Paris
Hotel Gabriel Paris
#289 of 1,803 in Paris
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
La Chambre du Marais
La Chambre du Marais
#49 of 1,803 in Paris
215 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#110 of 1,803 in Paris
633 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#79 of 1,803 in Paris
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mareuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mareuil

Address: 51 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Notre Dame / Marais , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Paris
#29 Spa Hotel in Paris
#62 Family Hotel in Paris
#96 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#121 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#181 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $159 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mareuil 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mareuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Notre Dame
Notre Dame Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing