We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we needed”
Review of Hotel des Mines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Mines
Ranked #919 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Hotel Des Mines

We arrived in Paris via the Eurostar and were disgusted by the drunks and beggars allowed to harass tourists while waiting for a taxi, (there were police, soldiers and security everywhere). I thought if this is Paris I’m getting out of here. Our taxi only cost 16 euro to get to the hotel.

The hotel was very nice, again what we needed for our stay, a bed and a newly renovated ensuite. A work colleague of my partner had stayed there and checked out after 1 night, so we were expecting a really dinghy room, but we were lucky enough to get a room with windows (yes two big windows) that opened onto St Michel Blvd, they had got a center room – so no view of street. The other thing they did not like was the shaking from the metro every so often, it didn’t bother us in the slightest as this was a big city and you should expect this sort of thing.

The price was very good also, as we met a couple from Canada staying a few doors down paying 3 times as much for not much more than what we had. The free wi-fi was a bonus as my mobile did not work on roaming in Paris.

Another plus for us was the easy access to the Metro, Bus, Open tour bus, and a Laundry. (Ask at desk), and walking through Luxemburg Gardens was a nice way to get a feel for Paris (only one street over).

The main problem I had was due to me being a bit wider than your average person, the shower was extremely difficult to use, a couple of times I moved the tap to hot with my back and got slightly scolded, as the tap is in a very centered position, and the lift is very small, which you will know from previous reviews.

The staff were reasonably friendly and helpful as were most Parisians if you treated them with respect and tried using some French to say hello and thank you.

All that said I was completely turned around about Paris to actually loving it!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hippo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 461 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2008

The hotel is very reasonably priced for the location - minute from RER and 10 minutes walk to Notre Dame - but would make the following observations.
Booking & Check in - really straightforward and friendly
Room - tiny, but bathroom almost as big and nicely fitted. No usable seats, so it's perch on the bed to watch TV and read. Also the window opened to a courtyard, so not much privacy.
The bed certainly isn't at the luxury end, but ok.
There is a sitting area, but only one sofa, so combined with the lack of bedroom space, not many options for chill out during the day. we didn't bother with breakfast - loads of better and cheaper options nearby

All in all, it delivered the basics, but probbaly pay a bit more for a touch more comfort next time

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ptripsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

While the hotel itself isn't spectacular, it was quite cheap, clean and safe (priority for a solo female traveller), and the staff were very helpful.
I stayed there in early Autumn. While the hotel was further away from the hustle and bustle of the Latin Quarter than I expected, it was a quieter area than I was expecting. Close to the Pantheon and the delightful Luxumberg Gardens which I enjoyed strolling through each day on the way back to the hotel after a day of sightseeing.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank FPsoloF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Our first trip to Paris included a six night stay at the Hotel des Mines. I can complain about the room being small, the bathroom and shower being very cramped, and the hallway dingy. But it was affordable for Paris, conveniently located on St. Michel and a short walk to the Luxembourg Gardens and Latin Quarter, clean, and the breakfast was better than expected. Store close by for a bottle of wine or water. A nice 2 star hotel if that is what you are looking for. The money we saved on a hotel room we used for great meals, wine, and gifts. I enjoyed the visit and would stay at the Hotel des Mines again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AirchairExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

In our europe trip consisting of four cities, this hotel was the most expensive as well as the worst quality. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't bad, it just wasn't that great.

The hotel offers a breakfast for 9 euros per person. Our family did it the first day, but decided it wasn't worth it for the rest of the stay. There happens to be a store right next to the hotel (very convenient if you forgot something or need food) so we ended up buying cereal- much cheaper. It also offers a computer that you can use with a fee for every 15 min of use.

The room we stayed in was a quad, but it was absolutely tiny. And so was the bathroom. The entire bathroom (toilet, sink, and shower) was about the size of a normal bathtub. The quality of the room wasn't so great either, but I must say, the air conditioner worked amazingly.

The hotel was very well located. It was a 1 minute walk to the nearest RER/Metro station and an 8 minute walk to the Luxembourg Gardens. The gardens were absolutely gorgeous, so we spent every evening in it. Notre Dame was about a 20 min walk from the hotel, and from there, Saint Chapelle was about a 10 min walk. And if you're feeling brave, you can make it from there to the Louvre in about 15 min. We ended up walking to those 3 places, but for everything else we rode the RER or bus.

Overall, this hotel wouldn't be ideal if you're looking for a first class hotel. But if you just need a quiet place to sleep at night, then it is adequate. And the staff was pretty friendly, so if you need help, just ask them.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed here for three nights and it was not so good. I will start off by saying our room was clean, which i did appreciate, and the free wi-fi was really the only thing i really liked about the place. Within our first hour of checking in, we lost all electricity. Not sure what happened but we were trying to nap and people kept knocking on the door to see if "we had power". Sigh, not the end of the world. We noticed after washing a few items in the sink that the floor was really wet. We realized we had a pretty significant leak in the back of the sink. We reported it at once and they said someone would come fix it the following day while we were out. In the meantime we had to use all our towels to wrap the leak. When we got back the next day (we left at 7 am and returned at 5 pm, plenty of time, we thought), the leak still was not fixed and part of the sink was sitting in the middle of the bathroom floor! Now it was dirty, it had not been cleaned up, and wet. And we had no towels. Since we were so tired from our days events, we decided to nap and deal with it after some rest. Well, managment knocked on the door and burst in and within minutes we had four people in our room (a very small room) looking in our bathroom. I think the worst part was that i was obviously napping and that the people were so rude. No apologies or anything and even acted as if we hadn't wrapped the leak well enough with our towels! Bizarre. The clincher is that then they said they now know what's wrong with it and they would fix it tomorrow!! What!! The next morning the front desk kept calling to see what time we were leaving our room so they could come fix it, even though we told them the day before we would be out by 10 am.

In addition, the guys that worked the front desk in the evening was incredibly rude. He also was not truthful with us several times and he did not want to assist us in any way. We asked for a restaurant recommendation and he said "no" and kept talking. Very, very rude to us on more than one occasion. The woman that worked there, Laurence, was helfpul to us when we needed something and she helped us get to the airport by calling a cab when our shuttle didn't show up. BTW, don't use Parishuttle for airport transfers. They did not show up and charged us anyway and it was one of the worst mornings of my life, we barely made our flight after having to pay 60 euro to get to the airport by cab. Also, don't try to take the RER to the airport if it's during rush hour, it won't work, no room!! And, it's not air conditioned so it is HOT on the RER in the summer time, and a bit smelly, just an FYI.

Great sandwiches everywhere! The location was fine--close to public transportation. Montaparnase is a big road right around the corner with lots of restaurants.

We travelled all over europe for a few weeks and i have to say, Paris and Hotel Des Mines were my least favorite! Good luck if you stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bondhb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Hotel Des Mines is a simple but very clean and comfortable 2 star hotel in an excellent location. With this hotel it is actually better to request a FRONT room facing the busy Bld St Michel! Why? Because at night you can close-out ALL the noise thanks to double-glazed windows whilst still enjoying the lovely views across the road of the very French apartments and leafy street.

The staff are really good with good English skills. It is only a 15 minute walk to the 'real' Latin Quarter and about the same time to the Notre Dame area.

This is not a flash place, but for value it is 'first-class' in our view with simple, clean and quiet facilities. We would go back here anytime.

Pisang
Ross & Kathy Taylor
Perth
Australia

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Andre Latin
Hotel Andre Latin
#1,152 of 1,805 in Paris
537 reviews
Hotel Pierre Nicole
#987 of 1,805 in Paris
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,154 of 1,805 in Paris
276 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
#1,033 of 1,805 in Paris
175 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#465 of 1,805 in Paris
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Mines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Mines

Address: 125 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #919 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $91 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Mines 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Mines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Mines Hotel
Des Mines Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing