We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad bad bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre
Ranked #1,324 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“bad bad bad”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The worst vacation i had in my life. This hotel is located not only close to metro but also in a red light area, with lot number of robbers as well. Was just waiting to get out of there. I genuinely dont recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Veena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmignyparis, Gérant at Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Madam,
I'm very sorry to read this very "bad" review concerning your stay in our hotel. I am sorry if you didn't like the area but it's one of the most tourist in Paris.
Best regards from Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    107
    91
    63
    58
See reviews for
170
62
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Migny Hotel is walking distance from the Gare du Nord rail station and around the corner from the Pigalle Metro station. This was key for us as we were looking to do a lot of site seeing during our short stay in Paris.

Upon our early arrival, the front desk was very kind. He had one room ready and offered to phone us when the second room was ready. He took the time to orient us with a complimentary map - which was very helpful as this was our first visit to France.

I had two rooms for two adults and four kids. The room on the 3rd floor was just like the pictures you see on the web site. The bathroom was even a reasonable size. My room, on the 4th floor was nestled right next to the stairs and was very cramped. There was no place to set the luggage either on the floor or in the closet - even though we had only two very small carry-on sized suitcases. That is really the only down side. The rooms were both clean and well kept.

Our reservation included breakfast. We found something for everyone to enjoy - including fresh croissants and baguettes, meats and chesses, cereals, cakes, juices, coffee, and tea.

One thing to note is that the hotel is in fairly close proximity to the Moulin Rouge and hosted several sex shops and Folies Pigalle - but other than the words 'Sex Shop' above the entry way there really was not anything offensive about the area. As I mention above, I was there with my kids and on top of that am fairly reserved and still felt comfortable with the neighborhood.

There are several great resturants just around the corner, including: La Petite Canard and Carmine. Omnibus is a great place to grab lunch or an afternoon coffee.

Room Tip: Try for a room not near the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarynBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmignyparis, Gérant at Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at the "Migny". I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, the Location and the hotel in general.

We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return. Please do reach out to us at reservation@hotelmigny.com or myself directly at direction@hotelmigny.com when you are next planning a visit to Paris.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I thought this hotel was great, much better than expected. I was quite worried in advance, having read a lot of negative reviews. On the good side, the location is excellent, no sign of the much-mentioned red light district, just lots of nice restaurants, cafes and bakeries, Sacre-Cœur an easy walk of 10 mins and the rest of the main sights about half an hour away. Yes, the stairs were steep, the lift small and the room tiny, but that all adds to the charm of being in Paris. My only complaint is that there were not enough towels and the ones we had didn't seem very clean. Would definitely recommend for budget trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmignyparis, Gérant at Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, guest feedback is always welcomed. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your long stay with us.

We do hope that you come back to the "Migny" in future and when you have a reservation in place please let me know so that I may personally oversee your stay. You can contact me directly to direction@hotelmigny.com.

Best regards from Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Location is very convenient, a few minutes from the metro.
Room 701 has to be seen to be believed, you have to access it via fourth floor & walk along the corridor, then you have to climb 2 spiral staircases, go through room 601 up a steep stairs and eventually you arrive at room 701. We attempted to find it at 1.30am without success. It was a bit like platform 9 3/4 in the Harry Potter movies.

Room Tip: Not room 701
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmignyparis, Gérant at Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear client,
I smiled reading your comments and your comparison with Harry Potter ;-)
Our hotel is located in a typical Parisian building of the early 20th century!
We would be delighted to welcome you to Poudlard again;-).
Best regards from Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Friendly and comfortable hotel, staff all speak English very well. Only 200yds or so from Pigalle Metro station. Free safe in the room and free continental breakfast. Moulin Rouge and Sacre Coeur are both within walking distance, even in the 2 inches of snow we had there this week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvwinbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A great location, 8 euro cab ride from the Gare Du Nord. There's a pharmacy on each corner, a couple of hotels and restaurants within a few hundred yards, Rue Victor Masse is a road full of guitar and music shops, great window shopping! The hotel is no more than a five minute walk from two Metro stations, Pigalle and Saint George, perfect!

Hotel Migny is a great base for Paris weekends, it's not plush, it's not somewhere to spend time in, it's a very good value for money bed for the night.

The reception staff are very helpful, polite, greet you with a smile and speak English... they even put up with my poor attempts at French :-)

The hotel is made up of two quaint Parisien buildings, steepish spiral staircases and a small lift which serves the first building. There's a connecting corridor on the fourth floor to the rear building however you'll have to navigate the stairs. Not good if you've got lots of cases or find spiral staircases a challenge.

The room was modern, tidy and compact with a small en-suite. Perfectly adequate, we were in Paris for two days, we didn't need anything more. The corridors / stair case was nearby, it was noisy at times but again for the price and location of the hotel, to be expected. The room was very warm, great for us having been out in the snow all day but might not suit everyone, although there was a large window opening into a courtyard of apartments (no view) if the heat was too much.

Breakfast was a continental offering of cold meats, cheese, croissants and cakes buffet style with tables around the front reception area, coffee from a machine. Again, adequate for the price.

This is a great hotel for two things, location and price. Paris on a budget, perfect! I would definitely book it again for a short weekend break. Rustic, Parisien, basic comfort - exactly what we needed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whoopdeedoobasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Grand Hotel de Turin
Grand Hotel de Turin
#1,147 of 1,801 in Paris
580 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Rodier
Hotel Corona Rodier
#1,348 of 1,801 in Paris
133 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Hauteville Opera
Hotel Hauteville Opera
#1,514 of 1,801 in Paris
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#412 of 1,801 in Paris
612 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Villa Margaux Opera Montmartre
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera Frochot
Hotel Opera Frochot
#804 of 1,801 in Paris
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre

Property: Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre
Address: 13 rue Victor Masse, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,324 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within easy strolling distance of the city's major attractions ( the Opera, Sacré Coeur of Montmartre, Moulin Rouge…), business centers (Lafayette, Printemps…) as well as the main train stations (Gare du Nord, Gare de l'Est, Gare Saint Lazare...), the hotel provides comfort with its 50 rooms air conditioned, elegantly decorated according to modern lifestyles to suit the very needs and requirements of its guests. The entire rooms are sound proofed and equipped with a hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Migny Hotel Paris
Hotel Migny Opera Montmartre
Migny Opera Montmartre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing