We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord
Nearby Hotels
$343
$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$286
$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$231
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$255
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,653
$1,182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$405
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$226
$206
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$309
$241
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$284
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$279
$265
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveler rating
177
397
284
87
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
397
284
87
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgare dutriple roombusy roadclose to the train stationtransport linksyogurtminute walkcity breaktea and coffeedecent hotelsmall balconycafes and restaurantsstreet noisearound the cornereiffel towereurostarmagenta
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The good: clean and tidy and adequately furnished, great location, a safe in the lobby and a locked area for your bags for prior to checking in of after checkout.
The bad: no airconditioning and it's noisy so keeping the windows open is not an option. We asked for a dowble bed and got two twin beds pushed together, same as in another hotel. Maybe that's the way it is in Paris?

The lift was adequate and we had breakfast somewhere else because it was cheaper. The staff was friendly .

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room! Maybe away from the street.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plorina59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks for your advise.
Its a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay with us,
our cleanliness and our services as well,
therefore you can find a safe in your room as well/
We are apologize for the mistake (tween bed unless double bed) next time, please, let us know so we can change your room and satisfy your requested.
Unfortunately, we have air conditioning only in the apartments and not in standard rooms.

We hope to see you again,
best regards
avalon staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very short walk from the Gare du Nord station, not even 5 mins
Fairly safe and trouble free area- strangely there was a lot of wedding/occasion wear shops close to the hotel but not masses of restaurants close by.
We had a triple room, which was okay but a little on the small side for storage and general maneuverability especially seeing as there were three people staying- the space was more suited to two people.
The room had no air conditioning and was very hot, but we were expecting this as we had read previous tripadvisor reviews. There was as much road noise as you would expect from a busy city when the windows were open and I believe there are a few hospitals nearby so there were more siren noises than one might expect.
The staff were very nice, even when we had minor issues checking in (apparently when you book through eurostar there are occasionally some problems). The lift was adequate - I guess that people complaining about the lift don't know that Parisian/European lifts are well known for being quite small?
The housekeeping was good, everywhere was clean and tidy, adequately furnished and I can't comment on the breakfast as I didn't have any.
We had a kettle in our room which was nice.
There's a great Italian pizzeria just around the corner which seemed to be popular with locals - it was tasty and unpretentious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks for your feedback;
finally someone who knows the size of the lifts in Paris,
we are sorry for the air conditioning but next time, please, contact us before and we ll try to make a good price for our appartements;
Boulevard magenta is a quite noisy street but we have rooms side street and side corner.
Anyway we are happy to read that you apprecieted your stay in Avalon hotel and i guess pizzeria was suggested by our staff; is one of the best in the area.

Best REgards
Avalon Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is near Gare the Nord. I have booked 2 double rooms and specified that I needed a lift because I was travelling with my family (son, daughter in law and 2 grandchildren). When I got there they only gave me 1 room with the lift going all the way and the other one was in the pent house and one had to go up the stairs, which were very dangerous because were a spiral staircase. The staff tried to fob me off saying that had given me an upgrade and wanted to put all family in the pent house. I said I didn't want an upgrade and I wanted the rooms I had paid for. In the end my son went with his baby daughter up the spiral dangerous staircase; I stayed in the lower floor in a very clean room and modern decoration. Breakfast was not included. I have stayed in better and cheaper hotels in Paris nearer Montparnasse station.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors are quieter because it is a very noise boulevard.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CilaBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable réception at Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Bonjour,

We thank you for your comment and are happy you’ve found our rooms clean with modern decoration. We’ve made upgrade for you in the good intention, but you were upset because it should not have been on the pent house but on the lower floor and you had to use the stairs from 5 till 6 floors. For this lack of attention from our part please accept our apologies.

Kind Regards,
Marcin
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Very near Gare de Nord. Very dark shoe box of room on second floor. Due to huge tree outside window. Dingy and painted a very unpleasant brown, had to have light on in room any time of day. Noise on this level was unbelievable from the road. Unable to have window open because of noise, so very stuffy. Bathroom just OK. Clean although had doubts about bed.

Room Tip: Three stars but should have gone one better. Near the train station but area dingy and dirty.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London2542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable réception at Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

We thank you for you commets and are very sad you’ve had unpleasent stay, for this we’ve got only 1 point. We would probably get more if we could get a chance to change the room on the higher floor when you were here. We have not only rooms well –lit, but as well with different colours. The fact to have trees very close the window is much appeciated by our customers, we are aware when it’s cloudly it can give impression it’s dark in the room. Our double glazing windows is sufficient to stop the noise, but when it’s hot the customers have the choice : to have some fresh air and noise or have a stuffy bur calm room. We hope in the near future to find the solution for this by installation of the air conditionning.

Kind Regards
Marcin
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Convenient location by Gare de Nord. Convenient to bus route, restaurants and supermarket. Clean rooms, A/C, internet and all the perks. Excellent staff service. Manager Phillepe and Benjamin were awesome.

Will highly recommend to change the toiletries (shampoo and body wash)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafiq K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thanks for your feedback and a special thanks from our Manager and also by Ben.
We will consider your advice and we hope to see you again in our hotel, we will be happy to still make your stay in Paris Special!!

Best Regards
Avalon Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews