We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Senior citizens anniversary trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Avalon Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Paris
Ranked #719 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Senior citizens anniversary trip”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Thank you staff at hotel Avalon for making our weekend in Paris. The room was small and cosy just right for us two. I took my own kettle. It would have been nice to have it provided. I found the staff very helpful and friendly.
Janice Jones
Dates 14-17th March 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. we have a kettle in the lobby, next time you could book a STUDIO, you will find in it all facilities.
Best Regards and we hope to see you again.

Marilena and Avalon Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    375
    262
    77
    53
See reviews for
251
303
63
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

In my opinion, it is a huge stretch for this hotel to be rated 3 stars. You have to walk past homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk to get from closest metro stop to the hotel, the rooms are very dark and in definite need of updating. There was peeling paint and we found toenail clippings on the carpet. We won't be returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pineghee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pdelarochette131, Responsable réception at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We thank you for you comment and we hope you have spent a god time even if you had met some iconveniences. After a new french hotel regulation Hotel Avalon passed positive control and got 3-rd star in October 2012.
You’ve met homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk, I think this is a big problem of the all big cities and a big challenge how to find solution. We are aware that some rooms are dark, they are first on our list to renowate. Its for this reason we’ve put one lamp on the room office.
Kind Regards
Marcin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Dijon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I love the atmosphere of the hotel especially that on the ground floor where the reception and the cafeteria are situated. Clean, relaxing and trendy. It would be amazing if the rooms can be renovated the same way.
My friends and I booked a 3-bed room. The single bed was separated from the other two beds by the bathroom, adding some privacy between them, which is quite nice. The only little negative point is that the cleanliness can be improved. There were dirt on the wall next to single bed and the bathroom can be cleaned more thoroughly. Yet all in all it is still at an acceptable level.
The price is high but still a fair rate considering that it's in Paris. The reception lady was very cheerful and friendly, one of the best I've seen in the hotels that I've been to in France!
I've spent 3 nights at this hotel and would certainly reconsider staying in it next time when I visit Paris.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We are really excited to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you appreciated the lobbing with free the, books and brochures to read.
We will consider the weak points that you mentioned in your advice and we'll take care of solving them.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our staff and we hope to see you soon.

Marilena and all Avalon Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel is a short walk from the main train station Gare du Nord, thus it's great for accessing public transport and for getting around Paris.
I found in general the receptionists were helpful and friendly. Wifi was free and available at all time which was great.
Plenty of places for food nearby. Apart from some inconsiderate guests making excessive noise in the corridor in the middle of the night, I was perfectly happy with my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paullei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are glad that you had a nice stay with us. The localisation of the hotel is very practical and the staff suggest you always the best place close to the hotel.
It is a pleasure that you appreciate our services such as a free wi-fi.
Hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Marilena and all Avalon Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, the hotel is really conveniently situated near to Gare du Nord for access to airport and Paris centre via metro. There are plenty of places to eat out near the hotel and it is in walking distance to the Sacre Coeur and Moulin Rouge.
Room we stayed in was a triple on 4th floor, it was small but clean. Generous supply of toilettries and fresh towels. Stairways in need of some tlc. More of a two star than three star but fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Get higher floor room as this hotel faces onto quite a busy road and even though double glazed you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Our hotel is a few minutes by walk from Gare du Nord, Pigalle and Montmartre; it s a tourist area full of restaurants and small shops, our staff is always available to advise you for the best places around.
We are pleased to know that you appreciated the cleanliness of our hotel and we will consider your advice about stairs.
Best regards
Marilena and all Avalon Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband booked the hotel since it was close to the Gare de Nord, where we were to arrive from London; I was disappointed with the place as it was nothing close to what the pictures showed. The rooms very tiny despite the fact that we had booked a studio, you could hardly move. The bathroom was better in size in comparison to the room. The balcony shown in the photos could not be used as construction work was on and hence everything was in a scaffolding.
The pros:The bed was very comfortable and room was very clean with a kitchenette and the staff was very helpful and polite, Maralina at the reception was great help in suggesting places worth visiting in Paris. The hotel is not at a walking distance to any attractions, is only useful if you are arriving or departing from gare de nord. Wi fi was free and worked properly.

Room Tip: if you want to do some cooking then i would suggest the studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoKarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your advice and we are so sorry that you arrived at our hotel in the moment when we are doing renovations.
Unfortunately buildings in Paris are small and therefore STUDIO are the best room in our hotel, large and comfortable.
I hope my advices was useful and we hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best regards
Marilena and all the staff Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed in Paris for about 5days and 4nights, considering I booked this last minute, for the price it wasn't too bad. Lovely staff, lovely hotel. The only thing, I could say that put me off slightly was the smell of the toilets. It smelt quite damp but nothing an open window couldn't fix. It was a shame that the room had no air-con, however I loved it here and would definitely stay here again.
Great location, close by Gare Du Nord, with lots of shops nearby if you get hungry. Staff were friendly and I definitely recommend it. Overall, not bad for a 3star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations publiques at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for staying in Avalon Hotel and thank you for your comment. The hotel is indeed situated in a very convenient area next to the gare du nord station . Our staff is always happy to help you around and make you feel comfortable . Air conditioning will be soon put in the hotel .
Also, our cleaning stuff is working every morning to keep the hotel perfectly clean.
Thank you for your comments as this will help us improve our selves and provide the best services possible .
Hope to see you soon .
Stella and the rest of the stuff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#413 of 1,798 in Paris
656 reviews
Hotel Rocroy
#583 of 1,798 in Paris
429 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#566 of 1,798 in Paris
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,302 of 1,798 in Paris
342 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#624 of 1,798 in Paris
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Paris

Property: Avalon Hotel Paris
Address: 133 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #719 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel*** Avalon is the favorite of guest who believes that confort, a quality service and a central location are the key to an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, this is the perfect location if you need a direct access to Charles de Gaules Airport, the Thalys or the Eurostar. The Sacré-Coeur and the Canal Saint Martin are only ten minutes walking distance, and the Galeries Lafayette, République, Pigalle and the famous Moulin Rouge, only twenty minutes. In a typical parisian building, The Hotel*** Avalon offers a large choice of accommodation. Chose between our confortable, modern and tastefully decorated single, double or triple rooms. Every morning you will enjoy a french breakfast. The wifi is available in the entire hotel. We offer daily housecleaning of every rooms. Notice that some of the rooms are accessible for people with disabilites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing