We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a convenient and rather interesting area of Paris”
Review of Avalon Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Paris
Ranked #740 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In a convenient and rather interesting area of Paris”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel Avalon is situated in Gare Du Nord, which might probably be quite different from the mental image you'd conjure up of Paris. It is not unsafe however, though we made sure we got back to our hotel before 10pm, where it's still not too dark during summer times.

Rooms and bathrooms are a little cramped (I heard this is so for most hotels in Paris) but clean and well-maintained. Service is ok I suppose, you get answers for questions you ask, and the staff speak some English. Breakfast is a little steep at 12 Euros, but delicious nevertheless.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be a little quieter, as long as you don't get noisy neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write us this lovely comment. Our Hotel is next to Gare Du Nord which makes it very safe for our guests to get in out of Paris. Depending on which type of room you get, it can be small if you have a single room, but for a triple room everything will be bigger. Everyone speaks english at the receptionniste, and i myself haved live 17 years in the US. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Fanny
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    378
    264
    78
    55
See reviews for
255
305
63
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel Avalon is approached through a small insignificant doorway off a busy road near Gard du Nord

It is a typical small and rather cramped Parisian hotel of the type found near big stations

The check in desk appearance does not give one confidence but the staff are helpful and speak English for those that need this.

Rooms are small and cramped but clean and what is more have all the necessary facilities so that once inside one's room, things are certainly better than the exterior appearance.

Breakfasts are OK and easy to manage self service.

Proces are very reasonable so for those wanting an inexpensive stay in Paris then this hotel is fine.

Room Tip: A double room avoids being too cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive comment. Our hotel is near the Gare which makes it very accecible to everyone who is travelling. The single room is a small room, as it is made to house just one person, but the other rooms are a decent size. We hope that when you come back to the hotel you will try out another one of our room type. The receptionniste are on hand for all of our guests at all time, so we appreciate the fact that you realize how helpful we try to be to our guests. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time in Paris, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Fanny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from Paris - The Avalon Paris Hotel is a good hotel, meets all your needs, but is not nearly as slick as the video portrays. It is old - but hey, Paris is old. It is very near Gare du Nord, which is convenient, but not the best address in town. The buses are great (#30, 38 & 42 take you everywhere a tourist wants to go) and inexpensive for getting to all the tourist spots - much better even than the metro and right outside the Avalon's door. The beds are comfortable, the baths are spotless and, for Paris, I think a very could place to stay.

The breakfast is an extra 12 Euros per person - a bit steep - as there is a wonderful Boulanger about 4 doors away where an incredible croissant can be hand for .90 euro and good coffee everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for Room that ends in 14 or 15 - They are in the back of the hotel. No view, but amazingly quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us this comment. We are glad that you found our hotel enjoyable. There are many different buses near the hotel which makes it easier for our guests to get around Paris. As for the breakfast even if you do not wish to take it at the hotel, there are so many different brasseries outside that the choice is really yours. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Fanny
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Do NOT stay here! I got scabies from this hotel and am living a nightmare!
Apparently they don't wash their sheets. My sister even noticed a shoe mark one day on her bed.
I awoke after one night with a red bite mark on my wrist and within three days I was an absolute mess. We were on a school trip as chaperones so there was little chance to get help. I couldn't even fly home early because I was needed. Please...do yourself a favor and stay away from this filthy, mite infested hotel.
Also...it is in a very bad section of Paris....the slums.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon131Magenta, Commercial Officer at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your visit at Hôtel Avalon Paris.

We would like to apologize for any offence we may have caused. Friendliness of our front desk service is a very important value, rest assured that your comment will be reported to our team so that it does not happen again
We wish specify that when there is a problem in a room we always try to give our customers another room, according to our availabilities. We are sorry that our receptionist didn't proposed you this solution.

Nevertheless nobody has never catch scabies in our hotel, our rooms are cleaned, and our bed linen are changed, every day before each arrival. Moreover, the incubation period for this disease is three weeks.

Furthermore there is no more slums in Paris, North Station is only three minutes by walk and our customers really appreciate that. If the neighborhood can look like many big train station areas, our staff is willing to show you some hidden surprising places very close to the hotel and Sacré Coeur or Canal Saint-Martin are at ten minutes walking.

We hope that we have the opportunity of having you with us in the not too distant future so that we may make amends for your last stay.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Clément Lépine
Commercial Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Me and my friend were moved to this hotel from a nearby hotel that had (most likely) overbooked. It was an upgrade so we were happy about that. Avalon is in a great location, very close to the Gare du Nord trainstation, which is one of Paris' main stations. There were some troubles checking in, we were sent to the wrong room, then to an uncleaned room, then told to wait for it to be cleaned and when that took a lot longer than we were told we got a different room and were offered a complimentary breakfast for our trouble.

The rooms were clean, the bed was comfy and the bathroom looked modern. There was a bit of noise at night but that's something you have to expect if you want a good city location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IWnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are happy that you were able to get an upgrade. Our hotel is near the station Gare du Nord as well as so many touristic attractions, this is what makes it so enjoyable for our guests. Our cleaning staff is trained to make sure that the rooms are to our guests satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon, and thank you for the wonderful comment.

Sincerely,
Fanny
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

the hotel is terrible and too old and required renovation. the rooms are too small and very far from the city but that could not be a big issue if the hotel is clean, wide rooms, little decoration and high stand service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sultan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us this comment. There have been many changes that are being made in our hotel to satisfy the guests. We renovated the studios as well as certain room in our hotel. We are sorry that when you were at our hotel you did not have a renovated room, hopefully your next experience in Paris will be better.

Sincerely,
Fanny
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location only five mins from station but map we had was useless so took us nearly an hour to find hotel so many different exits from station so was difficult to work out where we were,. We had a room for three adults which was fine.Lovely and clean plenty of space only criticism would be that there was no mirror near to any plug sockets, not great for us ladies . breakfast was ok but not great but we didn't leave hungry. I would recommend this hotel and would return again if returning to Paris. Had a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your comment. Our hotel is situated right next to Gare du Nord, which is one of the reasons our guests like to stay here. Attractions in Paris are close to our hotel as well. We are happy that you were upgraded to a bigger room than the one you asked for. As for breakfast even if you do not ake it at the hotel, there are so many brasseries near the train station that that is not a problem. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Fanny
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#420 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Hotel Rocroy
#634 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#509 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,272 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#616 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Paris

Property: Avalon Hotel Paris
Address: 133 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #740 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel*** Avalon is the favorite of guest who believes that confort, a quality service and a central location are the key to an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, this is the perfect location if you need a direct access to Charles de Gaules Airport, the Thalys or the Eurostar. The Sacré-Coeur and the Canal Saint Martin are only ten minutes walking distance, and the Galeries Lafayette, République, Pigalle and the famous Moulin Rouge, only twenty minutes. In a typical parisian building, The Hotel*** Avalon offers a large choice of accommodation. Chose between our confortable, modern and tastefully decorated single, double or triple rooms. Every morning you will enjoy a french breakfast. The wifi is available in the entire hotel. We offer daily housecleaning of every rooms. Notice that some of the rooms are accessible for people with disabilites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Avalon Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing