We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite the ticket”
Review of Avalon Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Paris
Ranked #843 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Ideal location for the Gare du Nord, but other than that not much else going for it, rooms very basic and clean, but very small when it warms up too noisy to open windows and no air conditioning. Breakfast was basic, but fresh and plentiful. Area not the nicest to walk around especially at night! Good for making Paris affordable, but all a little tired

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hello,

thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you did not like your room. It is a pity that you did not inform us about it, we would do our best to solve the problem and find a better room for you.
When it comes to the air conditioning, it is written on our page that it is provided only in the studios. Many of our clients that reserve a classic room, are upgraded to a studio.
it is true that rooms situated on the boulevard side of the hotel are a bit noisy because Avalon is situated in the center of Paris, but we also have calm rooms.

Kind regards,

Justine
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
There are newer reviews for Avalon Hotel Paris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 969 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last month for a few days. The Hotel itself is really quite nice. Don't be put off by the outside as the inside and rooms are much better. The Room we had was a standard double. It was quite small but not any smaller than other rooms we've had in Paris. The room was modern and had a large flat screen TV and had modern decoration. The toilet was a good size with a good shower over the bath. The breakfast buffest had loads to offer and plenty of choice. So no real complaints about the hotel and it was very good value for money.
The only point I would make, which I'm sure others have is its location. Its not the best. Its good as it next to Gare Du Nord but after dark it certainly doesn't feel the safest. There are a lot of homeless people and just dodgy folk hanging round. I was with my wife and if we were heading home at night they would sometimes say things to her when we walked past, so I wouldn't recommend it to any single females etc.
Overall it was not too bad.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craighannah76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hello,

thank you for your comment. We are glad that you appreaciated your room, our hotel and the breakfast. We try to do our best to satisfy our clients and improve a comfort of our hotel.
I am sorry that you did not feel secure in gare du nord, but in the whole Paris you can meet some odd people. We have a police station just next to our hotel, and in general our clients feel secure.

Kind regards,


Justine
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

It is a good choice for Paris, rather good price, close to Gare du Nord. But also be aware that it is not the safest part of the city. The rooms are decorated in a modern style, which took away the charm of the hotel, but are rather functional, even if too dull. All in all, a good choice if you are in the area for business

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hello,

thank you for your comment. We are glad that you appreaciated your room and our hotel. We try to do our best to satisfy our clients and improve a comfort of our hotel.
I am sorry that you did not feel secure in gare du nord, but in the whole Paris you can meet some odd people. We have a police station just next to our hotel, and in general our clients feel secure.

Kind regards,


Justine
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is a five minute walk from the Gare du Nord train station. Friendly multilingual staff - they simply can't be faulted on how helpful and friendly they are! Room was clean and spacious but basic - furnishing was a little on the bland side. As we were out doing touristy things, the room served our needs just fine. Although there aren't any tea/coffee making facilities in the room, there is a vending machine in the breakfast room, where you can buy hot drinks for 1 euro.

rooms are well sound insulated and we slept very well.

Breakfast was a little chaotic and a bit of a free for all. Was an OK selection - croissants, cereals, cheese and meat etc.The dining area was small but kept clean by a bustling (and somewhat abrupt) waitress.

One word of warning though - the hotel isnt in a particularly salubrious area. Be careful if you go out at night alone. we were cat-called and stared at in the streets by big groups of men - a little scary when your're in unfamiliar surroundings. Also, avoid the Hippopotamus resturant chain which has a place near the hotel - food is hugely over priced and poor quality, plus we found staff to be rude.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydlyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hello,

we are happy you appreaciated our hotel and the breakfast. We try to do our best to satisfy our clients.
When it comes to the security, you can feel safe here since there is a police station just next to the hotel and in general our clients feel safely here.

Hope you will come back one day to Avalon.
Kind regards,

Justine
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel ok for one or two night stay. In good location close to the Gare du Nord (Railway Station). Booked in for six nights through Superbreaks. Hotel staff friendly, helpful and polite. Room 412 really small, asked to change for a bigger room. Got top floor room - 601, slightly bigger room with separate toilet and bathroom with hair dryer, shampoo. shower gel and body cream available. No drink facilities in the rooms i.e. kettle, tea, coffee. Hot and cold drinks machine in area off reception - hot drinks, only got half a plastic cup full and taste wasn't nice. Good continental breakfast served between 07:00 and 10:00 each day. Lifts were not working on the day of our departure and we had to carry luggage down six flights of stairs! Would look to stay elsewhere if we visit Paris again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable réception at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We thank you very much for your comment.
One of our strong point, as you noticed is our location, very close to the Gare du Nord Station, and our professional staff. I’t s a dommage you’ll find our rooms small, but the major number of hotels in Paris have no bigger rooms than we have. In fact we are tea, cofee facilities at the disposition of our customers in the breakfast room, as well there are the kettles in our studio rooms. You’ve probably took “ café court“, filled to the half a plastic cup, which is traditional custom in France.
The true is that the lifts sometimes stop working, in this case we call as soon as possible technical service to repair it, There are two lifts in the hotel, in the case they don’t work , the receptionniste can help to caary luggage down.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here alone for two nights recently. The rooms are decorated in a very modern style, and are quiet and reasonably spacious. The bedside lights are too dim for reading. The rooms have the kind of shower that has no shower curtain, just a wider area in which to stand. Attractive to look at but no way of avoiding a wet floor when you shower! The hotel is more expensive than several others in the area, but feels safe, and the staff are friendly and speak English. I especially commend Marcin from Poland, who was very helpful. The Blvd. Magenta is far enough from the Gare du Nord to be away from the crowds and people sleeping rough at night, but near enough to be reached in five minutes. Book with them directly, I was told, rather than on line, and they may be able to give you a better rate. I thought 279 euros for 2 nights pretty high for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hello,

we are happy that you liked our hotel and design of the rooms. Thank you also for appreaciating our staff. We are doing our best to improve the quality of our service.

Kind regards,

Justine
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013. Hotel is located less than 5 mins walk from the gare du nord. The area itself is full of wedding shops with a few dodgy looking people but found them 2 be no bother. Went out at night time & had no problems. Had a room with a double & single bed just for the 2 of us. Very clean & got tidyed every day! There was plenty of food for breakfast. Staff spoke perfect english & were very helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who will just be using their room to sleep in & will b out sightseeing the rest of the time!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raphael18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hello!

Thank you very much for your favorable comment! Every day we are trying to satisfy our clients and the comfort of our hotel. Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Justine
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#411 of 1,804 in Paris
723 reviews
Hotel Rocroy
#725 of 1,804 in Paris
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord La Fayette 10eme
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#577 of 1,804 in Paris
176 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#187 of 1,804 in Paris
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Paris

Address: 133 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #843 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $93 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel*** Avalon is the favorite of guest who believes that confort, a quality service and a central location are the key to an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, this is the perfect location if you need a direct access to Charles de Gaules Airport, the Thalys or the Eurostar. The Sacré-Coeur and the Canal Saint Martin are only ten minutes walking distance, and the Galeries Lafayette, République, Pigalle and the famous Moulin Rouge, only twenty minutes. In a typical Parisian building, The Hotel*** Avalon offers a large choice of accommodation. Chose between our confortable, modern and tastefully decorated single, double or triple rooms. Every morning you will enjoy a french breakfast. The wifi is available in the entire hotel. We offer daily housecleaning of every rooms. Notice that one room is accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing