We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I had imagined”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Avalon Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Paris
Ranked #719 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than I had imagined”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel from March 17-24 and overall it was a positive experience. The train ride from CDG airport was literally about 30 minutes, and from the Gare du Nord station it's a 5 minute walk to the hotel (p.s. you may opt for the airport shuttle service, which I believe is 18 Euros each way, per person).

I do agree with the previous reviews that the doors were a problem (I believe as my "studio" was located right next to the elevator and I had the privilege to listen to the elevators going up and down with the doors opening and shutting on a daily basis); however, I was fortunate in that my room was situated in a corner away from the streets.

The bed was very comfortable and despite its small size, I did not find that to be too much of a problem (it is Europe afterall). My room also comes with a small kitchenette which gave me another option to cook in the hotel.

In terms of transport, the hotel is very conveniently located in the 10th arrondisement. There's a bus stop right in front of the hotel for Bus 30, which runs from Trocadero to Gare de l'est. From the front of Gare du Nord Train station, you could also hop on the Bus 48 to Louvre, as supposed to transferring from one metro line to another.

The area also has lots of food options: a Mcdonalds and Subway across the Gare du Nord station, and a Monop' grocery store around the corner for daily grocery needs.

All in all, it was a good hotel based on the amount I paid for it. and best of all, it has free WIFI. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyy063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
thank you for your comment. Our hotel is located right near the train station as well as activities in paris, and that is one of the reasons why our guests love our hotel so much. The studios include a kitchenette as well as fridge, which means that you can keep food in there as well as cook your own meals. The beds are very comfortable as our maids make them with tender care and professionalism. We hope that since you had such a great experience the first time, you come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely
Fanny
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    375
    262
    77
    53
See reviews for
251
303
63
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Staid in this hotel for the France v Scotland rugby night 15-17 Mar 2013. Price was excellent at €190 for 2 nights for a triple room and breakfast. The hotel is located 5 min walk from Guard Nor train station - come out the main entrance to the station (signed Rue Dunkirk) with glass front, turn left, walk down street and hotel is on the opposite side of the road to the right.

Noting comments ref noise- we did not have a problem as we had a room at the back of the hotel.

And the free breakfast was very good.

Will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgnisSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Fanny
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for 4 days and 3 nights. The staffs are actually approachable and speaks English. We got in the hotel before the check-in time but they let us get to our rooms.. The room size is ok, it's just the position of the beds. I requested for a twin bedroom and yes i got it but I have one double bed and a single bed is positioned horizontally at the footpart of the other bed and the light from the signboard outside the window gets through the curtains. If you sleep with lights on it's alright but not for those who sleeps in total darkness as it's quite bright. The noise of the vehicles is not a problem for me as my window has always been shut =) . The food is not a problem, they gt assorted fruits, breads, yogurts, tea, coffee, juice, cold meats and of course the cheese. The hotel is situated a couple of minutes away from the Gare du Nord station, just go straight down the street by the time you reach Magenta Boulevard turn left, just a couple of blocks and you're there! There's free wi-fi in the place, you just need to ask the receptionist for the username and passwords per device. If you fancy to go to the attractions such as the Louvre Museum better take a bus or taxi as it is around an hour walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sniper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment. The entire reception staff speaks english to be able to help out our guests. For breakfast it is a great deal since its a buffet with different types of fruits, bread, pastries, yogurts, and ect. The location of our hotel makes it very accessible for our guest. We are glad that you had a great stay and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,
Fanny
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend, I had previously read reviews on trip advisor so I knew what to expect. It is a typical 3 star hotel near the Gare Du Nord in Paris and everything about the hotel is ok. The reception staff are polite and friendly and speak English, the room was clean and a nice size, breakfast is included and is a selection of cereals, yoghurts, cold meats and cheese, orange juice and coffee. As the hotel is near the station it is very easy to get around Paris from here, which is a plus. On the whole a good value hotel in Paris.

The only negative is the area this hotel is in, I thought it was very dodgy and you need to be careful, I dont think it is particularly safe. Also the noise one night was horrific, there were sirens going all night so was impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KickinKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello,

thank you very much for your positive comment, we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel.
Nowadays everywhere in Paris we can meet dangerous people. The plus of our localisation is that gare du nord is next to every touristic place, metro and many bus stations.

Hope that you will come back one day to visit us again :)

Kind regards,

Justine
Reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night trip to Paris with my two sons. We stayed at the Avolon hotel as we were arriving on the Eurostar and didn't want to travel too far with our baggage. It was clean, friendly staff and good value. We stayed in a triple room. If you were a light sleeper you may hear the traffic but it didn't prevent us from having a good nights sleep. The beds were comfortable. The room was basic (no kettle so we took our own). Although there is a microwave and kettles in the breakfast area downstaires that you can use if you ask the receptionist. The breakfast was very nice and you could help yourself from 7am until 10am. You can catch a number 30 bus from outside the hotel which goes past the Arc de Triomphe and stops at the Eiffel tower. I found this easier than the metro with children. It is worth getting 10 tickets from the metro station for the bus or metro as they work out cheaper. I would happily stay at the Avalon again. If you walk up the road at the back of the hotel you can walk to the Sacre Coeur in about 15 minutes.

Room Tip: The triple room was a double and one single room and faced the main road. If you are a light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is the ideal place if you want to get around Paris as their are so many different buses that take you to the heart of Paris. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Fanny
and the rest of the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ideally situated two minutes from the front door of the Gare de Nord. The reception man spoke Spanish to the people in front of me before dealing with me in perfect English.
There is free wifi.
It cost £80 for a night.
Other than that this place is just horrid.
We had a terrible nights sleep and I think we'd have been better off not spending the money and sleeping in the station. We were on the first floor right next to the bus stop. That was pleasant. On booking in I found myself behind 5 Spanish people. And there I stayed for about twenty minutes. Trying to check in at 5pm on a Saturday night and there was one receptionist. As I don't speak Spanish I had no idea what point if the transaction they were at. So I stood and waited. I wasn't acknowledged. No other member of staff came out. By the time their third credit card appeared to be rejected I thought maybe I should go somewhere else. Even one of the party made an uncomfortable smiled face at me. Eventually with a queue building behind me I was seen. No apology or acknowledgement of my wait. Very polite and friendly nevertheless. Amazing language skills and surely must be able to get a great job somewhere. Hopefully he's on a management programme!
At about 430 am, having only managed to get to sleep after midnight because of the buses, I was awoken by the first slamming door as those getting up for the early trains started their migration. It was like a bomb going off. And it continued until we left for our train. Sort the doors out so they don't slam for goodness sake. I've never known doors slam like it! Staying at this hotel was like hideous and thus though cheap an utter waste of money. I am exhausted as is my husband.
It's cheap for a reason.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macavity22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable réception at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
We thank you very much for your comment and please accept our apologies for the long check-in and the inconvenient caused by the slamming doors.
The long check-in was provoked by the Spanish customers and the debit failure of their numerous credit cards. Due to our procedure, we are not allowed to give the keys for a room until we get payment. For the next time we will ask customers to withdrawal money from ATM machine to let the others get rooms earlier. We’ve made as well a round hotel to detect and repair all the slamming doors. Now it’s the past. Other noise is provoked by the traffic from boulevard Magenta, we are aware that the double glazing can be insufficient for sensible persons. To get pleasant stay we advice to contact reception before arrival or just after check-in to get a room on the back of the hotel.
Kind regards,
Marcin
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect. Especially of travelling by Eurostar. Rooms
Spotlessly clean, everything you need for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was contiental and consisted of cereals, yogurts, tea coffee etc, a nice light meal for a hectic day and brilliant to line the stomach for the scary rides at disney! Close to tube and many local eateries and shops. Could be more central ie to the Eiffel Tower but if you wanna pay £100's more per night then go ahead. The corridors are small and the stairs narrow and the lift small, but does this effect sleep, comfort or cleanliness in the room no. If I return to paris I will certainly be back to the avalon!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truthonlythanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Indeed our hotel is a 5 minute walk from gare du nord and that is why most of our guest like to stay here. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Fanny
and the rest of the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#413 of 1,798 in Paris
654 reviews
Hotel Rocroy
#583 of 1,798 in Paris
429 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#566 of 1,798 in Paris
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,302 of 1,798 in Paris
341 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#624 of 1,798 in Paris
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Paris

Property: Avalon Hotel Paris
Address: 133 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #719 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel*** Avalon is the favorite of guest who believes that confort, a quality service and a central location are the key to an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, this is the perfect location if you need a direct access to Charles de Gaules Airport, the Thalys or the Eurostar. The Sacré-Coeur and the Canal Saint Martin are only ten minutes walking distance, and the Galeries Lafayette, République, Pigalle and the famous Moulin Rouge, only twenty minutes. In a typical parisian building, The Hotel*** Avalon offers a large choice of accommodation. Chose between our confortable, modern and tastefully decorated single, double or triple rooms. Every morning you will enjoy a french breakfast. The wifi is available in the entire hotel. We offer daily housecleaning of every rooms. Notice that some of the rooms are accessible for people with disabilites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing