We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for the facilities available.”
Review of Avalon Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Paris
Ranked #886 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were a family of three including a 3 years old child. The staff were friendly and accomodating to the needs of child as well. The staff knew English and this helped in communicating. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from Gare du Nord train station whch gives connections to city, intercity and international trains. There are good restaurants around.

The rooms are old styled (at least the ones on the front portion), dark, porrly lit. During summer one has to compromise between heat in the rooms vs. noisy road (round the clock) in case you want to leave the windows open to get some cool air. The hotel is meant to give wifi connection in the room, but I never got signal once over five days. the only time I found the network was while standing in front of reception.

Its a bit expensive for the facilities it gives but is probably compensated by some positivees mentioned above, especially if you are returning to hotel only to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank drsalunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable réception at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

We thank you for your comment.
As you’ve published it long time ago we just want to inform you that we’ve renovated our hotel and developed our service to make pleasant and much more comfortable stay for all our customers. Thanks to it we’ve received 3* category starting from October 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 987 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

Hotel was very close to Gare Du Nord which was great.
Service was slightly slow but ok. Breakfast was good and nice that it was included in the price on booking.com.
Overall I would say its decent and it is what it says it is. It was clean and comfortable, but nothing overly special. Great place if you are not picky and are on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We thank you for all of your comments. We would like to inform you that our hotel has just become a 3 star hotel. We have renovated the entire hotel as well. We hope to see you all again very soon.

Fanny
And the rest of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Chose this hotel because it was walking distance from the stations Gare Du Nord and Gare L'Est - we were on a one-night stopover. Staff were friendly and helpful, the place was clean, the rooms were small. All this is ok because the tariff was cheap. Breakfast was disorganised and cramped and there was not enough crockery to go round! there was no coffee and tea making facilities in the room.
Next time I will choose somewhere closer to the river and other tourist venues.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samedlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We thank you for all of your comments. We would like to inform you that our hotel has just become a 3 star hotel. We have renovated the entire hotel as well. We hope to see you all again very soon.

Fanny
And the rest of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I chose this hotel because it is walking distance from the station (Gare du Nord). Quite good value for the money. Staff spoke good English and were pleasant and helpful. Our room was in the roof (level 6 and the lift went as far as level 5). The lift was tiny - one person plus one suitcase at a time! The breakfast room was really crowded and cramped and they ran ourt of crockery so we all had to wait until people finished and they could wash the plated. food was plentiful and reasonable quality.
All in all, a good base to get out and explore central Paris if you come by train but not good if you want to spend a lot of time in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave-from-Queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We thank you for all of your comments. We would like to inform you that our hotel has just become a 3 star hotel. We have renovated the entire hotel as well. We hope to see you all again very soon.

Fanny
And the rest of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in May. The rooms themselves were quite reasonable for the money but severely lacked lighting and the remote control(s) did not work with the new tv. It was a bit noisy but not enough to disturb my sleep.

As noted by others, the service at this hotel isn't great, but it is only 2 star. I needed to see a doctor and I was told to go to the hospital (which I did but it took 5 hours to see one). A little help would've been nice as I was happy to pay to see an ordinary GP.

The hotel is close to gar du nord which means easy access tithe metro and rer. But there are many young people who hang around in groups at night near the stations, sometimes drinking. Can be intimidating.

Otherwise, there is nothing wrong with the hotel, my room didn't have bed bugs and the breakfast was suitable.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phanto014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We thank you for all of your comments. We would like to inform you that our hotel has just become a 3 star hotel. We have renovated the entire hotel as well. We hope to see you all again very soon.

Fanny
And the rest of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

seen previous reviews so not sure if hotel would be suitable. Easy to find a short walk from gare du nord station arrived late morning and got our room straight away which was good ( normal checkin is 2.30 onwards) room located on fifth floor but there was a lift had heeded warnings that alot of paris hotels have no lifts.
Room - well on first sight couldn't believe this was a double ( UK single) but was a double - with hindsight a twin would have been better sized. decoration was bright sunny yellow a bit jaded for recetly renovated!! however bathroom was unexpectedly clean and freshly revamped new tiling and very clean this made up for crampt room
having said that we were out and about each day ( stayed Fri - Monday afternoon) so only early evening and sleeping
breakfast was (full breakfast - juice, cereal, rolls,cheese etc enough to set you up for the day disliked canteen feel of breakfast room but obviously geared for high turnover
all in all good value for money only £37 pp/per night and near staion for metro and rer to aerport. local restaurants overpriced fast food nicest meals were in small bistros in notre dame/St michael (metro stop
was a long walk down from hotel to seine waterfront best avoid rue de sebastopol a bit of a local ghetto no trouble but did feel a bit apprensive and intimidated kept to Metro and excellent waterbus for rest of trip and saw all usual sights

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable réception at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

We thank you for your comment.
As you’ve published it long time ago we just want to inform you that we’ve renovated our hotel and developed our service to make pleasant and much more comfortable stay for all our customers. Thanks to it we’ve received 3* category starting from October 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Firstly I can't believe some of the bad comments regarding this hotel. In all honestly the hotel isn't perfect but you can't really complain when you are paying budget prices. The location of the hotel is perfect as its just around the corner from the Gare du nord which allows you to travel anywhere in Paris. The breakfast was very nice with a great choice.

You cannot visit this city and expect no traffic noise (hardly the hotels fault) and for us personally we didn't find this a problem. The hotel offers all the services that are stated on the website including free wifi. The room was very fresh and clean however I didn't feel the need to stick my nose into the carpet to determine whether it smelt or not as this seems to of been the case with several other guests!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHotelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We thank you for all of your comments. We would like to inform you that our hotel has just become a 3 star hotel. We have renovated the entire hotel as well. We hope to see you all again very soon.

Fanny
And the rest of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#400 of 1,805 in Paris
763 reviews
Appia la Fayette Hotel
#887 of 1,805 in Paris
109 reviews
Hotel Rocroy
#687 of 1,805 in Paris
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#196 of 1,805 in Paris
615 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Midnight Hotel Paris
Midnight Hotel Paris
#437 of 1,805 in Paris
655 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#576 of 1,805 in Paris
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Paris

Address: 131 boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #886 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $88 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel*** Avalon is the favorite of guest who believes that confort, a quality service and a central location are the key to an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, this is the perfect location if you need a direct access to Charles de Gaules Airport, the Thalys or the Eurostar. The Sacré-Coeur and the Canal Saint Martin are only ten minutes walking distance, and the Galeries Lafayette, République, Pigalle and the famous Moulin Rouge, only twenty minutes. In a typical Parisian building, The Hotel*** Avalon offers a large choice of accommodation. Chose between our confortable, modern and tastefully decorated single, double or triple rooms. Every morning you will enjoy a french breakfast. The wifi is available in the entire hotel. We offer daily housecleaning of every rooms. Notice that one room is accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing