We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Ranked #1,191 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The exterior of the building was under renovation and it does not looked like a hotel at all. I know it's a budget hotel but nv expect it to look like a construction site. Extremely small room with no space for two luggages (when open).There is no WiFi at all because when tried to login it indicated that WiFi is not available due to limited user/access(for 3 consecutive nights). Toilet is old and door can't be locked. I will not stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank SuGe777
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    113
    63
    13
    15
See reviews for
31
130
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed at the hotel six days while we were in Paris. The staff is very nice, the breakfast is "excellent" as they offer eggs ( which you have to make) and fresh breads every day. The breakfast room is a tight fit; sometimes having to walk sideways and chairs are uncomfortable. The actual hotel rooms are so small you have to close bathroom door to get to toilet in its own room. Use the toilet, then go to bathroom and wash hands...ugh... what made stay pleasant was staff. This is a residential area so not many eating places close by...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

On the second day of our stay, my fiance and I came back to our hotel room to find 150 Euros missing. Spoke with manager and spent an entire morning filing a police report. The manager assured us he would launch an investigation and get back to us, 2 months later we are still waiting. Make sure you leave all your valuables in the safe at the front desk. We were very shocked by the staff's dishonesty. This put a huge damper on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe201238020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Essex
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here 1 night which was fine. Any longer would stay elsewhere . 2 star hotel . Clean but rooms very small . Bed linnen bit threadbare but did the job. Wifi worked well with phone . Continental breakfast ok . Receptionists were helpful. Location fine and they allowed my husband and his mate to stow bikes in lobby .
Did the open top bus tour round Paris which was well worth it .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinnyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very good location for my mother and I to stay for our first night in Paris. The room was small but the location was close to the metro and Eiffel Tower. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRChewning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My adult son and I just returned from our memorable trip to Paris!. This hotel is in a great location...not so touristy but right by the metro...a darling little market nearby and lots of places to eat/drink and explore. We had a twin room that was VERY small...even by Paris standards I'm told. We literally had 18-24 inches around and between the two beds. This may be just too small for some travelers but for us it worked out just fine. The bathroom however was a very decent size with a tub. We had a tiny balcony that overlooked the street which was fun for watching the Paris life. It's on a fairly busy street but surprisingly our balcony doors blocked out most of the noise at night. The best thing is that this hotel is very clean (my #1 requirement) with daily maid service. The staff was fine and spoke English. We didn't eat there...there's plenty of places nearby. Our only complaint was the wifi. You have a code to access it but they neglect to tell you that only one device can use it per day. You can not sign off say your phone and then re sign onto your laptop. The code only resets itself once a day. We made due just fine but I feel like when you're out of the country you want to provide easy and plentiful access to those at home...ie: phone, email, messaging. This also might be a hinderance for a buisness traveller. This hotel is definitely not fancy, but all in all our experience there was very positive and I would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: If you're a people watcher ask for a balcony when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We booked this hotel having read other reviews and were very pleased with the result. We had a standard double room for 3 nights and, although on the small side, it had everything we needed for a short stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. My only criticism would be the lack of a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities (I do like a nice cup of coffee in bed before I get up!) However, there are numerous bars and cafes in the vicinity where you can get a bit more than the usual Parisien breakfast of bread and croissants. We had excellent omelettes and croques monsieur.
Despite being situated on a very busy road the double glazing does a good job of keeping out all the traffic noise apart from the odd police or ambulance siren.
There is a metro station very close which makes it very easy to get practically anywhere in Paris. However, the hotel website directions for getting from Orly airport are not correct; from Orly West you can catch the Orly bus to Denfert Rochereau, then Metro line 6 to Place d'Italie and change to Line 7 for Censier Daubenton. Or you can get the free shuttle transfer to Orly South and get the 285 bus to Villejuif Louis Aragon (Metro line 7) direct to Censier Daubenton.
The area around the hotel is an excellent place to spend the evening wandering around the quaint cobbled streets, having a glass of something in one of the numerous bar/cafes, or eating in any one of the excellent small restaurants that represent almost every cuisine that you can think of.
Will definately stay here again the next time we visit Paris.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#73 of 1,802 in Paris
214 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel International
Hotel International
#255 of 1,802 in Paris
155 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
#1,212 of 1,802 in Paris
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1,582 of 1,802 in Paris
58 reviews
Eiffel Villa Garibaldi
#1,092 of 1,802 in Paris
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France Quartier Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France Quartier Latin

Property: Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Address: 108 rue Monge, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,191 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France Quartier Latin 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the historical Latin Quarter, the Hôtel de France Quartier Latin is a two star hotel offering business travellers and holiday makers quality accommodation in the centre of Paris. Our friendly staff will do their utmost to help you organise your stay in the City of Light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de France Quartier Latin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
France Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing