We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Ranked #1,245 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed at the hotel six days while we were in Paris. The staff is very nice, the breakfast is "excellent" as they offer eggs ( which you have to make) and fresh breads every day. The breakfast room is a tight fit; sometimes having to walk sideways and chairs are uncomfortable. The actual hotel rooms are so small you have to close bathroom door to get to toilet in its own room. Use the toilet, then go to bathroom and wash hands...ugh... what made stay pleasant was staff. This is a residential area so not many eating places close by...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 249 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

On the second day of our stay, my fiance and I came back to our hotel room to find 150 Euros missing. Spoke with manager and spent an entire morning filing a police report. The manager assured us he would launch an investigation and get back to us, 2 months later we are still waiting. Make sure you leave all your valuables in the safe at the front desk. We were very shocked by the staff's dishonesty. This put a huge damper on our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe201238020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here 1 night which was fine. Any longer would stay elsewhere . 2 star hotel . Clean but rooms very small . Bed linnen bit threadbare but did the job. Wifi worked well with phone . Continental breakfast ok . Receptionists were helpful. Location fine and they allowed my husband and his mate to stow bikes in lobby .
Did the open top bus tour round Paris which was well worth it .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trinnyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very good location for my mother and I to stay for our first night in Paris. The room was small but the location was close to the metro and Eiffel Tower. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VRChewning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My adult son and I just returned from our memorable trip to Paris!. This hotel is in a great location...not so touristy but right by the metro...a darling little market nearby and lots of places to eat/drink and explore. We had a twin room that was VERY small...even by Paris standards I'm told. We literally had 18-24 inches around and between the two beds. This may be just too small for some travelers but for us it worked out just fine. The bathroom however was a very decent size with a tub. We had a tiny balcony that overlooked the street which was fun for watching the Paris life. It's on a fairly busy street but surprisingly our balcony doors blocked out most of the noise at night. The best thing is that this hotel is very clean (my #1 requirement) with daily maid service. The staff was fine and spoke English. We didn't eat there...there's plenty of places nearby. Our only complaint was the wifi. You have a code to access it but they neglect to tell you that only one device can use it per day. You can not sign off say your phone and then re sign onto your laptop. The code only resets itself once a day. We made due just fine but I feel like when you're out of the country you want to provide easy and plentiful access to those at home...ie: phone, email, messaging. This also might be a hinderance for a buisness traveller. This hotel is definitely not fancy, but all in all our experience there was very positive and I would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: If you're a people watcher ask for a balcony when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We booked this hotel having read other reviews and were very pleased with the result. We had a standard double room for 3 nights and, although on the small side, it had everything we needed for a short stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. My only criticism would be the lack of a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities (I do like a nice cup of coffee in bed before I get up!) However, there are numerous bars and cafes in the vicinity where you can get a bit more than the usual Parisien breakfast of bread and croissants. We had excellent omelettes and croques monsieur.
Despite being situated on a very busy road the double glazing does a good job of keeping out all the traffic noise apart from the odd police or ambulance siren.
There is a metro station very close which makes it very easy to get practically anywhere in Paris. However, the hotel website directions for getting from Orly airport are not correct; from Orly West you can catch the Orly bus to Denfert Rochereau, then Metro line 6 to Place d'Italie and change to Line 7 for Censier Daubenton. Or you can get the free shuttle transfer to Orly South and get the 285 bus to Villejuif Louis Aragon (Metro line 7) direct to Censier Daubenton.
The area around the hotel is an excellent place to spend the evening wandering around the quaint cobbled streets, having a glass of something in one of the numerous bar/cafes, or eating in any one of the excellent small restaurants that represent almost every cuisine that you can think of.
Will definately stay here again the next time we visit Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This hotel is located in the Latin Quarter which is the perfect centralized location. It's within walking distance to the metro and close to many great restaurants. The area is not super touristy and we didn't encounter any gypsies in this area. The staff speaks English and is very helpful.

The hotel itself was perfect for us. The rooms even have typical American sized bathrooms which was great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
#1,191 of 1,803 in Paris
224 reviews
Hotel de l'Esperance
#988 of 1,803 in Paris
315 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Devillas
Hotel Devillas
#826 of 1,803 in Paris
578 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#236 of 1,803 in Paris
343 reviews
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France Quartier Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France Quartier Latin

Address: 108 rue Monge, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,245 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $63 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France Quartier Latin 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de France Quartier Latin is located a 2-minute walk from the famous Mouffetard street and Censier-Daubenton Metro Station. It offers contemporary accommodation with an LCD TV, air-conditioned as well as free WiFi in every room. A continental breakfast is served every morning. The hotel’s small library provides a selection of guidebooks for exploring the city. The Patheon, Sorbonne university and Jardin des Plantes are a 5-minute walk away and local transport leads directly to Le Louvre, Notre Dame, the Opera and many other famous spots. The 5th district is a great choice for travellers interested in food, history and art as it is one of the oldest districts in Paris with many stories to tell... Feel welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de France Quartier Latin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
France Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing