We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "Lilliput" Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Ranked #631 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Rome
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The "Lilliput" Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel four nights in a so called "double room" and I don't want to immagine what a "single room" would have been like.... I personally travel quite often for work and I ensure you that I have slept in single rooms much more greater ( in terms of space..) than this!!! The bathroom was so small that was almost impossible to get inside in two... Apart from that the hotel is clean and placed 350 m from the metro.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    275
    111
    24
    7
See reviews for
85
208
39
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

My Husband and myself spent two weeks in this hotel and had a fantastic vacation! We were a little concerned before coming after reading some reviews but were pleased when we arrived. It's clean, the room not too small like others said, bed was very comfortable and breakfast was awesome. It's in a good area of the city and easy access to the Metro and busses. We walked miles a day and used the bus, could see more of the city traveling that way. I would come back to this hotel, staff very pleasant, helpful and spoke English.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in a twin room.
The room was small as expected and so slightly cramped for two people with luggage, but this was not a big issue as we didn't spend much time in the room. The tea tray & kettle was a bonus but it is a shame the hotel only provides 2 paper cups each day - this could be an issue if you wanted several hot drinks (like me!).
We had a room on the sixth floor - overlooking Avenue du Maine. The room was hot & stuffy and the AC ineffective - so it was necessary to have the window open when we were in the room. The road outside is busy with traffic and so we slept poorly (even with earplugs!).
On reflection we should have asked to be moved to a quieter room at the back of the hotel.
The rooms don't have hairdryers - but one is available via Reception if you leave a 20euro deposit. The bathroom could do with a refurb but was clean with a powerful shower over the bath. The beds were comfortable.

Staff were helpful and friendly, happily opening our supermarket bottle of wine (we had forgotten to pack a corkscrew!). We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but the breakfast room looked nice. There are microwaves and a vending machine (instant pasta/noodle/rice dishes) for guest use near the breakfast room.
The hotel also has two small courtyard patios. Free wifi was useful.

The location is fine if you don't mind walking or using Metro/RER. Several stations are within walking distance (Gaite, Pernety, Montparnasse, Edgar Quinet, Raspail - Metro stops). We used Denfert Rochereau RER station to easily get from and to Gare du Nord (for Eurostar) - this line is also good for CDG airport. It is within 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
Nearby, Rue de Gaite and Rue Daguerre are good for cafes/bistro's.
We have been to Paris several times so this location was OK but if a first time visitor I would recommend staying closer to the river Seine.

Overall ,for the price, I would stay at this hotel again (but would insist on a room not overlooking Ave du Maine).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking Ave du Maine if you are a light sleeper - traffic noise can be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise_ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Our room was extremely small but we didn't miss anything. The view was just to the wall of the adjacent building, but we used the room only to sleep. Breakfast was awsome. I coldn't ask for more. Walking distance from subway and train station. Light and clean neighborhood. Police station was 2-300m away. Paid $110/night/room in July. I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tourist10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here before on our first visit to Paris & as we were getting the best price at this hotel & had no complaints we decided to book again (which we very rarely do) for our New Years trip with friends.
We were given the same room as last time which made us laugh! Fair size of room for a city, in good/safe location. free wifi which is handy & very helpful & friendly staff!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Amazing service, very polite and efficient reception. Modern, newish hotel, very clean and comfortable. The rooms are large enough, considering that it is Paris afterall, and very clean and immaculate. Kettle and TV available, with one English channel and many French channels. Good location near to 2 metro stops (requires a bit of a walk, approximately 600metres away), and safe neighborhood. Many cafes and nice restaurants nearby. Free security enabled wifi, but sometimes a little unreliable as it disconnects quite a fair bit. Very clean and comfortable beds and bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seha_Suhaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Best area of Paris to stay (respectable area plus loads of restaurants), plus fantastic value & service. Has bar, but no restaurant. Breakfast absolutely fab (find deal with breakfast included). Staff very pleasant & helpful, but I found that they didn't know the area well (probably came to work from another area). They did recommend a restaurant ("Chez Papa") that proved excellent. Reasonable shop next door selling chilled wine & beer (the hotel is happy for you to bring your own drinks & takeaways in). Don't forget your own corkscrew!!!
The road outside is very busy & noisy despite double glazing, so if a light sleeper. request a quiet room (which they will put you in if one is available even after having booked through another agency). Noise in Paris is very difficult to avoid wherever you stay!
Don't make the mistake of thinking that you need a hotel closer to the attractions. The Metro system get you to all the attractions in a few minutes anyway (Metro station Gaite is 5 mins walk away). It took just one Metro station change & under 10 minutes to reach most Paris attractions from Gaite station itself. Remember that in Paris as long as you stay underground (even when changing stations/trains), you only need one ticket per trip. Be alert to charity con artists & pickpockets, but don't let it spoil your holiday (you will never feel genuinely threatened). The Gare Du Nord is the worst plus stations in the Pigalle region... not much to recommend Pigalle anyway (excepting Montmartre)... The experience travelling the Metro offers is a great attraction in itself, so please don't be put off!
A central Paris con we saw a lot of was one that involved a false gold wedding ring that had just been "found" by the con-artist (they tried it on us twice). Just keep saying no & walking on... Quite fun to experience it really...
7th floor (and 6th I think) has rooms with terrasses for £10 extra per night (if booking via a lower priced offer, the hotel will let you have one of these at short notice for an extra 10 euros IF one is available for your stay). All rooms are 89 euros, excepting the terrace ones for 99 euros. The 7th floor ones have views (only just) of the Pantheon, Les Invalides and the Montparnasse tower (just down the road, so an unavoidable sight... love it or loath it... I quite liked it).
Takeaway "speedy rabbit" pizza place was very good, if a little expensive. A cheaper takeaway for pizza can be found by exiting the hotel & going right, then turning down the first street you come to on your right. I think that this must be the ONLY other pizza takeaway in Montparnasse (I searched everywhere). There is also a Chinese takeaway a few buildings down in the same direction, but be warned... The flavours & choice bears very little resemblance to a UK Chinese... You also choose your dishes from a cold selection on the counter, and your choice is then cooked for you.
NB: Do not use new indian restaurant opened immediately next door (flies everywhere in the middle of December, refused to give me 10% off for take-away food... menu promised "-10% plats d'emporter"... owner argued that the menu I ordered was discounted anyway). My pudding was an indian cake that was hot on the outside & still frozen on the inside (badly defrosted in the microwave). Final straw was that I found a nasal hair (unmistakeable) on the cake as well immediately on unpackaging (NOT mine)... Yack!
Sorry about digressing so much... To conclude this really is a top choice of hotel for Paris.

Room Tip: Chilled champagne 17 Euros a bottle from the Proxi store next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IntensiveCareNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Ibis Paris Maine Montparnasse 14eme
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#361 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#719 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
#704 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Montparnasse
Patio Brancion
Patio Brancion
#1,202 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Terminus Orleans
#354 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse

Property: Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Address: 146 avenue du Maine, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Maine Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Campanile Maine Montparnasse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing