We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for area!”
Review of Royal Phare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Phare Hotel
Ranked #1,025 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed there from June 25th - July 2nd. I had read reviews prior and had some concerns, but after staying there and getting over my initial shock - it really was a very nice place. Yes, the rooms and elevator are small and yes, the decor/furnishings are quite a bit out of date. But! The rooms were always meticulouslly cleaned - beds were always freshly made. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. They helped us arrange a cab back to the airport (and the cost turned out less than when I had another hotel in the area do this for me on a previous trip - I think the hotel had a 15 Euro charge they added for themselves). The day and night staff at the front desk for the most part were very helpful and friendly (other than one young lady at the desk - who did not speak much English and this was probably why we had communication difficulties). The housekeeping staff were extremely friendly. We were on the 6th floor and my husband was impressed we could see the Eiffel tower - it was his first visit. We had two large and one medium suitcase and this made the room even smaller - but again, for 7 days, we managed in the room. Yes, there are other hotels in the area with a bit more square footage and newer curtains/beds (and which I have stayed at) - but for 108 E compared to 300 E - the room was a great deal. If you need a clean space and not fancy accommodations, Hotel Royal Phare is probably one of the best deals for this district. We kept our window open and did not need a fan; and still slept comfortably. Again, if you book - just remember the rooms are small and a bit dated - but they are clean, it's in a great area, and it was safe/secure. We had no problems with the Wi-Fi in our room - we just had to get our log-in code from the desk once and it worked the entire stay. I did have the shock of the bare bones type of room, when we first walked in - but I would stay there again! We never tried their breakfast - but then I rarely eat the hotel continental breakfast at the other hotels I have stayed at in Paris. With regards to the breakfast though - their price was extremely economical compared to the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room on the back of the building - get a view of the Eiffel tower and less noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanette q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. The location is perfect, next to a metro link, next door to a supermarket & about 5 minute walk from the effiel tower. The room did not have Air conditioning but it wasn't missed as you can leave the windows open and your provided with a fan. The lift is quite small. The room included a fridge & a hair dryer. I would say its worth taking cups & a travel plug. Great value overall for this area of Paris, I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyhot15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location of this hotel cannot be faulted. It is situated in a lovely part of paris and the amount of cafes and restaurants near by is brilliant. There is a metro station, ATM and a supermarket literally on the front step. As with any European city hotel it was very basic but it was spotlessly clean and comfortable. There was a fridge in our room so we could stock it up from the supermarket next door. The reception and cleaning staff were very polite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is in an amazing location for those seeking to see the cultural side of Paris while staying in a stylish area with lots of good restaurants, bars and shops. As it is right near the Eiffel Tower my girlfriend and myself enjoyed more than one picnic lunch in the park and the door to the hotel is directly outside a metro station so no long walks to more distant attractions.

If you are claustrophobic you might get a work out carrying your bags up the tight narrow staircase, as the lift is barely made for one, however after the delicious breakfast on offer for only €7.5 you might savour the chance to work off that extra croissant !

Staff are by friendly, rooms/bathrooms a bit tight (very small showers) but with fully opening windows with views of the Eiffel Tower it's hard to notice ! ( we were in room 54 with partial views, ask for a room on the same side but higher !)

Room Tip: We were in room 54 with partial views, ask for a room on the same side but higher !)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickDolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The location of this hotel was very handy, close to the metro and within walking distance to the Eiffel Tower! Unfortunately the rooms are tiny, with no extras, no kettle either! If you want to get to one side of the room to the other you have to climb over the bed as there is literally no room to walk around it. It would be okay for a night but if you're staying a couple days you might want to think again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is for people that want to experience PARIS not relish in the hotel Luxury. The size and décor weren't great. However the location will knock your socks off.
-ATM right by the hotel entrance
-Metro stop right outside of your door
-Fresh market next to the ATM
-Great restaurant next to that
-Overnight Parking across the street from restaurant
-A block of way from the Calvarie building
-VERY close to the Eiffel tower and Seine river

-More great restaurants and bars in the opposite direction of the above mentioned

Also a BNP ATM around the corner, great for foreign banks.

Room Tip: Front rooms seem to have more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McSaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Royal Phare numerous times and found it good value and well-placed.
Take a double front room and enjoy the street theatre at the restaurant opposite.
Single rooms are at the rear. On the fifth level you have the view of one third of the hourly sparkly sight of the Tour Eiffel. Try the sixth and you have half and from the 7th marvel at three quarters of this stupendous attraction!!!
A bonus is the stylish Rue Cler market shops nearby.

Room Tip: See the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eber
Hotel Eber
#795 of 1,805 in Paris
303 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#1,415 of 1,805 in Paris
234 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Derby Eiffel Hotel
#813 of 1,805 in Paris
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#521 of 1,805 in Paris
356 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#876 of 1,805 in Paris
400 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#70 of 1,805 in Paris
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Phare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phare Hotel

Address: 40 avenue de la Motte Picquet, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,025 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $119 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Phare Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Royal Phare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Phare Paris
Hotel Royal Phare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing