We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, warm. Good value”
Review of Le Village Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Village Hostel
Ranked #3 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clean, safe, warm. Good value”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here with 5 friends for a rugby game. It was ideal - clean rooms, warm and safe. Electronic door keys. Very good value. For a hostel it's ideal. Great location too near montmartre and sacre coeur

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shenaniganso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier h, Directeur général at Le Village Hostel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi Guy,

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you next time for an other rudby match or for a week end in Paris. Take care.
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    292
    106
    34
    32
See reviews for
44
111
303
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Fantastic Hostel at a great location!

I stayed at this hostel for 7 nights and absolutely loved it. The staff was friendly, my room was decent and the bathrooms were clean--which is more than I can ask for. The hostel is located in Montmartre and is literally only a 5 minute walk to Sacre Couer. There is a small supermarket with a bakery right down the street in case you need a grab and go breakfast or decide to stay in for dinner. The closest metro is also just around the corner so traveling around the city was a breeze. I always travel with earplugs so noise was never a problem--I was also fortunate enough to have extremely quiet roommates.

PS. My room was on the first floor so I was able to access wifi from my room just fine. However, I found it more interesting to hangout in the lounge/dining area rather than being holed up in my room. :)

Room Tip: First floor rooms get Wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiekao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier h, Directeur général at Le Village Hostel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Bonjour,

Many thanks for your review, we are happy if yopu have a nice stay with us and we hope to see you again next time in Paris.

best regards

Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I only stayed one night at Le Village, the hostel itself wasn't too bad. The rooms were really small, but they were clean. I stayed in a 4 person room and there really wasn't any space for our bags. We ran out of hot water, but that was a common occurrence throughout our trip. The staff was ok, nothing special. The location of Le Village isn't the best, the neighborhood was actually pretty creepy! We walked there from the train station and the further we walked the worse the neighborhood got. I literally felt like a piece of meat. We were trying to figure out where to go and creepy guys were watching us and eyeballing us...it was really strange. Not to mention 90% of the population in Paris is rude!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincumber, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Small clean room, excellent breakfasts, good safe deposit boxes for guest use and helpful staff. Excellent location near Sacre Couer and all the shops and cafes/restaurants of Montmartre and Pigalle. Stayed for five days and it was an excellent base to explore Paris from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfagan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in early October. Because I left it late to book, I had to split my booking across two rooms. My fault, no problem. The rooms were clean and I was alone for one night, which was great.

In the first room, there was no hot water. Stone cold. I got a shrug of the shoulders and "sorry" from the guy at reception. You do expect more for 40 Euros a night. In the second room, there may as well have been no shower, as the water trickled out of the shower head and down the wall, and each push of the automatic-stop button lasted about four seconds. So you had to stand with your back against it. Also, a person I roomed with took my towel.

You cannot get a signal for the Wifi in any of the rooms, so you can only use it at reception.

But the hostel has some really great points. It's literally right underneath the Sacre Coeur. It's three minutes walk from the Anvers metro stop. It is easily accessible, and right near a major Paris landmark. Montmartre is really beautiful.

The breakfast at the hostel is also really good. Cereal, rolls, croissants, juice and coffee.

If hostel workers are not on shift but still at work, they will not help you - in my case, something really quick and simple - open the security door to get my luggage. Some of the staff can bark orders. But overall they're friendly and the place is well organised.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Sacre Coeur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

No internet at my room, my roommate used my personal towel, and as I made the complaint personally and then after living the room, I send an email to Olivier, the manager, and this was his answer: "This is a hostel, not a 5 star hotel, you’re not the king here. But you are the king of stupid. Next time book a private room at The Ritz, or better yet, stay at home. You should not be traveling when you’re as stupid as you are..." I have the emails to prove it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kamels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier h, Directeur général at Le Village Hostel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello,
To answer your review, I inform you that in our homepage it is written that our rooms don't provide any internet.
And I confirm you that I sent you this message that you wrote on your review, but don't forget to inform the others about this disrespectful message, wich you sent about the reception.
I have the emails to prove them.

Best Regards
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Awesome location, awesome staff, great place to stay. I was stuck with the top floor (4th), but there is a lift which works most of the time. Montmartre is such a beautiful place and le village is literally on its doorstep. Grocery store across the road, laundromat and convenience store just down the street. Junk food and haute-cuisine readily available. I had not stayed in a hostel for several years, but the week I spent at le village has definitely left me with many a fond memory.

Room Tip: book early. it was booked out most the time i was there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Brotherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vintage Hostel
#14 of 170 in Paris
767 reviews
Le Regent Hostel
#10 of 170 in Paris
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Village Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Village Hostel

Property: Le Village Hostel
Address: 20 rue d Orsel, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Village is where old-world charm has a hip, fresh attitude. Located in Montmartre, one of Paris's most popular and authentic areas, we provide travellers with the service and comfort of a hotel at budget prices. Montmartre is one of Paris's most popular districts for a few reasons: it's close to famous tourist sites like Sacre-Coeur and the Moulin Rouge and is full of bars - as the On the Road Pub, bistros and some of the best nightlife Paris has to offer. We're very close to the metro so getting to anywhere else in Paris easy and cheap. Stay here and you'll be in a fantastic area. You will have choice between several accomodations types from the single or private double / triple / quadruple rooms to cheap beds in mixt or female dormitories. All of our rooms are equipped with air conditioning and their own shower, toilet, sink and telephone and include free linen and blankets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Le Village Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing