We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; small, perfumed room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Motte Picquet
Ranked #184 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a nice stay here for 3 days in August. Many other English-speaking guests and helpful staff. Rue Cler is not quite the scene we envisioned -- in the evenings it's packed with mostly 20-somethings crammed like sardines on the street smoking and eating at touristy restaurants with mediocre food. Better food and ambience to be found on the side streets. The neighborhood is very quiet at night. I agree with previous posters about the hotel's small but functional rooms. To add two hopefully helpful notes:

(1) the room had a very strong perfume smell, really almost unbearable. We asked to move to another room but were told that wasn't possible - the hotel was full. They said they would ask the new cleaning staff not to spray the perfume again. It's hard to believe anyone would like that, and you wonder what they're trying to cover up. We opened the window and blasted the fan and managed. All our bags and clothes still smell like the hotel though.

(2) The bathroom was small and nice, but the tub was very high, and I don't think my parents could have managed - there was no bar to hold on, and no shower door, so everything gets wet and slippery. There's no way to keep the water from getting all over the toilet while you're in the shower.

We got a great deal online, and for the price, overall it was pretty good.

Room Tip: We were near the elevator and it was not a problem - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarchMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comment that help us to be even better. We look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 998 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice and it is always been a pleasant experience. The hotel is next to Rue Cler--a street lined with shops and restaurants. It is literally one minute walk to the Metro, ten minutes walk to the Eiffel Tower, Invalides and Roudin Museum.

The room is clean, it has a functioning elevator albeit it is a small elevator. The restroom is small but this is common in Paris hotel.

There are other hotels in 7th arrondissement but I will definitely stay on this hotel again if I go back to Paris. To me the biggest selling point is the reception staff. Tina and Mo is wonderful; they are always willing to assist you whether it is finding direction, making restaurant reservation or getting a taxi.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room not facing Motte de Picquett.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mobleydcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for the time you took to write this review, it is very complete. You can't imagine how proud we are to be your favorite hotel in Paris ! You just made our day ! We have a great location by the monuments and the exceptional rue Cler. We do our best to offer you all the confort, cleanliness and services we could. Vanessa and me are willing to help you in the organization of your stay : informations, maps, reservations... Never hesitate to ask us for any demand!
Best regards,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff was friendly & helpful. The room was clean & quiet. On the small size but did accommodate all our needs. Beds were very comfortable, lots of pillows & fresh towels. The staff helped us with directions. Location was good, we were able to walk to the Eiffel Tower.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear guests,
We are so glad to see that all was perfect during your stay among us in Paris, in the Hotel de la Motte-Picquet, be certain it is our everyday goal ! So reading your review, the whole staff is smiling today !
Thank you.

Cordially,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Motte Picquet Monday night. We stayed in the standard double room and we got a great deal on it. Our trip to Paris was extremely last minute and they were super helpful booking our room. Rooms are small, but that is standard for Paris, and stylish. The great thing about this hotel is it is around the corner from great little cafes and it is a 7-10 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valeriebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for your review about the Hotel de la Motte-Picquet ! We are happy if you had a good experience among us. We do our best to make it unforgettable. Don't forget you will always have the best prices if you book directly on our website because you will avoid the additionnal fees of the booking sites.
Take care,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was very impressed with my stay at Hotel de la Motte Picquet. The location was great; close to the subway and Eiffel Tower and within walking distance of the Champs Elysee and Arc de Triomphe. The room was small, but ideal for a single traveller, it was very clean and comfortable. Most of all, the reception staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and spoke good English. The only negative point is that there was some noise from outside as it is right on the street. I happily sleep with ear plugs so this didn't bother me but it may not be ideal to have a room at the front if you are a light sleeper. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone or staying again myself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear guest,


Thank you for your kind comment on the Hotel de la Motte-Picquet, we really do appreciate. We are glad to read that you had a good time in Paris and do hope you will come back soon for more visits and walks.
Cordially,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in '99 when it cost a lot less than it does now but knew I had to return on my next trip to Paris. Not much has changed, but that's a good thing. Still "cozy" I.e. small so please don't come here expecting room to spread out. We just needed a clean comfortable room and that's what you get, plus in the heat of august the AC worked! The metro, champs de mars, eiffel tower, rue cler, napolean's tomb/ army museum and good food are all on your doorstep.
We were out early each day and back close to or after midnight most nights and never felt wary when walking around. With the metro just steps away all of Paris was accessible. Got a shuttle from CDG arranged by hotel for €40 for myself and daughter. The metro costs much less of course but would not have had the experience of getting our first glimpse of the eiffel tower in the metro. Also did not want to lug around luggage after our long trip.
There was a bus stop just outside the door but I never figured out what line it was, we usually walked to the end of rue cler made a right on saint dominque quick bite from the pastry shop then hopped on bus 69 which takes you to many of the sights along the seine. A good one for seeing all the sights lit up at night!
Highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathalina916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your precise review of your stay in the Hotel de la Motte-Picquet. You are indeed a true Parisian now and know the parisian transportation by heart! We are indeed very lucky to be so well located with all the possibilities (bus, taxi, metro, RER, parking) to reach the best places in and just around the capitale of France. Moreover, the .7th arrondissement is very chic, safe and elegant so that you can walk anywhere anytime.
We are happy if you keep great memories of us back in California!
Come back soon, this time you don't have to wait 14 years ;-)!

Take care,
Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had 2 rooms for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff was always very helpful and the location perfect. Although rooms are small they were ample for a few nights. Water was hot for showers. We highly recommend if you want to experience the true Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear guests,

What a pleasure to read that you spend a great time among us in Paris, in the Hotel de la Motte-Picquet! We really hope that you will come back soon for another trip in the heart of the city of lights !
Take care,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
#129 of 1,804 in Paris
2,024 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#51 of 1,804 in Paris
531 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#168 of 1,804 in Paris
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#859 of 1,804 in Paris
390 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
#28 of 1,804 in Paris
1,473 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
#336 of 1,804 in Paris
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motte Picquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motte Picquet

Address: 30 avenue de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Paris
#106 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $139 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Motte Picquet 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Motte Picquet, a hotel of Charm, is a very well groomed and well renovated hotel, lying in a unique district: the 7th district, near the main business centres, a short walk from the Champ-de-Mars, the Eiffel Tower, the Trocadero, the Invalides and the Rodin Museum. It is an oasis of peace in the heart of Paris, with many transport opportunities which make it easily accessible. Its location is outstanding: at the corner of Rue Cler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Motte Picquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motte Picquet Hotel
Motte Picquet Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing