We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and favulous service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Motte Picquet
Ranked #225 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here with family over spring break and loved this hotel! The location is great for shopping and walking to the major tourist sights. The best part was all the help we received from Tina. She couldn't have been more helpful. From airport shuttles to dinner reservations and everything in between she was spot on with every recommendation. We had a triple and it was nice. Good value for Paris.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was on the street but I like that. Take ear plugs if you sleep light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this very kind comment on the Hotel de la Motte Picquet that gave a great smile on our face today. We really love our work and do everyday our best to satisfy our guests so your message is just a present for us to motivate to do even better!

Best regards,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

I wholly agree with the previous review by Aranwen (10 March 2013). Trying to keep an ageing building in tip-top condition is clearly hard work, but this is a good and characterful little hotel. The staff are excellent and very welcoming. I enjoyed the breakfast (with good coffee, croissants, jam, cheese, plain yoghurt, etc) but at 12 Euros per person a visit to one of the many good local cafes may make more sense. The rooms are on the small side, the lack of a wardrobe in some rooms needs to be addressed. When we arrived we were given room 302, but unfortunately the room smelled strongly of carpet cleaner and we asked for a different room (which was much better). Both the bedroom and bathroom were clean, but the bathroom could do with renovation and/or additional cleaning (our original bedroom did have a renovated bathroom). Ecole Militarie Metro station is located very nearby; the Eiffel Tower is just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear guests,

Let us thank you for having taking the time to write a message about your stay at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet. We are glad to read that it was a nice stay. We give consideration to all the remarks our guests can do so that we try each day to do better than the previous day.

Cordially,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spent three nights here in March 2013 and had an enjoyable stay. We arranged a shuttle via the hotel which was expensive as it was after 8pm but think it was a lot cheaper than a taxi. A few hiccups when we arrived such as the safe and air con not working but we were soon moved to another room. The concierge was VERY patient and polite. Beds were very comfortable and even though we were on a main street and there was building work next door, we slept really well.
The drawback is that the rooms are very small and storage space consists of a rail and a few hangers. The bathroom is small but adequate and very clean. I showered etc in the dark as the windows were large and faced the road. Even though the glass is frosted it still wouldn't hide my embarrassment!! The staff are all very helpful and polite especially the lovely lady who sorted out confusion about payment.

The hotel is in a brilliant location near the Metro, Eiffel Tower and within walking distance of lots of tourist attractions. Rue Cler has excellent restaurants where you can get breakfast. Good people watching! Best restaurant was 7eVin (Septieme Vin). Staff very friendly, amazing food and wine and the unofficial entertainment was a potential Allan Bennett play or a french equivalent anyway. I'm just glad we weren't sitting next to the people involved and could just observe from a distance. Shame we had to come home!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aranwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear guests,
How sweet of you to take time to write a comment about your stay with us at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet. It is great to read that you had a wonderful time with good restaurants and shows ! Don't hesitate next time to ask for even more good addresses, the dinner-cruise on the Seine are fantastic ! About the bathroom, I really want to assure you that you can be totally certain that there is no way anybody could be seen from outside. The system to frost the window is used in all hotels everywhere, especially three stars like us, because you know that curtains are forbidden in bathroom for security issues. Don't worry the room is 100% private and hidden!
We hope to see you back soon in France !

Cordially,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotel Motte Picquet was a cute little space with very helpful staff. It was conveniently located near the Eiffel Tower and a metro station to get you to many other places in just a couple stops. The only down side to the location was that it was near an Italian school so there was more Italian than French food nearby. But we didn't mind - it was easy enough to get everywhere else it wasn't a big deal.

The rooms were modestly sized, as I'd expect in an older buildign in Paris. But, they were clean, comfortable and included a private bath and refridgerator. We were in a corner room, and it was lovely to open the windows in the evening for some fresh air and to look down the street.

The breakfast you could purchase at the hotel was the biggest opportunity - it was not anything notable and was pricey for what was included. We preferred to walk down to the bakery down the street - can't remember the name, but it was toward the Eiffel Tower on the opposite site of the street. Or, there's a grocery a block away, which was a nice perk as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear guests,

We are glad you had such a great time at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet and around. Paris is an incredible city with so many hidden treasures. It is true that there are wonderful cafés around the hotel and amazing patisseries where you can find fresh bread and croissant like we offer too in the breakfast buffet of the hotel. We offer a large choice convenient for some guests some morning but obviously the rue Cler is loaded by charming cafés and salon de thé that you w<ill love, especially in spring and summer when you will stay on the terrace.
About the italian school, it was probably a group of tourists as there is no italian school by the hotel and only french typical brasseries and restaurants. But if you love italian cuisine, we know an amazing one in the 7th district that you will love next time you will visit us.

Thank you for this message,

Best regards,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel via Trip Advisor and it has fully lived up to the reviews. It is in a fantastic location around 10 mins walk from the Eiffel Tower. It is also 2 mins from Ecole Militaire Metro. It is next to Rue Cler which has many places to eat or drink, shops, supermarkets etc.

We got the shuttle booked via the hotel from Charles De Gaulle airport. Took 50 mins and cost ?40 for 2 of us.

Reception staff were lovely, all speaking excellent English and really helpful. Vanessa in particular was great booking us dinner at 2 restaurants and a cruise trip on the Seine. We were celebrating 25 years together and had requested a good room. Vanessa remembered this and gave us 302 which had a new bathroom.

Yes the room was small as are most in Paris, but had everything we needed. It had a fridge with some beer and soft drinks available. The insulation from traffic noise was good and we got a good sleep each night.

I would defintely stay at this hotel again if in Paris and highly recommend it if you are looking for a relaxed stay in a great location.

Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear guests,
We are all very happy to read that you had a great time for your 25th birthday of marriage, with us, at the hotel de la Motte Picquet!! Congratulations! We always strive our best to make our guests feel like family with us. We know how little details can be problems when you travel far from your country and do everything we can to avoid that and let our guests enjoy their holidays free-minded !

Take care dear guests!
best regards,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in February and we were very happy with what we got. We arrived mid afternoon after arriving in CDG airport. We got a taxi from the airport as we did not know Paris at all. This was a quite pricey 50 Euros and there are cheaper alternative travel options.
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Mo who was very pleasent and offered us a choice of two rooms and let us have a look. We chose Room 102 which was very small, but perfect for us and had a good, hot shower which was great as the weather was FREEZING cold as it is in Northern Europe in February :)

Mo also was willing to explain anything about Paris to us and anything that we needed to book ie. shows,tours etc.

We went to Disneyland, Moet and Chandon Champagne tour (outside Paris in Eppernay) and even a Walking Tour of the area and had the most fantastic time.

We dealt with a lady called Vanessa for the rest of our stay at the hotel and she was also superb and had a lot of knowledge about Paris if you needed it. The breakfast was a standard buffet style, with cheese, ham, bread and coffee/tea etc and was very nice for 12 Euros per person.

The transport system is also very easy to use especially the Metro, which is also safe to use. And the food and shopping are excellent in paris. We had a variety of nationality foods inc American, Greek, Chinese and of course the French Pastries and coffees are legendary!

The only thing we did not like was at times the hotel can be noisy with people banging and shouting in the corridors , but the hotel is only small and has 16 rooms, but do not let this put you off. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and the staff really helped our stay in Paris a very nice break.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a short break in Paris in a safe, but central location.

Room Tip: If you do not like noise then do not get a street side room, although the double glazing windows kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear guests,
This is very nice of you to take the time to write a review about your stay at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet. Apparently you loved it and be sure it is a great satisfaction for our team !
You too seem to be gourmets who appreciate good food so France is the perfect place for your holidays ! We know that our guests and friends always enjoy the Champagne tour and it is good news to see that our breakfast buffet also had your approval : we did our best to propose the largest choice. It is funny to read that you had great meals in greek, chinese and american restaurants because a lot of travellers just want to taste french cuisine and our extraordinary restaurants but as you love diversity, ask me next time for an italian restaurant because i know some amazing one, just here in the 7th district ;-) !!!
We hope to see you soon,

Take care and again, thank you,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I chose Hotel de la Motte Picquet based on the recommendation in Rick Steves' Paris guide book and it was a great choice! The staff at the hotel were very knowledgeable about restaurants, attractions and tours, although we ended up using Rick Steves' guide to plan most of our days (the hotel has all of his Paris-related books).

We had a room with a queen bed on the second floor of the hotel facing the street. Noise wasn't a problem for us at all. The room was quite small, but this wasn't a problem either as we spent almost all of our time in Paris out and about. The only thing we didn't love about the room was the shower, which was constructed about a foot off the floor so the step up was a bit tricky when getting in and out. Not sure if all the rooms have similar shower set-ups, but I would suggest requesting a room with a more accessible shower if this was a concern.

The location was the most fabulous part of this hotel. The metro (Ecole Militaire station) was about a block away (2 minute walk) and was extremely easy to use. We could get all over Paris from this station and transfers to other lines are quick and easy. Within easy walking distance was the Eiffel Tower, the Army Museum, Napoleon's Tomb and the Seine River. We walked to/from the Champs-Elysees and Arc de Triomphe a few times - a longer walk but still doable.

The restaurants in this neighborhood are amazing! The hotel is located on the corner of Rue Cler which has lots of cafes, sandwich and crepe stands. Some of our favorite restaurants in the neighborhood were Le Florimond, Cafe le Bosque, Le Terrasse du 7eme, Creperie Ulysee en Gaule and Cafe Constant. We opted to wake up early and take advantage of the hotel's complimentary breakfast (croissants, baguettes, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, etc.).

Overall a great stay. We'll stay here next time we're in Paris.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear guests,

The whole staff of the Hotel de la Motte Picquet join me to thank you gratefully for having write such a nice review about us !
We are more than satisfied to discover that you had a fantastic time in Paris and made the most of your stay to really explore this incredible city and its treasures : monuments, culture and food. It is a pleasure to read that you liked the hotel, your room and our breakfast : we all do our best to propose a clean and elegant setting and a large scale of choices for your comfort. About the shower, there are different configuration of bathroom so next time you will be able to ask for a shower or a bath as you prefer. We work hard to deserve your trust and the recommandations made by Rick Steeve !
Be sure that we will be very happy to welcome you again in the Hotel de la Motte picquet : Paris is so large and rich, there is always places to discover ! Even we wo live there, we have surprise every day !

Sincerely,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
#137 of 1,805 in Paris
2,048 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#180 of 1,805 in Paris
1,416 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#43 of 1,805 in Paris
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
#24 of 1,805 in Paris
1,485 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Hotel du Champ de Mars
#377 of 1,805 in Paris
1,057 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#878 of 1,805 in Paris
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motte Picquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motte Picquet

Address: 30 avenue de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $140 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Motte Picquet 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Motte Picquet, a hotel of Charm, is a very well groomed and well renovated hotel, lying in a unique district: the 7th district, near the main business centres, a short walk from the Champ-de-Mars, the Eiffel Tower, the Trocadero, the Invalides and the Rodin Museum. It is an oasis of peace in the heart of Paris, with many transport opportunities which make it easily accessible. Its location is outstanding: at the corner of Rue Cler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Motte Picquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motte Picquet Hotel
Motte Picquet Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing