We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and location with exceptional service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Motte Picquet
Ranked #146 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value and location with exceptional service.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent value and location with exceptional service. This is a boutique hotel with modest rooms just around the corner from Rue Cler. The service is always perfectly sincere, warm, and welcoming. The staff treats its guests like royalty. We didn’t meet one person who wasn’t 100% determined that we had every need meet. Moe, Vanessa, Sebastien and Basim go out of their way for their guests. When ice for feet soaking was needed it was supplied generously and they arranged for a shuttle to and from the airport that was clean, courteous and timely. (38e for two of us from the airport and 36e back to the airport CDG). The rooms are the usual small size, but have plenty of room for two people who pack light. All amenities are there, hairdryer, toiletries, hangers, in-room safe, television, and a fridge with waters, sodas, and beer for 2e each. There is a small lift to take you to upper floor rooms, and the lobby is quaint and comfortable. The location is perfect, a 15 minute safe and pleasant walk to the Eiffel tower. Being literally right around the corner from Rue Cler our window looked right over it, we had crepes for breakfast (3-5e) two out of three days and one a sit down American breakfast Paris style 7e. It was a magical trip and this hotel played a large role in our experience. I will always stay here when I return to Paris. No need to look any further if you are on a budget. Not one issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RtLuvr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear guests,

Let us thank you warmly for this very nice and complete review that will make us smile even more today knowing that you liked your stay among us. We love to think that for our guests we represent in a way Paris. It is very important for us not to ruin the magic of this City and we do our very best it is true to contribute by doing our best everyday.

It is great that you loved your room too. Our hotel has cosy dimensions so we tried to arrange it with taste, warm colours and keep it perfectly clean for your respected comfort.
We do propose a shuttle service to and from the differents parisian airports (Roissy Charles de Gaulle,Orly, Beauvais) and can make reservation for restaurants, spectacular shows, bus tours and cruises.

We are impatient to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    272
    40
    14
    14
See reviews for
247
475
64
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed 5 days in Paris for our honeymoon and chose Motte Picquet for its great reviews and excellent location. We booked a Junior Suite as previous reviews mentioned that the standard rooms are very small.
The room is similar to what is pictured in the website and clean. It was quiet around the area so we had sound relaxed sleeps throughout the stay. The hotel is just two minutes away from the nearest Metro station which is extremely convenient. Being located at Rue Cler, it has various bistros, cafes and restaurants around with no lack of delicious food! We had fun every morning trying out the various pastries and salads at Rue Cler for breakfast..
The staff were friendly and offered helpful advice on the tourist attractions and transportation options available. They were also all willing to help with any reservations we had in mind and made great recommendations on restaurants and cafes.
Perhaps one minor comment is the hotel does not provide toothpaste, cotton buds etc but this can be easily resolved by bringing your own.
We truly enjoy our stay in this lovely hotel and would not hesitate to go back again in future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladylenn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear guests,
We are very proud if we were able to contribute to help you in organizing your stay in the City of Love for such an important time of your life ! Our work is fantastic : we are surrounded the whole year long by smiling tourists on vacation and our duty is to help them having wonderful emories. We personnally love Paris and are willing to share with our guests our knowledge of gastronomic tales, small or original restaurants, famous shows or beautiful painting expositions. Like you, we love to hang out rue Cler to discover new pastries or cheeses!! The whole staff of the Hotel de la Motte Picquet wants to thank you for your nice comment and wish you the best for your life together,

Sincerely,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Friendly and very helpful staff, it's a really nice area to live in if you want to explore Paris. The cafes and restaurants around the corner were also nice, one called tribeca was especially good!
We even had a view of the Eiffel Tower if you crane your neck out of the bathroom window- definitely not something they sell the hotel on but it's a funny little extra!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie-Tsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear guests,

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Paris and among us, at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet ! We are incredibly lucky to be so well located with the rue Cler literally full of restaurants, cafés (like Tribeca) and its little fresh market is a treasure for any food lover !
It is true that it is possible to see the Eiffel Tower from the room 301 but it is not that easy and, besides, there are some construction right now so it is even less visible but it is funny to mention it, thanks.

Sincerely,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you yearn to be within walking distance of the Eiffel Tower and right next to the fabulous Rue Cler, this is your hotel. The Hotel Motte Picquet is a real gem with amazingly helpful staff. They were totally focused on making our stay as comfortable as possible and offered great recommendations for restaurants and assistance with sightseeing and transportation around the city. We chose this hotel because of its terrific rating on TripAdvisor and the fact that Rick Steves recommends it. As others have mentioned, the rooms are small but charming. Our room was immaculate and we had everything we needed. If you're looking for a delightful hotel with warm, friendly staff, look no further.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you so very much for your nice review. It is great to see that our guests appreciate the way we understand hotelery : family-like atmosphere, personalized communication, cleanliness and comfort. The contrary of a chain-hotel! About our recommandations, it would be a shame to be so close to so many yummy restaurants, bakeries and deli's and not sharing ;) !Gourmands are a great international community !
We are indeed incredibly lucky to be recommanded by Rick Steeves !!!! We do our best everyday to deserve this honor.

Best regards,
Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice small hotel with a great location, the staff was very friendly and helpfull. If you are female solo traveller and never been to Paris before...Motte Picquet is the right hotel for you. I will definitly stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karima1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very happy that you enjoy your travel to Paris and more than happy if we were of any help in helping you organizing your visits. Do you know that we propose reservation for tour bus, cruises on the Seine to discover all the monuments of the Capital, and also tour to various beautiful places in France : Versailles, Giverny (house of the painter Claude Monet), Auvers sur Oise (Van Gogh), the Castles of the Loire river, the Mont Saint michel, the beaches of Normandy that witnessed the bravest time of History...
Don't hesitate !

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you are a solo traveller looking for the perfect Parisian boutique hotel near all the major attractions of Paris then you cannot look past Hotel Motte Picquet! So close to the Eiffel Tower, metro, Rue Cler and many gorgeous bistros, cafes and brasseries. The service at this hotel is exceptional, with staff more than willing to meet every request without hesitation. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and none have come close to the service received at Hotel Motte Picquet. The rooms are small, but in my opinion you don't go to Paris to spend time in a hotel room! It was perfect for me, beautifully decorated and very clean. I hope I will have the opportunity to go back someday soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puddlejumper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your enthusiasm, we are very proud you know when we receive such comment !! It is a motivation to try to do everyday even better !
Apparently on your picture you are a sportive but apparently in your message you do appreciate good food ! That is according to me a definition of LIVING !
If you come back, don't hesitate one second, you are more than welcome in the Hotel de la Motte Picquet where we have plenty of great suggestions of restaurants, cafés, chocolate shop, cheese and wine shops, bakeries, deli's...
Best regards,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate, yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just back from spending a few days in Paris with my teenage daughter. As everyone has already said this is a great little hotel if you want to be in a central location and not in a boring "chain hotel". We were "upgraded" to a suite (Room 303) and it was still tiny but very cute with a single bed on one floor and then up some stairs to a double room and the bathroom which was of a decent size with a full bath with shower above. A good choice for a family with one child or, at a pinch one child plus a cot. There was some noise from the street but frankly that is to be expected in a location like this. Everything was immaculately clean and the staff extremely friendly. The hotel is on the corner of Rue Cler which is full of cafes and local shops and a brisk 5 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower. Ecole Militaire metro is just a few steps up the street with a direct line to "Opera" for those of you looking for good shops - this is where Gallerie Lafayette is to be found! We would definitely consider returning here on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ajcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guests,

One can tell by reading your message that you made the most of your stay in Paris ! We would like to thank you for your very complete comment on the Hotel de la Motte-Picquet. We are glad that you liked the junior suite and transmit to the efficient cleaning staff how much their work is appreciated !
Talking about the Grands Magasins (Galeries Lafayette, Printemps Haussmann), you know that they just reveal their beautiful Christmas decorations and it is simply amazing with puppets, lights and an incredible giant Christmas tree decorated by cristal Swarowski right in the middle of the big hall of the perfumes and jewelry! It is splendid !
We do hope you will come back soon,

Cordially,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#63 of 1,802 in Paris
451 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#163 of 1,802 in Paris
1,386 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
#102 of 1,802 in Paris
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#129 of 1,802 in Paris
568 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Walt
Hotel Le Walt
#57 of 1,802 in Paris
780 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#62 of 1,802 in Paris
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motte Picquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motte Picquet

Property: Hotel Motte Picquet
Address: 30 avenue de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Paris
#106 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Motte Picquet 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Motte Picquet, a hotel of Charm, is a very well groomed and well renovated hotel, lying in a unique district: the 7th district, near the main business centres, a short walk from the Champ-de-Mars, the Eiffel Tower, the Trocadero, the Invalides and the Rodin Museum. It is an oasis of peace in the heart of Paris, with many transport opportunities which make it easily accessible. Its location is outstanding: at the corner of Rue Cler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Motte Picquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motte Picquet Hotel
Motte Picquet Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing