We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice, Very Satisfying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Motte Picquet
Ranked #161 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I wanted my adult daughters' first time in Paris to be wonderful, and it was. The hotel rooms (thiers and mine) were spotless and beautifully decorated. The rooms seemed to reflect brightness, colorful decorations, and well selected room accessories. The bathrooms were spotless and colorfully decorated. There was a sparkle to each room. The location in Rue Cler was perfect for cafes, restaurants, patisseries, etc. A Metro stop was within two minutes walking distance. The staff was extremely helpful. Vanessa, desk clerk/concierge accepted my fractured French and spoke in fluent English. She made reservations and recommendations for activities. She was a delight! Moe (Mo), who we met on our departure morning, was pleasant and helpful. As a father, I was so pleased with all aspects of the hotel. Most importantly, my daughters thoroughly enjoyed their "introduction" to Paris.

Room Tip: My daughters were in room 106, a beautifully decorated room overlooking Rue Cler.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WilliamCarter229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear guests,

What a great happiness to read that your daughters and you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel de la Motte-Picquet ! You can be certain the whole staff of the Hotel will be smiling today thanks to you... Everybody is working hard to make each guest feels like family in a reffined and perfectly clean setting. it is fantastic that you had such an unforgettable time in beautiful Paris together. About your french, don't worry we are all speaking english but you must know that for us it is really really a pleasure to meet people who try to say some words in french. We are aware it is a hard language to learn so you made our day with your "fractured" french !

Best regards for your nice family,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Motte Picquet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 987 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Motte Picquet was wonderful. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful in providing directions and helping us find the word for 'knee brace' as we needed to purchase one at the nearby pharmacy. We enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel and it was just as easy to pick up something quick on the nearby rue Cler. The staff was helpful in locating mass times at a nearby Catholic Church and also explaining how to find the train to Brussels within Gare du Nord - look for the sign for the "Grandes Lignes". We would definitely return as we had such a great experience and felt so welcome here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiscusNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear guests,

You are certainly welcome at the Hotel de la Motte-Picquet were we want to have a warm, family-like atmosphere which is easy with friendly people like you. If we were on any help in your stay then our goal is fulfilled because it is what we like, represent our BELOVED city the best we can to make people love and discover it just like we do. So, when do you come back ;-)???

Take care,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel was a bit more than I wanted to spend, we ended up going to the Grand Leveque around the corner for the other part of our trip. However, you do get what you pay for ;). The help here was super friendly, the room was roomy (by Paris standards) even with four of us. The beds and bedding was very comfy. I would highly recommend staying here. The room also had air conditioning which we needed during our August trip. The location is walking distance to the Effile Tower and around the corner you'll find the best crepes and cheap too. We ate there for breakfast for about 2-3 euros a day. Then at night the kids ended their day with another crepe or gelato from the eateries on Rue Cler. No elevator, but we didn't mind.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomFromOrondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear guests,

By reading your message, one can tell that Paris will always rhyme with crepes in your memories ;-) !! That is great, we often mention the fantastic chocolate shops but you're right, crepes are something in the rue Cler !! Anyway, thank you for your funny comment and pictures, it is good to see how much you loved your stay in France. Be certain we were very happy to welcome your family and look forward to welcome you again by the Eiffel tower, the Invalides and the ... crepes !

Sincerely,

Mo

Did I say crepes, i meant icecreams and crepes ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

All in all, the word "average" would describe our experience at this hotel. I picked the hotel based on reading all the reviews, and I would say be careful. The price looks good for a big city, and the location looks good on paper, but unfortunately I would not stay here again. If you are going to Paris for the first or possibly only time in your life, or for a romantic "vacation of a lifetime", spend a little extra money and get a place you're going to look forward to returning to each night. If you're looking for basic and decent, this is fine, but lower your expectations after reading all the positive reviews.

First, Location - The location is not THAT great - everyone says "right next to Eiffel Tower!", but reality is that it's about 5 minutes walk to the far end of the park that leads to the Eiffel Tower. So yeah, you're within view at that point, but it still takes 10-15 minutes to walk to the base of the Eiffel Tower or the Seine (and then 30-60 minutes more to most sightseeing places). The Metro station is close to the hotel but it's not a line that goes to prime sightseeing locations so even if you use the Metro you'll probably have to transfer once or twice each time you use. However, the neighborhood is "cozy" and has cafes and a grocery store very close. Fine if you're going to be gone all day and not return to the hotel until late, but you're too far away to "swing back" to the hotel throughout the day. If you're looking to be in a prime locale or need breaks throughout the days, stay closer to the Seine.

As for the hotel, it was fine, but that's about it. The room was decorated nicely, the bed and bathroom were clean, and the AC worked. The room looked onto a noisy street but with the windows closed it was not too loud. However, the room was by far the tiniest we've ever stayed in, even by European standards. There was really no closet, storage space at all. The only option we had was to keep our suitcases on the floor, and with them open you literally cannot walk in the room. At the end of the day, when you're exhausted from sightseeing, you just want a good night's sleep, and unfortunately I cannot say we got that here. The walls are paper thin, the bed had no padding and isn't very comfortable.

Good service at the front desk is nice but being comfortable in your room is what's most important. I am not giving this hotel a "scathing" review, but next time I'm in Paris I will spend the extra $25 per night and get a higher quality hotel a little closer to most of the sites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank USAGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear guests,

The Hotel de la Motte-Picquet thanks you for the time you took to write a review on your stay among us. We are happy if you thought the room nice, clean and the front desk welcoming. We do hope you had a great time in Paris !
Best regards,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Three of us had duplex suite - one room down, internal stairs, hall - bath -bedroom up. Staff could not be more helpful. Mo at front desk and the owner both went way beyond expectations. Make you feel like welcome friends.
Neighborhood Rue Cler full of shops and cafes right around the corner. Walking distance to Eiffel Tower. 7th Arr.
Would stay there anytime!!!

Room Tip: For parents and child, duplex suite perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear guests,

What a pleasure it is for us to read that you had a great time in Paris at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet. We are satisfied if we were able to help you in any way for your trip, it is precisely what we love about our work !
So now we wait impatiently to welcome you again. You can be ceratin that it will be even better than your first visit !

Sincerely,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is definetely a keeper! We were only there for a short period of time but we were very impressed by the service. Mo at the Front Desk was very helpful and professional!! Rooms were very clean and with a pretty French style! Loved it!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dissapointed1954828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear guests,

Short message but clear and very nice to read ! We are proud if you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our goal. Florida is not that far and we really hope to welcome you very soon at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet : we will give you great addresses of restaurants if you love good french food !

Best regards,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good location at 10 minutes walking from Eiffel tower. Rooms are quite small but very clean. If you are on La Motte Piquet street, it could be a bit noisy. The Breakfast room is may be the smallest in the world but nice and pretty. The breakfast is good with excellent pastry. A special mention for the staff, from the front desk to the breakfast lady, they are really very nice people. You feel good in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnestTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your message ! It is pleasant to read nice comments about our breakfast room because it can hardly compete with the fantastic little cafés of the rue Cler but it is convenient, warm and offers a large large choice, maybe so large that it gave you that feeling that the room was small but it was just so full ;-)!!!!! No kidding, thank you to underline the family-like atmosphere it is our number one priority as we are surrounded with more and more big chains hotels. You two look like travellers on your picture so we really hope to have the luck to welcome you again soon at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet !
Take care,

Sincerely,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#62 of 1,804 in Paris
492 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#167 of 1,804 in Paris
1,403 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
#116 of 1,804 in Paris
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#137 of 1,804 in Paris
596 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Walt
Hotel Le Walt
#81 of 1,804 in Paris
805 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#106 of 1,804 in Paris
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motte Picquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motte Picquet

Address: 30 avenue de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Paris
#106 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $151 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Motte Picquet 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Motte Picquet, a hotel of Charm, is a very well groomed and well renovated hotel, lying in a unique district: the 7th district, near the main business centres, a short walk from the Champ-de-Mars, the Eiffel Tower, the Trocadero, the Invalides and the Rodin Museum. It is an oasis of peace in the heart of Paris, with many transport opportunities which make it easily accessible. Its location is outstanding: at the corner of Rue Cler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Motte Picquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motte Picquet Hotel
Motte Picquet Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing