We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Motte Picquet
Nearby Hotels
$343
$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$286
$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$231
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$255
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,653
$1,182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$405
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$226
$206
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$309
$241
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$284
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$279
$265
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveler rating
662
285
44
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
285
44
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrue cleraround the cornereiffel towergreat locationrooms are smallrick stevescharming hotelwithin walking distancenapoleon's tombmetro stopcorner roomminute walkwould definitely stay here againjunior suitethird floorstreet noisehighly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel was a bit more than I wanted to spend, we ended up going to the Grand Leveque around the corner for the other part of our trip. However, you do get what you pay for ;). The help here was super friendly, the room was roomy (by Paris standards) even with four of us. The beds and bedding was very comfy. I would highly recommend staying here. The room also had air conditioning which we needed during our August trip. The location is walking distance to the Effile Tower and around the corner you'll find the best crepes and cheap too. We ate there for breakfast for about 2-3 euros a day. Then at night the kids ended their day with another crepe or gelato from the eateries on Rue Cler. No elevator, but we didn't mind.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomFromOrondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear guests,

By reading your message, one can tell that Paris will always rhyme with crepes in your memories ;-) !! That is great, we often mention the fantastic chocolate shops but you're right, crepes are something in the rue Cler !! Anyway, thank you for your funny comment and pictures, it is good to see how much you loved your stay in France. Be certain we were very happy to welcome your family and look forward to welcome you again by the Eiffel tower, the Invalides and the ... crepes !

Sincerely,

Mo

Did I say crepes, i meant icecreams and crepes ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

All in all, the word "average" would describe our experience at this hotel. I picked the hotel based on reading all the reviews, and I would say be careful. The price looks good for a big city, and the location looks good on paper, but unfortunately I would not stay here again. If you are going to Paris for the first or possibly only time in your life, or for a romantic "vacation of a lifetime", spend a little extra money and get a place you're going to look forward to returning to each night. If you're looking for basic and decent, this is fine, but lower your expectations after reading all the positive reviews.

First, Location - The location is not THAT great - everyone says "right next to Eiffel Tower!", but reality is that it's about 5 minutes walk to the far end of the park that leads to the Eiffel Tower. So yeah, you're within view at that point, but it still takes 10-15 minutes to walk to the base of the Eiffel Tower or the Seine (and then 30-60 minutes more to most sightseeing places). The Metro station is close to the hotel but it's not a line that goes to prime sightseeing locations so even if you use the Metro you'll probably have to transfer once or twice each time you use. However, the neighborhood is "cozy" and has cafes and a grocery store very close. Fine if you're going to be gone all day and not return to the hotel until late, but you're too far away to "swing back" to the hotel throughout the day. If you're looking to be in a prime locale or need breaks throughout the days, stay closer to the Seine.

As for the hotel, it was fine, but that's about it. The room was decorated nicely, the bed and bathroom were clean, and the AC worked. The room looked onto a noisy street but with the windows closed it was not too loud. However, the room was by far the tiniest we've ever stayed in, even by European standards. There was really no closet, storage space at all. The only option we had was to keep our suitcases on the floor, and with them open you literally cannot walk in the room. At the end of the day, when you're exhausted from sightseeing, you just want a good night's sleep, and unfortunately I cannot say we got that here. The walls are paper thin, the bed had no padding and isn't very comfortable.

Good service at the front desk is nice but being comfortable in your room is what's most important. I am not giving this hotel a "scathing" review, but next time I'm in Paris I will spend the extra $25 per night and get a higher quality hotel a little closer to most of the sites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank USAGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear guests,

The Hotel de la Motte-Picquet thanks you for the time you took to write a review on your stay among us. We are happy if you thought the room nice, clean and the front desk welcoming. We do hope you had a great time in Paris !
Best regards,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Three of us had duplex suite - one room down, internal stairs, hall - bath -bedroom up. Staff could not be more helpful. Mo at front desk and the owner both went way beyond expectations. Make you feel like welcome friends.
Neighborhood Rue Cler full of shops and cafes right around the corner. Walking distance to Eiffel Tower. 7th Arr.
Would stay there anytime!!!

Room Tip: For parents and child, duplex suite perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear guests,

What a pleasure it is for us to read that you had a great time in Paris at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet. We are satisfied if we were able to help you in any way for your trip, it is precisely what we love about our work !
So now we wait impatiently to welcome you again. You can be ceratin that it will be even better than your first visit !

Sincerely,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is definetely a keeper! We were only there for a short period of time but we were very impressed by the service. Mo at the Front Desk was very helpful and professional!! Rooms were very clean and with a pretty French style! Loved it!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dissapointed1954828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear guests,

Short message but clear and very nice to read ! We are proud if you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our goal. Florida is not that far and we really hope to welcome you very soon at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet : we will give you great addresses of restaurants if you love good french food !

Best regards,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good location at 10 minutes walking from Eiffel tower. Rooms are quite small but very clean. If you are on La Motte Piquet street, it could be a bit noisy. The Breakfast room is may be the smallest in the world but nice and pretty. The breakfast is good with excellent pastry. A special mention for the staff, from the front desk to the breakfast lady, they are really very nice people. You feel good in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnestTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your message ! It is pleasant to read nice comments about our breakfast room because it can hardly compete with the fantastic little cafés of the rue Cler but it is convenient, warm and offers a large large choice, maybe so large that it gave you that feeling that the room was small but it was just so full ;-)!!!!! No kidding, thank you to underline the family-like atmosphere it is our number one priority as we are surrounded with more and more big chains hotels. You two look like travellers on your picture so we really hope to have the luck to welcome you again soon at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet !
Take care,

Sincerely,

Mo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews