We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel, Excellent Loacation”
Review of Hotel Marignan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marignan
Ranked #454 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Spanish Fork, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel, Excellent Loacation”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

As per the title, this hotel is very basic. Therefore, you won't find much in the amenities department. What you will find, however, is a satisfactory, functional hotel in an excellent location.

Upon arrival at the hotel, the English speaking staff greeted me and my family with smiling faces.They also offered us a map of Paris with popular tourist attractions marked on it as well as activity brochures. We were also directed to a market called the Franprix for cheap goods. The market is literally around the corner and across the street from the hotel (maybe 75 meters/yards). Inside you'll find a wide variety of goods. Most important to me, though, was their wide selection of water. I found a brand of non sparkling mineral water called Black Forest for only .65 euros per bottle that I really liked.

The room itself was fairly clean, just don't go licking the walls or taking naps on the floor (treat it like any other hotel). There isn't much to say about the beds other than that they're beds. They weren't the best, but they certainly weren't uncomfortable. Other than one connection hiccup, the free wireless internet service (WIFI) was fast. There was a nifty towel warmer in the bathroom as well.

The complimentary breakfast included a french baguette with a selection butter, jam, cheese and a nutella-esque toppings on the side. Options for drink include hot chocolate or coffee. While lacking in variety, one should find the breakfast filling and unique.

The hotel is walking distance from the Notre Dame Cathedral, Luxembourg Gardens, and Sorbonne University to name a few. My sisters enjoyed a clothing shop just a couple hundred meters/yards to the west called Pim Kie.

Overall, 155 euros for a 4 bed hotel room in a prime location was well worth it for us. We enjoyed our stay and I can imagine you will too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    343
    89
    29
    26
See reviews for
280
155
102
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Found this hotel online, our stay was lovely. Service was friendly and helpful, with great tourist tips, and the location was excellent. Breakfast was standard, fairly good but nothing special. Overall it was excellent value for the price, would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alysia_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Marignan as our first stop of our European adventure based on recommendations from a friend. The first thing to be said about this accomodation is that it basic. That being said it is comfortable, clean, affordable and in a top spot and what more could you ask for in the very expensive city of Paris.

After getting very lost (for an hour and a half) coming off the metro we finally checked in to the Hotel Marignan. It is in the middle of the Latin Quarter (a tourist hotspot) but down a side street so you don't get the hustle and bustle or noise. The owner (I think his name was Pierre) was very helpful and friendly. One down side, which is pretty much the norm for Paris anyway, was that there was no evevator in the hotel and alot of stairs. You are informed off this upon booking so it is just a case of praying for room on one of the lower floors.

The location really can't be faulted. There were many attractions nearby that were close enough to walk to. Walking around the Latin Quarter was an adventure in itself. We did not feel ''únsafe'' at any stage. For attractions that were further away, the metro was an easy enough option to take.

Although this hotel is quite basic, the little extras provided made it all the while worth it staying at this hotel. There was free wifi, laundry and breakfast which sometimes feel like lttle luxuries when travelling. Upon first glance the breakfast appeared to be very basic. How we were wrong! Breakfast consisted of a baguette, cheese, chocolate spread and fruit in syrup. It was soo good I actually started waking up thinking about it and it was the perfect meal to keep you going for a day of exploring paris.

For our first few nights we stayed in a room that had a share bathroom and toilet in the hallway. There was nothing wrong with this, it can just sometimes be irritating when you have to go to the toilet in the middle of the night. We ended up wanting to stay at Hotel Marignan for an extra night which was easily arranged. The only room they had available was one with an ensuite (for a slightly higher cost). This new room felt much bigger and it was well worth the extra to have your own shower and toilet. Both rooms were very comfortable and although they did not have much of a view it was lovely to open the window and check out the everyday life going on below you.

Overall we would highly reccomend this hotel. Please don't anticipate that it is going to be some super fancy hotel because it definitely isn't. Although it is basic it ticks all the boxes in terms of location, price, comfort and cleanliness.

Room Tip: I would probably recommend getting a room with an ensuite but it depends on people's needs and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swarren89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were recommended this Hotel by friends and weren't disappointed. Value for money you can't fault Hotel Marignan. Friendly, helpful staff. Situated in a great area close to shops, markets and metro stops. The rooms were clean, with great facillities like free laundry, free wifi and breakfast. We stayed 5 nights and will certainly recommended this lovely Hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: If quieter rooms are what you want make sure you ask when booking. We had the room by the entrance a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and will certainly return. The service was first class. The hotel has been renovated and is fresh and modern. The breakfast menu included a good range of choices. The bar was relaxing and intimate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RvO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is my 5th time @ the Marignan. It is a great little family-run, no-frills hotel situated in the most convenient position. It doesn't have a lift and the facilities are basic but it does have charm, atmosphere, firendliness, delicious continental breakfasts and helpful staff. It is only a few paces from the Place Maubert which has an awesome food market 3 times a week (as well as fabulous, permanent providores) and a Metro. It is in a quiet street near the junction of Boulevardes St Michel and St Germaine and is just below the Sorbonne and the Pantheon. I love this place....it is my 'home' away from home in Paris and I keep coming back......and not only to see my son's drawing of the Sydney Harbour Bridge which is still gracing the check-in desk since our very first stay in 1995!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ensuite and on a lower floor if possible....especially if you have heavy bags to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willow5257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This review is VERY overdue! My mother and I spent a delightful four days in Paris in July 2011 (the first trip there for both of us) en route to a trip to Tehran. Hotel Marignan was a wonderful base from which to explore Paris. The room was simple and clean, as were the shared bathrooms. We LOVED the breakfast (wonderful baguette!) that was prepared every morning. The staff were truly warm, funny and very hospitable. I would definitely stay here again, as this hotel offers excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#190 of 1,801 in Paris
912 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#264 of 1,801 in Paris
796 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#193 of 1,801 in Paris
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
#1,025 of 1,801 in Paris
538 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#524 of 1,801 in Paris
422 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marignan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marignan

Property: Hotel Marignan
Address: 13 rue du Sommerard | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#208 Business Hotel in Paris
#303 Family Hotel in Paris
#450 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Marignan 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the center of Paris, Quartier Latin The Hotel Marignan is located in a small, quiet street of Paris, city center on the left bank in the famous "Quartier Latin" district. The hotel is close to Notre Dame de Paris, Sorbonne University, the Pantheon and Luxembourg Gardens (five minutes walking) and is an ideal accommodation for families and international guests visiting Paris. Free services We offer clean and comfortable accommodation for up to 5 people with competitive prices that include many free services: Free Wifi internet PC available for clients Free Continental breakfast Free washing machine & dryer Free use of kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and fridge A library of guide books and novels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Marignan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marignan Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing